We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pratique, pas du tout cher” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toulousain Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toulousain Hotel
Save
You added Toulousain Hotel to your Saves list
44 Rue Tariq Bnou Ziad | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #337 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
Paris, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Pratique, pas du tout cher”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Hotel Toulousain is very well located not so far from the square Djema el Fnaa, next to Plaza, very close to the airport Menara. Concerning to price, the hotel was very cheap. I didnt expect a lot although I was surprised. The room was not too small, with shower. the sheets were clean, shower as well. to go to the toilet, I had to go outside the room. the breakfast was composed by croissant, some yogurt, some bread with jam and oringe juice. The receptionists were friendly, especialy lady at the reception, she was all the time able to answer my questions and also gave me good advice.
The only disadvantage was not very hot water during the night and 3 euros to rent the heating, because in the room there is not. 3 euros is not too much, but in my opinion the heating should be free and automaticly in the room because its very cold during the night... and in my opinion hotel shouldnt charge anything for the heating.
I will definitely choose the same hotel for the next time and I recommend it.
Anyway

Room Tip: ask for the room with bathroom included anyway you risk to be in public shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YannParis18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
tbilisi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this place. It was the only hotel we booked in advance during our trip. It might be cheap for Marrakech, but you really get what you pay for. The place is worn down but clean, some of the staff were really friendly others seemed disinterested, the showers are hot and work well and we enjoyed our breakfast. Too bad there is a lot of noise coming from a nightclub nearby, and depending on which side of the hotel you're at, this can be quite annoying because the heavy bass keeps going until 4am (even on a Tuesday). The pillows were really awful (a bag filled wit cheap foamy flakes) and the place really needs a fix up.. right now its rather stuffy and its definitely not the cosiest place. They keep it clean, but that's about it. I would pay a bit more for a better nights sleep next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berlinskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

perfectly located and realativly easy to find (most taxi drivers know it) clean and well maintained but pretty basic...breakfast is basic and better eaten early as it goes down hill the later in the morning you take it. reception staff very friendly. ..basic english spoken so as with most of the country a bit of french helps...cold at night in winter so be prepared...

Room Tip: upstairs rooms quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Free-Range85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boemien, Public Relations Manager at Toulousain Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit and thank you for being objective in writing your review. We appreciate that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed in this hotel when I visited Marrakech for the first time in November 2009 and what a lovely bag of memories I still carry. As every traveler, I was excited as well as anxious about the hotel in particular and Marrakech in general. All my wariness disappeared as soon as I set foot in Hotel Toulousain. I must say that the hotel and the city did not disappoint me, on the contrary I found them to be an oasis of peace and tranquility.
The rooms are around two square courtyards with orange trees. I stayed in a room on the 1st floor as well as on the ground floor, next to the breakfast kitchen. Waking up in the morning with the chants of birds, the meows of cats and laughters of fellow traveler taking their breakfast under the orange tree, is unforgettable.
If you are obsessed with luxury and comfort etc do not go to this hotel. But if you want to experience an authentic atmosphere with clean bed and delicious breakfast without being out of pocket, this is the place. Bon voyage!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tumbuk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I found the medina scene too overwhelming as a solo traveler who knew no french or arabic. I had some difficulties when I arrived in Marrakesh and the owner and staff at the Toulousian went above and beyond to help me. I will be forever grateful for a Moroccan man. The hotel is very affordable. The rooms were very simple but clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good. The hospitality was exceptional and unmatched by any accommodations I had in a 12 days of travelling in Morocco. It was easy to get around the city from this Gueliz location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAuntDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Very much a case of getting what you paid for.

We only stayed for one night after landing at Marrakesh airport before getting the bus to Essaouria. Breakfast was good, the location is ideal, everything was clean, reception very friendly an helpful and free wifi is a bonus.

Saying that, it was freezing cold at night with an extra 30d to hire an inadequate heater, there was no hot water and a lot of noise from a building site during the day and a nightclub at night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KolonelKustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliedrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed couple of nights in hotel Toulousain and enjoyed it very much!

Hotel has a very nice atmosphere as also the streets around it. Cafe Livre is on the corner and there are several nice places to eat or drink. Hotel has free wifi in the lounge, staff is friendly (speaks English) and always willing to help. Breakfast is fine.

Had a room downstairs (first time) and upstairs. If you're travelling in summer, you definitly will prefer a downstair room because of the temperature. Had private bathroom with hot water included voor Dh 220.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#248 of 491 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa El Gada
Villa El Gada
#226 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Trois Palmiers
Les Trois Palmiers
#320 of 491 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#251 of 491 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#318 of 491 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
By Hotel
By Hotel
#421 of 491 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toulousain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toulousain Hotel

Address: 44 Rue Tariq Bnou Ziad | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family owned hotel of 30 rooms strategically located in the modern part of Marrakech. The included breakfast is icing on the cake. 30-minute walk to Jam El Fna square and only 2-minute walk to banks, restaurants, shops, post office...Clean and affordable! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Toulousain Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing