We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Toulousain

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Toulousain
Save
You added Hotel Toulousain to your Saves list
44 Rue Tarik Ben Ziad Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #299 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Prague
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hotel Toulousain is situated in Ville nouvelle in Marrakech, walking distance from the Djemma el Fna. It is great if you want to escape the rush of medina, but still be able to visit it easily. The prices are set in this hotel, no bargaining, but are very reasonable and they include quite luxurious breakfast. Rooms are clean, although very simple, almost "prison" like in style. The staff speak English.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    43
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
33
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Small hidden gem courtyard and stillness and yet close to the chaos. Wonderful staff. And excellent value as well as a wonderful breakfast!!
Rooms are basic but comfortable and clean. Security is always there. Even can leave your luggage when exploring other places.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boemien, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Toulousain, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate people who say things the way they are! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

very noce nice people email responsive wifi great nice building with cool morning temps design. breakfast was simple but delicouis. clean but very basic and maintenence is required so dont expect the $200 per night tourist trap.

recommend highly for the price $27 per couple w bath and nice breakfast

15 minute walk to center

if u take #19 bus they will let u off 2 blocks too far. walk back to the solEris bar and restaraunt and walk in 1 block by soleris. turn left and walk 50 meters. sign in front. next to huge 1 block long new megacomplex now under construction

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Of all the hotels we stayed at in Morocco, some a great deal more expensive, this one was our favourite, without a doubt. It was clean, comfortable (fantastic, thick cotton sheets!) and presented no plumbing problems at all. The staff were great, and so was the building itself - simple, unpretentious, charming. A great atmosphere, too. And what super value for a hotel in a central location in a big city. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again on a future trip (we actually had two short stays on this trip, both equally good).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I am a Peace Corps Volunteer and this hotel has all I need on an overnight trip in Marrakech, whether I am passing through or staying to enjoy the sites of Marrakech. Clean rooms, hot showers, free wifi, free breakfast, and great staff! It is also in a wonderful location between the bus station and the train station and close to the bus stop for the airport bus. It is also close to some wonderful restaurants, bars, and about a 15 minute walk from Jardin Marjorelli and 30 minutes from Jemaa el Fna.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel a few months in advance as the reviews were ok and I was looking for a cheap place to stay. If you are used to basic hotels and are not too fussy, this is the place to go. The courtyard is beautiful and you can get drinks here all day long. You could also have dinner here. It is a nice escape after a day in busy Marrakech. The lady at reception is very friendly and helpful and she speaks english very well. The rooms could do with a bit of a spruce up. The towel rail is rather rusty and so is the shower. The bedside cabinet was rather rustic. But when paying £55 for 4 nights for an en suite I do not want to complain. As long as it all works is what I think. And work it did. A nice powerful and warm shower every morning. The bed and pillows were comfortable to me and were made every day. You also get a new towel every day though it is a bit small... Next door is cafe le livre which is very nice and trendy and serves alcohol. Both the hotel and the cafe have free wifi. It is true that for the first two nights there was music from a club to be heard between 2 and 4. It is however not that loud and if you are within walking distance of the main square (about 20 mins) then you are to expect some noise. The main road is about 100m away and cannot be heard at all. It has bus lines going to the city centre and the airport. If I ever go to Marrakech again, I shall most definitely be booking room 16 in hotel toulousain again as it is out of the way and has a seating area outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We loved this place, we paid 190 dhms for double room with shared bathrooms, the price also includes a respectable breakfast. The rooms and bathroom were sparkling clean, at other places in Morocco we chose to sleep in our sleeping beds, but that wasn't necessary here. the showers have hot water all day and you can regulate the temperature perfectly, all the shower cubicles are very roomy. The rooms are very large, a double room has two double beds and still tons of space, and the sinks in every room are an added bonus. What was bit annoying is that you couldn't get the wifi in the rooms only in the (very pretty) courtyard, however with this thick stone walls typical for Moroccan buildings that is pretty much unavoidable, and hey it's still free wifi, right? All in all this was definitely the best value hotel we stayed in on our trip and to top it off the staff is super friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Toulousain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Toulousain

Address: 44 Rue Tarik Ben Ziad Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family owned hotel of 32 rooms strategically located in the modern part of Marrakech. The included breakfast is icing on the cake. 30-minute walk to Jam El Fna square and only 2-minute walk to banks, restaurants, shops, post office...Clean and affordable! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Toulousain Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Toulousain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.