We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad, Great Location, Wonderful Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tzarra

Save Saved
You added Riad Tzarra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Tzarra
22 Derb Lalla Azzouna | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Riad, Great Location, Wonderful Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you fancy a trip to Marrakech, head for the lovely Riad Tzarra as I did - one of the Pure Riads boutique hotels in the Medina. I stayed here in March and had a truly wonderful experience. This pretty riad is very well placed in the medina (the old town) making it very easy to access the souk, the square and all the other attractions in Marrakech. While I was at the riad, I indulged in a hamman massage which is an experience not to be missed! Afterwards, my skin was peachy-soft, and I felt as though the stresses of daily living had disappeared. The staff are wonderful, incredibly friendly, and look after you so well; they are there for you day and night to ensure your holiday is perfect and stress-free. The riad is beautiful and my room was both comfortable and luxurious. I had a quick peek at some of the other rooms, which were equally lovely. If you need ideas, help or directions etc., the manager is only too willing to equip you with maps, give you ideas and explain all you need to know. If you want to eat in, the cook will prepare the most amazing meal for you - be prepared to feast on the most wonderful Moroccan food imaginable. If you fancy eating out, there are many excellent restaurants nearby, some of which I visited, which the manager can recommend and book for you. After a day exploring this extraordinary, beautiful and inspiring city, returning to lovely, tranquil Riad Tzarra is a joy! Highly recommended. I look forward to returning next year!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked very stylish and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
103
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just spent 3 days at this wonderful riad as part of a large group from London and loved every minute. The riad is beautiful and very tastefully decorated, the staff superb and so caring. We also had some of our meals at Riad Adore and that, too, was sublime. Thank you for such a lovely stay in Marrakech - we'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have just returned from a three night break ( May 9 -12) at the Tzarra as part of a group of 40 people who were spread amongst the other Riads owned by the same company. Our experience mirrored everybody else's in the group. The Tzarra is a lovely, quiet, clean and very well run Riad in a convenient location for exploring the Souks and the main square. The staff are incredibly helpful and obliging and, as other Trip Adviser comments have said, the hamman and massage ( only 40 euros per person) is a superb experience. We ate mainly at the Riad Adore which is also beautiful with great food and staff. When using the plunge pool in the courtyard of the Tzarra it felt like being part of a Russell Flint picture ! Really highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had the Africa room which was fun as the bathroon was downstairs - like going into a subterranean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed at Riad Adore (owned by same English people) but came to Riad Tzarra for the "hammam and massage" experience - we booked early so got a hefty discount and we were not disappointed ! The whole experience was divine and left us both floating on a cloud somewhere over the medina ! Beautiful riad and lovely staff - highly recommended !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just back from having 4 nights at the Riad Tzarra. It was our first visit to Marrakech so didn't know what to expect.
Never fear, as soon as we stepped out of the Taxi in the Medina we were met by the kind and considerate Aziz who helped organise our bags to be taken to the Riad. Once we arrived we were offered mint tea and introduced to the team. Mohammed looks after the Riad on a daily basis, with the support from a great team including Meriam, who looks after all the beautiful fresh food that comes from the kitchen, and Abdul that can help out in the evening at the Riad, or escort you out in the evenings. Nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are very clean and are serviced everyday.
We really felt by staying at Riad Tzarra we got a "real" experience of Marrakech. We hired the services of a guide for our first day which was well worthwhile. Mohammed organised this for us and also organised a car and driver for another day where we went out to the Atlas mountains and took in the three valleys. Great experience.
We truly loved our stayed at Riad Tzarra, February was a perfect time to visit, blue skies every day.

Thanks to all the team, Mandy, Mohammed, Meriam, Aziz, and Abdul for making Dean's birthday a truly memorable day. The surprise strawberry flan was delicious!.

Hope to see you again soon.
Faye & Dean

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We spent 4 nights in Riad Tzarra in a traditional part of the Medina, but close to the Souks where you will experience everyday local Marrakech life. Once inside away from the Derbs it is quiet and tranquil. The decor and cleanliness is superb. All the staff were very attentive and were on hand to help. I looked forward to my breakfast each day from Meriam, with lovely Moroccan pancakes (Beghrir) and fig jam. I actually made a batch of around 40 this morning and we had a Moroccan breakfast at home! We didn't eat there in the evening but the other guest there did, and complimented the food.

Mohammed was a lovely charming host, who spoke beautiful English. He also taught us about Marrakech and its people - this was most interesting as we were there during the holiday of Eid al-Adha, the Feast of Sacrifice. Each day he would help us decide where to go and make recommendations, including the best way to navigate the Derbs and Souks! Be prepared to get lost, it seems everyone does :) I would have loved it if Mohammed could have showed us around on the first day, but apparently they are not allowed to, so I would recommend a walking tour guide on your first day. Also be aware that walking home in the dark is different to the day time when all the landmarks change due toe the Souks closing. The night porter, was a cheery fellow who always offered to come and find us if we were ever lost - which is reassuring.

I used the Hammam and massage, which was smaller than i was expecting only having been in Turkish hammam's but suitably relaxing, and excellent value for money, especially if pre-booked with discount. We had a traditional Moroccan first night dinner on the roof terrace at Dar Hanane, which was faultless and so tasty. The chef spoke French or I would have asked for her recipes!

Mohammed arranged for a talented lady to come and do some Berber Henna tattoos which was preferable to the getting one in the square. You need to be organised with your meals if you want to eat at the Riad. Aziz was a star, and surpassed my expectations one evening when we had not pre-ordered food, I was hungry, too tired to go out (as we had been out all day) and it was pouring with rain (read monsoon!). He managed to source some Moroccan take away from a local restaurant of tasty Kefta, Moroccan salad and bread - which washed down with a bottle of wine from the honesty bar was just what was needed. I can see a good idea for a partnership there with a local restaurant for snacks and last minute meals.

I would recommend Riad Tzarra and their lovely staff on your visit to Marrakech.

Room Tip: Stayed in Persia room - first floor - midday sun shines through from roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just loved this wonderful riad on our first visit to Marrakech. We felt so at home as soon as we arrived - Mandy was superb throughout and the staff couldn't have been nicer - Meriam, Hanane, Mohammed and Abdeladi and Rizlane (who did our divine hammams and massages). The riad is beautifully furnished and decorated and we really didn't want to leave to go back to cold UK. Thank you all so much for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Tzarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tzarra

Address: 22 Derb Lalla Azzouna | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#108 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful, beautiful, refined. Riad Tzarra is an elegant house in one of the oldest neighbourhoods of Marrakech. Lovingly restored by the renowned architect, Christophe Siméon, Riad Tzarra offers guests a comfortable and serene home in the centre of the Medina, close to the Musée de Marrakech and the Medersa Ben Youssef and only minutes from the entrance to the Souks and the Place Jemaa el Fna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Tzarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tzarra Marrakech
Riad Tzarra Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tzarra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.