We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“*#!*$&*#@! Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“*#!*$&*#@! Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I have been to Marrakech 4 times and this was the very best of all thanks to my stay at this beautiful riad. First of all, contact with Jill, via email to make reservations started in a very professional but also friendly manner. I felt she wanted to offer me the best she could. Upon arrival, the riad took my breath away. I stayed with a girlfriend of mine from England in the chameau suite, which was big, beautiful and with a view onto one of the most divine inner courtyards. The decoration is stunning, beautiful tadelakt walls, four poster bed, lovely colours and lots of touches and details. Breakfast can be had anytime (!) anywhere in the riad and it's delicious and plentiful. The other courtyard with the bigger pool (there are 2 pools in this riad) is breathtaking. And at night, with the candles and lights and the waterfall flowing is just one of the most beautiful places to spend an evening. Damian works wonders with all his advice and life is made even more pleasant because he makes sure to make all reservations necessary and get tables when "there are none"; he is a lovely host and nothing is too much for him. Then there is the personnel which are always so discrete going about making everything spotless and pleasant. They always have a smile on their face, get to know one's preferences very quickly and seem to be there to indulge the guests with their professionalism and permanent smiles. They even knew our music preference and made sure it was being played in their system when we reached the pool patio. We also had lunch and dinner a couple of times at the riad: delicious!! Also made use of the lovely hammam and on the last day had an amazing massage.
And one should not forget that one is met at the taxi stand by Cous Cous, the donkey, who will take your luggage up to the riad. There are lots of magical, well thought touches.
The riad is in one of the best locations in the medina; very safe and close to everything. We visited lots of restaurants upon Jill's and Damian's advice and loved each and every experience.
All in all, the best riad I have ever stayed at in Marrakech. Jill and Damian are the best of hosts. I would recommend it wholeheartedly and I know I will be back. I do not want to stay anywhere else in Marrakech. It is too @$#!%@!! fabulous.

Room Tip: All rooms are different and all fabulous. There are smaller rooms and then suites. Our suite, the ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    25
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
123
752
19
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We love this Riad. The staff are wonderful and the Riad is beautiful. Exploring all that Marrakech has to offer is great, but my favorite day in Marrakech was when we never left Noir d'Ivoire. Breakfast is always great, and the romantic candlelit dinner was superb.

Room Tip: Panther Suite with private terrace (and hot tub) is great, and the Camel suite has a fabulous sittin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

This place was perfect. Marrakech is an overload for the senses if you've never been there and this Riad made the transition so easy. It's a marvelous city but just takes some orientation and understanding of how things "work". Damien at the Riad was so helpful (really an informal tour guide) in going over maps, making recommendations, even making reservations for us. Everything he organized came together PERFECTLY- not one surprise. We even had a Royal Air Maroc flight cancelled and he was indispensible in helping us to rebook elsewhere. As for the Riad itself, our room was outstanding- the hot tub on the roof as well as breakfast up there was so enjoyable, as was the pool in the coutyard... surely one of the most peaceful places we've been, which is incredible in the midst of that bustling city. One piece of advice for others: Have dinner there! The meal we had one evening sitting in the courtyard of the Riad was one of the best of our lives. By the way, we were there with our 7 year old daughter (in case you're thinking of the same) and she did great. Having the cats at the Riad kept her busy every minute we weren't out in the city or asleep. Thanks for the great time, Damien and Jill

Room Tip: Guepard suite- loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

If you do just one thing in your life, it should be to visit Marrakech and stay in the Riad Noir d'Ivoire. The hotel is an oasis of calm and luxury amid the hustle and bustle of Marrakech and the service is something five-star chains could learn from. Damian and Jill are the perfect hosts, providing wonderful advice on everything from the price to pay for homewares to the best place for a coffee overlooking the main square. Their advice was spot on everytime and contributed to a stunning long weekend.

The hotel is slightly off the beaten track, taking about 10 minutes to walk to the main souks. Being slightly further away from the main tourist centres was by no means a bad thing and we found the trade off - a quieter area - to be well worth the walk. The accomodation itself is stunning - a beautifully restored riad with just eight rooms. It has a supremely relaxing feel and from the moment we walked inside, we felt as if we'd been away for days. The pool area with wonderfully comfortable loungers felt a hundreds of miles away from the chaotic souks and light years from our normal lives in London.

But the real charm is the service. Damian runs an excellent ship and could not do enough to help our trip run smoothly. He took care of every detail, from organising our pick up at the airport to making reservations at his favourite restaurants. Truly exceptional.

The food is outstanding. We ate lunch just once but had breakfast on both days we stayed. All three meals really delivered on taste. The breakfasts are to die for - homemade vanilla yoghurt with the freshest seasonal fruit salad imagineable; freshly made pastries; and outstanding eggs any which way you want. The meals are served where you wish - by the pool, in your room or on your private roof terrace with views across the Medina - and by staff who reflected the 'can do' and happy attitudes of Damian and Jill.

