We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location tainted the whole stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Nabila

Save Saved
You added Riad Nabila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Nabila
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, derb El Farrane _ Sidi Ghalem | Zaouia El Abbassia, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Location tainted the whole stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at Riad Nabila for three nights in March. It is a very difficult Riad to find with no signage to get to the Riad and only a small sign on the door. It is a long way from the main square and you are forced to take a taxi. On two occasions we were just kicked out the taxi but the drivers as the could not find the hotel even though we had a map.

Once at the Road it is nice although when we arrived the staff did not speak English and the owner phone us to give us details. This included don't give money to any kids for directions they spend it on drugs just take taxis. We had no choice as it seemed the kids were the only ones who knew where the Riad was.

The riad was quite clean and breakfast was traditional but good.

We stayed at the Riad for the charm and culture but the location made it horrible. I would recommend a Riad in the square or the new city where taxis can find it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    30
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
59
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights in February 2013. The building itself was nice enough and our stay was OK, nothing major to report, but if customer service is of paramount importance to you then you may wish to choose a different hotel. Similarly, if you are driving your own car (or if you've hired one) you may wish to choose a different hotel - the hotel seems to cater for people arriving by taxi, not independently.

We arrived after dark and couldn't find the car park the hotel told us to go to - their directions, in spite of my asking 3 times beforehand, consisited of a statement "You can park at the Bab Kechich car park which is 5 mintues away". Even in the daylight over the next 3 days the car park was not readily apparent. We parked on the street outside the nearby post office and would never have found the place had we not been helped by friendly locals and a printout of a google map. The sign outside the door was difficult to read even in daylight, and was not visible from the main "street" of Sidi Ghalem.

The mixed reviews of this hotel are a good reflection of our experience - some things were pleasant but there were a lot of things that could have been improved with very little effort from the staff there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Best place i've ever stayed at for the price I paid - although don't know whether it was because I booked it the day before I got there.

The courtyard area is heavenly with a pool in the middle (more for aesthetics than anything but I would have used it if in the summer months) and the sun terrace is definitely worth an hour or two in the late afternoon after wandering round Marrakesh. Views aren't anything special but you wouldn't find great views in Marrakesh in my opinion.

Staff are superb and the mint tea is much nicer here than in town.

we initially booked the cheapest room but they upgraded us to the next best room as it wasn't too busy - which was a nice touch.

Only down side is the location. It's very difficult to find your way there initially and your back each night. If walking back and you get lost ask a shop keeper the way to Bab Taghazout which is the nearby square and is easy to find your way back from there. ignore all the 'helpers' who will walk you back n then expect a tip. If you are really struggling then get a cab for 20/30 Dirham.

Also when getting a taxi to the riad from the bus/train station pay no more than 50 Durham. It should be cheaper than this and 50 is the maximum. But prices will increase if you arrive at night time and during peak season. If you are worried then the Riad manager will organise a taxi to pick you up for 50 Dirham at current rates. If you are coming from the airport I would pay no more than 100 Dirham but if they are charging too much just walk beyond the airport barriers for motor vehicles and the price drops as cabs have to pay a small fee to enter the airport (it's about a two minute walk).

The staff at the Riad speak limited English (but you get by) but the manager speaks very good English. However they are all very helpful.

Overall for the price it was definitely worth staying here despite the location.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Really nice place to stay in Marrakech. We stayed for a week. The place is really nice and quiet. The roof terrace is nice and there's a nice Hamman you can use for 10 Euros or so. The staff were amazing, friendly and great service without being obsequious. You can have breakfast whenever you want, which really suits us as late holiday risers. The day manager is lovely and organised us a great trip to the mountains as well as walking with us into the square the first time. She also helped us with ascertaining the right prices to pay for goods in the souk and told us loads of interesting stuff about the area and what it's like to live there. They upgraded us to a better room for free.
The food is nice and the location is good for when you want to go out of the Medina, as it's about 5 minutes walk from a gate with taxis. It takes 20 mins or so to walk to the main square, but the advantage of that is that there's loads of interest on the way.
I'd recommend it wholeheartedly, although the location wouldn't suit everyone and it was necessary to walk through some dark passages to get home at night.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I have been to Marrakech several times already. This time we decided to stay in the Riad Nabila. The Riad is located at the edge of the souk. Very beautiful, quiet, with a wonderful courtyard with a pool where we took our breakfast every day. The setting was highly romatique. Our room was very spacious with beautiful decorations. The service was high class (more of a 5*). Take room Saphir, it is the best.
We chose to be picked up at the airport. This functioned well. The Riad is accessible by taxi which was very practical as we went out every evening.
The walk to the place Jamaa El Fna turned out to be very interesting and shorter than expected. It was enriching to see how people lived and their shops and markets prior to entering the tourisic area of the souk.
The owner, Laurent, and his staff were helpful in organising our days (Quad, excursion to Essaouira, visit of the Ouzoud falls). He also could recommend restaurants and night clubs. All in all, this Riad is the best we ever had and we can not only recommend it, but will also go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We visited at easter 2012 and it was our first trip to Morrocco. We we alarmed at first when we saw the area our taxi was taking us and wondered if we were in the right place. However once the impressive doorway to the riad was opened we entered into a delightful experience. The decor represented Morrocco in a bygone era with an array of patterned tiles on walls and floors. The exotic planting added to the ambience and encouraged an abundance of singing birds, although if you don't want to be woken at the crack of dawn, bring some earplugs! The rooms were comfortable and clean, some were better than others with four poster beds if you were willing to pay more. We had four rooms all individually furnished. I had a basic room and it was perfectly adequate. Laurent was extremely helpful organising taxis, shows, restaurants etc

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are less noisy than those on the ground and away from the street towards th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Riad Nabila is an inviting quiet oasis in the midst of the old medina. It’s an excellent bargain for the money. Wending our way there the first night was a fascinating experience. After that introduction, we loved finding the way back ourselves through the alleys every night.
The open courtyard provides a calm setting after the noisy streets, and the common rooms were comfortable enough. Breakfast was basic but plentiful. The room we were assigned was rather cramped and airless, but with a comfy bed nonetheless. However, whenever we wanted hot water, it took turning on the faucet for a good 10 – 15 minutes before any semblance of hot water showed up. Also, management needs to do a bit of sprucing up. Our room had lots of peeling paint, crumbling plaster, and mildew in the shower that did not add to the charm. As these items can be fixed up so easily, I’m wondering if perhaps the owners are merely sitting on their laurels from so many good recommendations in the past and are neglecting simple basic touch-up work.
I’ll recommend it because it’s an excellent bargain for the money. But check out the condition of your room first and don’t be afraid to ask for a reassignment.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Nabila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Nabila

Address: 3, derb El Farrane _ Sidi Ghalem | Zaouia El Abbassia, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#67 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#134 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Nabila 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and wellbeing await you in the Medina of Marrakech, at the heart of the Antique dealers’ souk. In the great tradition of ancient Moroccan architecture, the Riad Nabila offers you rooms, suites and lounges where you are able to relax, read or work and enjoy the cool air of the patios. The quality restaurant will cast a spell over you from breakfast to dinner, and top-of-the-range services accompany you discreetly throughout your stay helping you to find your way around the city and providing you with a multitude of attentive details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Nabila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Nabila Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Nabila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.