We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for budget traveller.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Toulousain

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Toulousain
Save Saved
You added Hotel Toulousain to your Saves list
44 Rue Tarik Ben Ziad Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #288 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
“Great hotel for budget traveller.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel a few months in advance as the reviews were ok and I was looking for a cheap place to stay. If you are used to basic hotels and are not too fussy, this is the place to go. The courtyard is beautiful and you can get drinks here all day long. You could also have dinner here. It is a nice escape after a day in busy Marrakech. The lady at reception is very friendly and helpful and she speaks english very well. The rooms could do with a bit of a spruce up. The towel rail is rather rusty and so is the shower. The bedside cabinet was rather rustic. But when paying £55 for 4 nights for an en suite I do not want to complain. As long as it all works is what I think. And work it did. A nice powerful and warm shower every morning. The bed and pillows were comfortable to me and were made every day. You also get a new towel every day though it is a bit small... Next door is cafe le livre which is very nice and trendy and serves alcohol. Both the hotel and the cafe have free wifi. It is true that for the first two nights there was music from a club to be heard between 2 and 4. It is however not that loud and if you are within walking distance of the main square (about 20 mins) then you are to expect some noise. The main road is about 100m away and cannot be heard at all. It has bus lines going to the city centre and the airport. If I ever go to Marrakech again, I shall most definitely be booking room 16 in hotel toulousain again as it is out of the way and has a seating area outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    35
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
29
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We loved this place, we paid 190 dhms for double room with shared bathrooms, the price also includes a respectable breakfast. The rooms and bathroom were sparkling clean, at other places in Morocco we chose to sleep in our sleeping beds, but that wasn't necessary here. the showers have hot water all day and you can regulate the temperature perfectly, all the shower cubicles are very roomy. The rooms are very large, a double room has two double beds and still tons of space, and the sinks in every room are an added bonus. What was bit annoying is that you couldn't get the wifi in the rooms only in the (very pretty) courtyard, however with this thick stone walls typical for Moroccan buildings that is pretty much unavoidable, and hey it's still free wifi, right? All in all this was definitely the best value hotel we stayed in on our trip and to top it off the staff is super friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Travelling with a group and the criteria were; authentic (ie should not be like home, no compounds) clean, easy access location, security (walk home from centre) and budget. This place derived on all criteria and was exceedingly good value for all of the group. Would def use again and perfect for a group of travellers who want to experience the real Marrakech.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Hotel Toulousain is very well located not so far from the square Djema el Fnaa, next to Plaza, very close to the airport Menara. Concerning to price, the hotel was very cheap. I didnt expect a lot although I was surprised. The room was not too small, with shower. the sheets were clean, shower as well. to go to the toilet, I had to go outside the room. the breakfast was composed by croissant, some yogurt, some bread with jam and oringe juice. The receptionists were friendly, especialy lady at the reception, she was all the time able to answer my questions and also gave me good advice.
The only disadvantage was not very hot water during the night and 3 euros to rent the heating, because in the room there is not. 3 euros is not too much, but in my opinion the heating should be free and automaticly in the room because its very cold during the night... and in my opinion hotel shouldnt charge anything for the heating.
I will definitely choose the same hotel for the next time and I recommend it.
Anyway

Room Tip: ask for the room with bathroom included anyway you risk to be in public shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbilisi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this place. It was the only hotel we booked in advance during our trip. It might be cheap for Marrakech, but you really get what you pay for. The place is worn down but clean, some of the staff were really friendly others seemed disinterested, the showers are hot and work well and we enjoyed our breakfast. Too bad there is a lot of noise coming from a nightclub nearby, and depending on which side of the hotel you're at, this can be quite annoying because the heavy bass keeps going until 4am (even on a Tuesday). The pillows were really awful (a bag filled wit cheap foamy flakes) and the place really needs a fix up.. right now its rather stuffy and its definitely not the cosiest place. They keep it clean, but that's about it. I would pay a bit more for a better nights sleep next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

perfectly located and realativly easy to find (most taxi drivers know it) clean and well maintained but pretty basic...breakfast is basic and better eaten early as it goes down hill the later in the morning you take it. reception staff very friendly. ..basic english spoken so as with most of the country a bit of french helps...cold at night in winter so be prepared...

Room Tip: upstairs rooms quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boemien, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Toulousain, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit and thank you for being objective in writing your review. We appreciate that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed in this hotel when I visited Marrakech for the first time in November 2009 and what a lovely bag of memories I still carry. As every traveler, I was excited as well as anxious about the hotel in particular and Marrakech in general. All my wariness disappeared as soon as I set foot in Hotel Toulousain. I must say that the hotel and the city did not disappoint me, on the contrary I found them to be an oasis of peace and tranquility.
The rooms are around two square courtyards with orange trees. I stayed in a room on the 1st floor as well as on the ground floor, next to the breakfast kitchen. Waking up in the morning with the chants of birds, the meows of cats and laughters of fellow traveler taking their breakfast under the orange tree, is unforgettable.
If you are obsessed with luxury and comfort etc do not go to this hotel. But if you want to experience an authentic atmosphere with clean bed and delicious breakfast without being out of pocket, this is the place. Bon voyage!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Toulousain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Toulousain

Address: 44 Rue Tarik Ben Ziad Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family owned hotel of 32 rooms strategically located in the modern part of Marrakech. The included breakfast is icing on the cake. 30-minute walk to Jam El Fna square and only 2-minute walk to banks, restaurants, shops, post office...Clean and affordable! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Toulousain Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Toulousain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.