For those looking for some hints and tips, here are just a few:
* Don't bother with a guide in the Medina - just follow Damian's advice and let your adventurous side take over
* For dinner, try stall #1 in the main square. The food and patter of the waiting staff is a definite experience
* Al Fassia is an amazing restaurant run by a collective of women in the new town. The epaulee d'agneau doree (literally 'golden' shoulder of lamb) is a dish worth walking over coals to try
* Cafe Arabe is a great experience for cocktails but be prepared to pay central London prices - something that is common across Marrakech

All in all, an amazing experience and one I hope some day to repeat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We spent 2 nights here as part of a tour of the Marrakech area. We were taken very good care of, with Cous Cous the donkey meeting us from the taxi (arranged by the hotel) to take our luggage the short distance along some alleys to the hotel. We were delighted to be upgraded to the 'Elephant Room' with a balcony overlooking the inside of the hotel. The room was spacious and clean, with an excellent bathroom. Damien and Jill were kind enough to offer their advice which we found very useful and during our stay, arranged for staff members to accompany us to some of the local services, such as the cash machine. The riad was tranquil and we enjoyed a relaxing stay. The position was also good, close enough to walk through the to the market without getting lost!

Room Tip: The 'Elephant Room' is one of the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I was fortunate to be treated for my 40th birthday, back in March, to a wonderful three night stay at Riad Noir d'Ivoire. As a couple we look for understated luxury with a strong traditional element. If we are in another country then we want to feel that from the place that we stay. Well, Riad Noir d'Ivoire certainly delivered. It isn't just the beauty of the Riad that is impressive, but the real star is Gill and her team of committed staff. Marrakech, is a complex city and when staying within the walls of the Medina, it can be quite daunting. We didn't expect to have the staff come and walk us through the winding alley ways to ensure we found the places we needed to on our first couple of days. Damien, the manager, gives you his mobile phone number to ensure you have a contact back at the Riad, just in case you can't find your way back.

On arriving at the drop off point for the Riad, at first glance you really know you are in the heart of the Medina. The Riad is away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist trap and you really see life as it is outside the walls of the Riad. It is however, only about a 10 minute walk to the main square. We personally love walking through the sights and sounds of Old Marrakech, but could understand why for some this can be daunting. However, as mentioned, the staff do everything to put you at ease, by offering this chaperone service (all free of charge).

Once inside the Riad, it really is like another world. It is clear Gill is passionate about the Riad and the attention to detail is outstanding. We understand the Riad is being featured in a book about Marrakech's Riads - well this deserves to be number one in the book. It is beautiful. Don't turn down the complimentary mint tea on arrival: take a moment to sit by the courtyard pool on the luxurious sunbeds. The three days we stayed, it never felt busy, in fact at times, we felt like we were the only ones there because of the great use of space.

Our suite Guepard had everything we needed for a luxury break. The inside was perfect, from the turret syle spiral steps up to the suite, to the next set of steps leading to the private rooftop with covered dining space, sunbeds and the lovely hot tub. Try relaxing in here at midnight after a busy day in the souk and then being presented with champagne and rose petals in the morning and evening to celebrate my 40th. It really was hard going home. We also had a wonderful meal (whatever you wanted) served in the intimate dining area directly below our suite. You will wake up to the sound of the sheer drop water feature feeding into the courtyard pool area and in the evening can look down on all of the moroccan tea lights.

You don't need to take any toiletries, I think, from what I can remember there was also toothpaste provided. The bath and shower area was beautiful - in fact there wasn't a part of the suite that wasn't beautiful. The riad has been restored to true Moroccan luxury.

If you like the trappings of busy impersonal chain hotels. This is not for you. If you enjoy bespoke luxury with a host that knows what guests want, I'd book now to avoid disappointment.

The Riad is in a residential area and we actually loved the next door children trying to improve their conversational English skills and helping you find your way out of the maze of alleyways (at a price of course). Whilst there, we could hear from the rooftop terrace, a traditional celebration taking place and it felt as if we were a million miles from home, not just a three hour plane journey.

The treatment room offers a range of massages and beauty treatments, which both my husband and I enjoyed. It is not expensive and well worth a visit. We also loved the restaurant that Gill recommended to us, I think it was called the 'Grande de la Poste'. One of the most popular restaurants in Marrakech, but once again very reasonable. Once we had our bearings, we found that we could walk to most places. Whilst doing this we did feel safe, I think this is important to mention, especially after the bombing earlier this year.
Even when leaving, there is that last touch of magic, with the donkey leading you back to where the taxi collects you. Thank you to Gill, Damien and all of the staff - you would be why we would return, for your remarkable hospitality and for the comforts, traditional style and luxury this Riad offers.
In all of our travels there had only been one place I have 100% recommended to other travellers - until we stayed at Riad Noir d'Ivoire. Go and visit a remarkable city, you won't be disappointed with the Riad (especially if you like cats - a couple of Gill's pets).

Room Tip: The Guepard is beautiful, great views of the Riad courtyard, wonderful roof terrace with hot tub, tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

This was the third time that I have stayed at the Riad with friends, which I would wholeheartedly recommend. Jill and the staff were as fantastic as ever. You really feel as though you get away from things as soon as the doors of the Riad are closed, and this is the ideal place to relax and unwind - whether it's taking things easy in the peace and tranquility of the Riad itself, or in the Riad's spa, or by exploring the vibrant souks and medina of Marrakech. Jill's recommendations of places to visit, eat or shop are invaluable. I simply cannot agree with any of the negative comments that have been written about Riad Noir D'Ivoire. Thanks again to Jill for a lovely holiday. Michael

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#1 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noir d'Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.