We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inviting Oasis in the Old Medina” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Nabila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Nabila to your Saves list
Riad Nabila
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, derb El Farrane _ Sidi Ghalem | Zaouia El Abbassia, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Inviting Oasis in the Old Medina”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Riad Nabila is an inviting quiet oasis in the midst of the old medina. It’s an excellent bargain for the money. Wending our way there the first night was a fascinating experience. After that introduction, we loved finding the way back ourselves through the alleys every night.
The open courtyard provides a calm setting after the noisy streets, and the common rooms were comfortable enough. Breakfast was basic but plentiful. The room we were assigned was rather cramped and airless, but with a comfy bed nonetheless. However, whenever we wanted hot water, it took turning on the faucet for a good 10 – 15 minutes before any semblance of hot water showed up. Also, management needs to do a bit of sprucing up. Our room had lots of peeling paint, crumbling plaster, and mildew in the shower that did not add to the charm. As these items can be fixed up so easily, I’m wondering if perhaps the owners are merely sitting on their laurels from so many good recommendations in the past and are neglecting simple basic touch-up work.
I’ll recommend it because it’s an excellent bargain for the money. But check out the condition of your room first and don’t be afraid to ask for a reassignment.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    36
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
64
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed in Riad Nabila Marrakesh in January / February 2011. The hotel is located in the middle of the medina, with very easy access to the souks, or local markets (10-15 minutes walking). It is also very close to very good restaurants in town (the personel of the hotel has a list of all recommendable restaurants in the medina and above). The interior of the riad is very well decorated and very clean (each room has a different color theme). The highlight of our stay in Riad Nabila consisted of home made Maroccan dinners which the personal prepared on our request. We had the unforgettable opportunity to try real home made Maroccan cuisine, all meals were excellent! The personel was very nice and helpful, solving all problems and requests very quickly. We will advise this riad to everyone who tries to experience the genuine atmosphere of the Medina. Max 5 minutes walking from the riad there is a local market where you can catch a taxi. It is an interesting place as in the evenings mostly women gather at this market to exchange or buy goods.
As a travel tip, we would advise those who have never been to Marrakesh before to order a pick up taxi from the airport through Riad Nabila (this option is available through the hotel webpage). It is then sure that the taxi driver will know where to bring you as we ended up with a driver unsure about the hotel location.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abensberg, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We spend it this place few days. it was amazing time. Riad is very clean, staff is very friendly all was really perfect. One thing that could chage a little bit is a breakfast - could be a little bit more varied. Location of the Riad is perfect for the people that are accustomed to the culture of Marroco and Medina. Tip for the people that are going there first time: tell your taxi driver to drive you to BAB TAZGOUGH (something like this). From this plase is very close to the Riad.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed here as part of our trip around Morocco and although it does not look much from the outside it was a lovely, spacious Riad with good service and clean, authentically decorated rooms. The pictures did not do the place justice and we really enjoyed our stay there. Breakfast was good although there could have maybe been some more variation in choice. Also it was hard to find - even our taxi driver could not find the Riad do drop us back! Overall it was a fantastic stay and I would definately return should I visit Marrakech again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The Riad was beautiful with its amazing courtyard pool and great interior design. The rooms were well appointed with great showers and sinks. food was also plentiful and staff is always willing to give you a bit of what you want. the fresh orange juice was to die for, same as in the main square djmma fnna.

However, the Riad was very difficult to find unless you knew exactly where you were going. Once you knew how the Riad related geographically to the mosque close by, then you at least have a landmark to go by in figuring your way to the main square djmma f´nna. We spent a good half an hour trying to find the Riad with local kids helping. Even they had a hard time figuring out where it was and they were not just taking us for a ride.

Once we were close, we found that the Riad was nestled in a corner of a small street, with a patch of ground in front of the Riad´s door step needing repair. The sewage system near by needed a bit of tweeking to eliminate the smell from the air. We were relieved to have found the Riad, but were a bit appalled by the external surroundings. After paying the boys for their help in guiding us, we stepped into luxury behind the Riad´s door. The Riad´s inside was the polar opposite of the small street right in front.

We would recommend this Riad to people who are more well-versed in Marrakesh Medina´s winding streets. We didn´t have much hassle on our ways later on, but the difficulty of finding our way back to the Riad after a day out prevented us from wanting to stay out and have more fun at night! This was a bit of a bummer!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

I had a lovely stay at Riad Nabila, it really has everything you want in a riad. My Room was great with large bathroom. The Staff were very nice and helpful. Having breakfast by the lovely pool every morning was a treat as it was very fresh and delicious. At Night you can enjoy a beer in lounge room with magazines and music. The only downside is the location which is not that close to the center of the Medina whoever other guests that i met thought the location was excellent for experiencing the real life of the old town of Marrakesh!! So Really Nice Place which I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Just Go !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

We arrived at Riad Nabila in the night-time fresh off a train journey from Casablanca. Our taxi was accompanied by scores of young boys on the street as our driver asked for directions to find the hotel in a narrow alley. After we managed to extricate ourselves from the young boys, we were greeted by Kareem and were very pleasantly surprised by the calmness and beauty of the interior of Riad Nabila. The reception area overlooks the courtyard with a lovely pool in the center surrounded by trees, a couple of lounging rooms and the dining room. Our room on the second floor was tastefully decorated with lovely furnishings and lamps. The room was impeccably cleaned everyday. Breakfast was decent and served in the lovely dining room. Caveat: a request for a second portion of bread at breakfast was surprisingly turned down. :) The location of the riad is a little inconvenient. It will take anywhere from 20 minutes to 1 hour to get to/from Jemaa El Fna depending on time of day and how well mis-directed you are on that day. :) Service at the hotel was generally very good, with one exception. On the night before we were scheduled to leave, we asked the hotel to call us a taxi for 7:30 A.M. the next morning to take us to the bus station. The taxi never arrived and the hotel staff seemed unable/unwilling to call us an alternate taxi to help us make our scheduled bus. So, we spent another couple of hours at the hotel, walked 20 minutes and found a taxi to take us to catch a later bus.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Nabila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Nabila

Address: 3, derb El Farrane _ Sidi Ghalem | Zaouia El Abbassia, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#77 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#156 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Nabila 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and wellbeing await you in the Medina of Marrakech, at the heart of the Antique dealers’ souk. In the great tradition of ancient Moroccan architecture, the Riad Nabila offers you rooms, suites and lounges where you are able to relax, read or work and enjoy the cool air of the patios. The quality restaurant will cast a spell over you from breakfast to dinner, and top-of-the-range services accompany you discreetly throughout your stay helping you to find your way around the city and providing you with a multitude of attentive details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Nabila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Nabila Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Nabila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.