We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget friendly with calm atmosphere and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Toulousain

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Toulousain
44 Rue Tarik Ben Ziad Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #269 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Budget friendly with calm atmosphere and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I found the medina scene too overwhelming as a solo traveler who knew no french or arabic. I had some difficulties when I arrived in Marrakesh and the owner and staff at the Toulousian went above and beyond to help me. I will be forever grateful for a Moroccan man. The hotel is very affordable. The rooms were very simple but clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good. The hospitality was exceptional and unmatched by any accommodations I had in a 12 days of travelling in Morocco. It was easy to get around the city from this Gueliz location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    31
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
28
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Very much a case of getting what you paid for.

We only stayed for one night after landing at Marrakesh airport before getting the bus to Essaouria. Breakfast was good, the location is ideal, everything was clean, reception very friendly an helpful and free wifi is a bonus.

Saying that, it was freezing cold at night with an extra 30d to hire an inadequate heater, there was no hot water and a lot of noise from a building site during the day and a nightclub at night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliedrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed couple of nights in hotel Toulousain and enjoyed it very much!

Hotel has a very nice atmosphere as also the streets around it. Cafe Livre is on the corner and there are several nice places to eat or drink. Hotel has free wifi in the lounge, staff is friendly (speaks English) and always willing to help. Breakfast is fine.

Had a room downstairs (first time) and upstairs. If you're travelling in summer, you definitly will prefer a downstair room because of the temperature. Had private bathroom with hot water included voor Dh 220.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Good lower-priced option in Ville Nouvelle, very close to the train station, maybe a twenty minute walk to the medina. Rooms were hot, we sprung for the ones on the ground floor that have a fan, which were slightly more expensive and significantly cooler. Rooms are very basic, internal courtyard has free wifi. Good shower pressure, although I had no hot water (not that I wanted any in Marrakesh in August!). Breakfast was included in the price, with croissants and yogurt, which you often do not get for budget breakfasts in Morocco. Our tour book said that it had a garage (car park) but it did not. We had no problem with street parking, which is metered from 08h00-20h00 during the week. Will probably wind up staying here again next time I am in Marrakesh if I am not looking to spend a lot to stay in a riad.

Room Tip: Choose rooms 1, 2, or 3 - a bit more expensive with fans but much cooler!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiznit, Morocco
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The Toulousain is a beautiful place with a wonderful staff. It's in a convenient, quiet location (10 minute walk to train/bus stations, 20 minute walk to Jemaa al-Fna and the medina market). I love the fact that the hotel has a pet cat, Kenza, and two pet turtles. The wifi in the lobby is very convenient too. I have stayed at this hotel several times now and it is my go-to place for a comfortable and relatively cheap stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I usually stay in one particular Hotel near the Djeema el Fna for my first night in Morocco, but over time have become disillusioned with it.

I am SO happy that I have discovered the Hotel Toulousain (thank you Lonely Planet Guide)!! It's on the airport bus route, is only a 12 minute walk from the train station, about 15 minute walk from CTM and Supratour Bus Stations.

I'm a solo traveller andI found all staff members I had contact with very, very helpful and nothing was too much trouble and they all made me feel very welcome. I stayed there 3 times during my trip and all my 3 rooms were comfortable and a good price (140MAD/£11.20 approx for shared facilities & 220MAD/£17.60 with own facilities) including breakfast (baguette, butter, jam, croissant/pain au choc, juice and hot drink) Choice of two lovely courtyards to eat breakfast. A bonus for me was the Literary Cafe next door. Great place to sit and read books left/donated by other travellers (or buy one very cheaply) and have access to free wi-fi

Quiet location and only one street behind the busy streets. In one of my rooms I experienced some sound travelling from the club behind, but a pair of ear plugs soon sorted that out! The Solaris Restaurant on the main road is a very hand place offering lovely food.

The Hotel Toulousain will now be my preferred hotel on arriving in Marrakech. There's a luggage room available which is great for those times when you don't want to cart all your stuff around with you!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Very basic hotel, but away from the maddening crowds.. a blissful place to reflect in.. The staff are above and beyond in hospitality and will bend over backwards to accommodate you.. You can store your luggage securely and travel to come back to find all is in good order.. secure,serene... and money well spent.. I have stayed there on and off over 7 years.. and will continue to do so.. it is home away from home...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Toulousain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Toulousain

Also Known As:
Toulousain Hotel Marrakech
Address: 44 Rue Tarik Ben Ziad Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family owned hotel of 32 rooms strategically located in the modern part of Marrakech. The included breakfast is icing on the cake. 30-minute walk to Jam El Fna square and only 2-minute walk to banks, restaurants, shops, post office...Clean and affordable! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Toulousain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Toulousain to your Saves list