We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my time at this clean, safe and within budget establishment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Toulousain

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Toulousain
Save
You added Hotel Toulousain to your Saves list
44 Rue Tarik Ben Ziad Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #291 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my time at this clean, safe and within budget establishment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Travelling with a group and the criteria were; authentic (ie should not be like home, no compounds) clean, easy access location, security (walk home from centre) and budget. This place derived on all criteria and was exceedingly good value for all of the group. Would def use again and perfect for a group of travellers who want to experience the real Marrakech.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    36
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
30
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Hotel Toulousain is very well located not so far from the square Djema el Fnaa, next to Plaza, very close to the airport Menara. Concerning to price, the hotel was very cheap. I didnt expect a lot although I was surprised. The room was not too small, with shower. the sheets were clean, shower as well. to go to the toilet, I had to go outside the room. the breakfast was composed by croissant, some yogurt, some bread with jam and oringe juice. The receptionists were friendly, especialy lady at the reception, she was all the time able to answer my questions and also gave me good advice.
The only disadvantage was not very hot water during the night and 3 euros to rent the heating, because in the room there is not. 3 euros is not too much, but in my opinion the heating should be free and automaticly in the room because its very cold during the night... and in my opinion hotel shouldnt charge anything for the heating.
I will definitely choose the same hotel for the next time and I recommend it.
Anyway

Room Tip: ask for the room with bathroom included anyway you risk to be in public shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbilisi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this place. It was the only hotel we booked in advance during our trip. It might be cheap for Marrakech, but you really get what you pay for. The place is worn down but clean, some of the staff were really friendly others seemed disinterested, the showers are hot and work well and we enjoyed our breakfast. Too bad there is a lot of noise coming from a nightclub nearby, and depending on which side of the hotel you're at, this can be quite annoying because the heavy bass keeps going until 4am (even on a Tuesday). The pillows were really awful (a bag filled wit cheap foamy flakes) and the place really needs a fix up.. right now its rather stuffy and its definitely not the cosiest place. They keep it clean, but that's about it. I would pay a bit more for a better nights sleep next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

perfectly located and realativly easy to find (most taxi drivers know it) clean and well maintained but pretty basic...breakfast is basic and better eaten early as it goes down hill the later in the morning you take it. reception staff very friendly. ..basic english spoken so as with most of the country a bit of french helps...cold at night in winter so be prepared...

Room Tip: upstairs rooms quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boemien, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Toulousain, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit and thank you for being objective in writing your review. We appreciate that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed in this hotel when I visited Marrakech for the first time in November 2009 and what a lovely bag of memories I still carry. As every traveler, I was excited as well as anxious about the hotel in particular and Marrakech in general. All my wariness disappeared as soon as I set foot in Hotel Toulousain. I must say that the hotel and the city did not disappoint me, on the contrary I found them to be an oasis of peace and tranquility.
The rooms are around two square courtyards with orange trees. I stayed in a room on the 1st floor as well as on the ground floor, next to the breakfast kitchen. Waking up in the morning with the chants of birds, the meows of cats and laughters of fellow traveler taking their breakfast under the orange tree, is unforgettable.
If you are obsessed with luxury and comfort etc do not go to this hotel. But if you want to experience an authentic atmosphere with clean bed and delicious breakfast without being out of pocket, this is the place. Bon voyage!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I found the medina scene too overwhelming as a solo traveler who knew no french or arabic. I had some difficulties when I arrived in Marrakesh and the owner and staff at the Toulousian went above and beyond to help me. I will be forever grateful for a Moroccan man. The hotel is very affordable. The rooms were very simple but clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good. The hospitality was exceptional and unmatched by any accommodations I had in a 12 days of travelling in Morocco. It was easy to get around the city from this Gueliz location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Very much a case of getting what you paid for.

We only stayed for one night after landing at Marrakesh airport before getting the bus to Essaouria. Breakfast was good, the location is ideal, everything was clean, reception very friendly an helpful and free wifi is a bonus.

Saying that, it was freezing cold at night with an extra 30d to hire an inadequate heater, there was no hot water and a lot of noise from a building site during the day and a nightclub at night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Toulousain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Toulousain

Address: 44 Rue Tarik Ben Ziad Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family owned hotel of 32 rooms strategically located in the modern part of Marrakech. The included breakfast is icing on the cake. 30-minute walk to Jam El Fna square and only 2-minute walk to banks, restaurants, shops, post office...Clean and affordable! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Toulousain Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Toulousain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.