We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Riad in the heart of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tzarra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Tzarra to your Saves list
Riad Tzarra
22 Derb Lalla Azzouna | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Riad in the heart of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The perfect place to stay in the Marrakech Medina - thanks Muhammad and team!
The riad is in a great location - within 5 minutes walk of the Souks and the main square, but in a quiet area which means you can relax after a busy days exploring. We both felt very safe walking to and from the riad, even late at night.
The staff were all extremely helpful and always there to help and provide advice on where to go and what to do. As others have said, breakfast on the roof terrace was the perfect start to the day! The Hamman on-site was also a great way to relax after trekking in the mountains!
We'd both definitely recommend Riad Tzarra :)

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great - we stayed in the Colonial room which had a lovely bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
104
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed two nights in Riad Tzarra and it was so beautiful and tranquil. It's close enough to walk to all of the sukes and square but is tucked away from all the madness of the main square. Staff were amazing and great at giving us recommendation of where to go and eat in Marrakech. I would thoroughly recommend this Riad and we shall defiantly be returning!! Thank you so much to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable!!
The Williams family

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully decorated, we stayed in the Persian room which was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

A family of four- we stayed here, like so many others, after trekking up Toukbal. I completely recommend the Tzarra. The riad is beautiful, the staff really helpful and the breakfast on the terrace a great start to the day. The advice from the staff on where to go in Marrakesh and where to eat was extremely useful and accurate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed here for one night only as the other road we were staying in was full on the night of our arrival. We wish we could have stayed longer. Everything was perfect - very tranquil riad, superb location and the room was so comfortable and beautifully furnished. Breakfast on the roof terrace is a must ! Thank you for a lovely stay - we will be back !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was our second visit to Riad Tzarra and we loved it even more this time. The staff, led by Mohamed, were wonderful and nothing too much trouble. This time we visited Riad Adore again for hammams and massages and were amazed to find that it had double in size since our last trip. We will be back again very soon !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at Riad Tzarra for 3 nights after 3 days trekking in the Atlas mountains. We were the only guests staying in the riad during those days and our experience could not have been better.
The riad is about 10 minutes walk from the central square. It is relatively small (4 rooms around the courtyard, which all seem to be similarly appointed) but is beautiful with stunning original carved woodwork on all the doors, windows and balcony facing into a tranquil courtyard which has palms, beautiful floor tiles and a plunge pool. Our breakfast each day was simple but delicious. Our only minor criticism was that the coffee wasn't quite as good as in the mountain riad. However what really makes Riad Tzarra exceptional is the staff who are truly charming and hospitable and for whom nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
We were very impressed throughout our stay but the way the manager, Mohamed, and the staff dealt with The Crisis of the Missing Room Safe Key (I discovered I had lost it an hour before we were due to leave the riad for the airport. It contained our money, our papers and passports!) was well beyond the call of duty and included a fruitless trip across town to the restaurant where we'd eaten lunch, reassurances that they were also always losing keys and a waving away of any suggestion that we pay for a new safe. Morrocan hospitality at its very best.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely weeks stay in Marrakech at the Riad Tzarra in the Colonial Room. This four bedroom Riad is a real Gem of a place in the Medina.

Mohammed the Manager was on hand each day to guide us through our sightseeing wish list and help with navigation. He advised on the "must sees" and told us how much a taxi would cost and how to agree the price before we got in the car. He arranged a driver to take us up to the Atlas mountains for a long day trip, a very worthwhile experience to Berber country. Aziz the Assistant Manager advised us on where to shop, even taking us on a mad scooter dash through the alleyways and bartering on our behalf.

We had lovely breakfasts and evening meals in the Riad, a quiet oasis prior to and after a bustling day out. Cherifa, the cook prepared a variety of Morrocon dishes, three big courses which we eventually had to reduce to one. She did not understand "small helpings". She was happy to serve any dish we requested, including vegetarian tagines. My wife is very particular with her food and Cherifa was awarded a very rare five stars. We were informed by the other guests that they had tried some restaurants in the Medina but the best evening meal they had was the "private" dining in the Riad Tzarra.

Hanane, the housekeeper appeared to tackle all the daily jobs. The rooms were well furnished and spotlessly clean. Hanane was the only person who could get a lovely log fire blazing in the lounge in the evening. Ghizlane was available after a long days sightseeing if you wanted a hammam or relaxing massage.

In the evening Abdel (the night assistant) would take over from the 'girls'. He willingly escorted guests wishing to dine out or visit a night spot, taking them there and collecting them after. This was part of the complimentary Riad service to ensure their guests did not get lost in the labyrinth of Medina alleyways which are safe but easy to get lost in after dark. The Riad is close to the Museum and about a twenty minute walk to the central Jemaa-el-Fna square.

All the staff were extremely helpful. It was like being in ones own private holiday residence. They could not do enough for us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Tzarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tzarra

Address: 22 Derb Lalla Azzouna | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#65 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#105 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful, beautiful, refined. Riad Tzarra is an elegant house in one of the oldest neighbourhoods of Marrakech. Lovingly restored by the renowned architect, Christophe Siméon, Riad Tzarra offers guests a comfortable and serene home in the centre of the Medina, close to the Musée de Marrakech and the Medersa Ben Youssef and only minutes from the entrance to the Souks and the Place Jemaa el Fna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Tzarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tzarra Marrakech
Riad Tzarra Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tzarra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.