We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Khabia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Khabia to your Saves list
Riad Khabia
Berrima, Derb Chtoka #6, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 1,149 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Excellent Riad, very comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms, Splash pool is lovely after a hot day walking around the city! The terrace on the roof was also lovely to catch a few rays! Julien and Danni were the perfect hosts full of useful information and tips! Was difficult to find the Riad so would recommend a transfer though someone on the street showed us and we only had to give him a token tip. Would definitely recommend this Riad!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank followthesun0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We arrived at Riad Khabia with the pre arranged transfer from the airport. This was invaluable as we wouldn't have found it otherwise. A warm welcome, with very detailed over view of the whole city which was helpful if a little overwhelming after a long day travelling. We bought a map for a euro which Julian wrote lots of helpful notes on as well as giving us tips throughout to enable us to have a safe and enjoyable experience. We were served mint tea through out our stay, which was the nicest we'd tasted as it was not so sweet.

We had a twin room on the second (top) floor, all of the rooms look out in to the internal court yard. The room had air conditioning and some other thoughtful ideas like little lights by the bed and an extension lead. The room was spacious and the bathroom was large with a double sink and shower, it felt traditionally Moroccan. The rooms were cleaned and made up daily but things were moved around and re-organised for us. As two young female travellers it felt like we'd brought our Mum with us to tidy our room! This was a little frustrating when we couldn't find things straight away but kind and sweet at the same time.

Breakfast was simple but filling. Usually included a piece of fruit, orange juice, bread with jam and cheese or pancakes.

Julian and Danni are extremely welcoming hosts and nothing was too much trouble. If you were after some time to yourself as a couple you may find them too intrusive, but to us they were very helpful and as the only guests for most of our stay we had all of their attention.

We had an enjoyable stay and felt very welcome and cared for by Julian and Danni. Our stay was enhanced by their kindness in the smaller details such as washing our water bottles and storing them in the fridge, giving us estimates of what we should expect to pay in the souks and for taxi's and we felt very empowered and encouraged by Danni.

Our stay was extremely reasonable and we were a little dubious but we had a pleasant stay and would absolutely recommend this lovely Riad to our friends and family and hope one day we can return.

Room Tip: You can't get wifi in the twin room on the top floor but can get it in the lovely snug area on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thorpeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Riad is in the atmospheric old medina part of the city, ideally placed for visiting the palaces, tombs and Sooks. It is so peaceful in the Riad that it is hard to believe you are right at the beating heart of the old city. It is run by a very friendly family who can't do enough to help you find your way around. I can recommend taking the open-topped tour bus to help you get your bearings (as was suggested to me by the owner); and visiting Jemma El Fna square is just a short walk from the Riad (experiencing it in the evening is a must!). Very practical and comfortable!

Room Tip: I had the Berber room which was air-conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

As an American teaching couple living in Casablanca we occasionally go to Marrakech and always send visitors there as well - and everyone stays at Riad Khabia and comes away singing their praises. Julien and Dany are the most friendly, courteous and kind hosts you could ever ask for. Their genuine interest in making sure that you have a good time during your stay puts you at ease the moment you step in the door. The riad is beautiful and pristine. During cooler parts of the year you can also have breakfast on the roof while looking at the Atlas Mountains in the distance and the Royal Palace across the street. And for first time visitors to Marrakech, Julien can provide you with a map and amazingly detailed directions on how to get places and then he'll even walk you to Jemma El Fna and point out things along the way. Their riad is cosy, fun, quiet and only a 15 minute walk to Jemma El Fna. Only 5 minutes away is the small Tinsmiths' Square with some great restaurants and Kosybar. A wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy-and-Becky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in April, and really enjoyed ourselves. When we arrived they upgraded us just because they could :) It was a gorgeous hotel with a lovely roof terrace, and great views over the Atlas mountains. The service was excellent and very friendly. He gave us tips on places to eat, and trust me he was right!
Its located right outside of the Medina, so only 10 minute walk to the square, with lovely little alley ways laced with shops, and cafes to the main square. Also a very calming and quiet atmosphere which was great for a good night sleep.
Up a short alley way which is hard to find when you first arrive, and you may get shown, but they will want money in return. We gave 25 dirham to get rid of him, but you don't have to give anything as they are not real tour guides, but it may easier to! After that initial irritation, it was very easy to find!
Highly recommended if you want a little quiet getaway in a buzzing city! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Really great place, Julian was extremely helpful on arrival and the Riad was reasonably priced and in a beautiful and tranquil setting. Our room was clean and well maintained. I would recommend this to anybody.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrizzle86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

After two days in the desert we could not have asked for a more comfortable and welcoming place to stay! Julian and Dany were excellent hosts and welcomed us with tea and open arms. Julian informed us of all the sights worth seeing in Marrakech and some of his favorite local spots. Our room was absolutely perfect and was always kept very clean. The hostel is located on a quiet street just a few minutes walk to the main square. It is not far at all (as the map may show) I loved staying in this quiet neighborhood and in such a beautiful and well kept Riad. It was the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle. I would definitely stay here again & highly recommend it!
Thank you Julian and Dany for a wonderful experience.
Jenna & Marc, Barcelona

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennakm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
0.8 mi away
DadaMouss
DadaMouss
#248 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#2 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#31 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Chamali
Riad Chamali
#118 of 1,149 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Carina
Riad Carina
#114 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Khabia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Khabia

Address: Berrima, Derb Chtoka #6, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 1,149 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Khabia is a beautiful, comfortable, affordable, and secure guesthouse offering Bed & Breakfast services by a welcoming, friendly, and discreetly attentive staff. The Riad Khabia is housed in a traditional "ryad" featuring the best of Moroccan decorative hand-crafted techniques and materials such as "bejmat" tiles for flooring, "tadelakt" finishes on walls, "slimani" iron work, and islamic styled arches. The Riad Khabia offers a range of comfortable and climate controlled rooms (air-conditioning and heating), each featuring private bathrooms. From budget friendly singles and doubles to our more luxurious suites, guests also have access to our pleasant and shaded patio, panoramic rooftop terrace, and refreshing little pool. The Riad Khabia is located in a quiet, safe, and easily accessible residential neighborhood of the historical "medina" of Marrakech. Numerous places of interest such as palaces, museums, shops, & restaurants are less than a 5 minutes' walk away. The Riad Khabia staff possesses a wide ranging international experience, and is always present and happy to welcome our guests and share our advice and extensive knowledge of Marrakech and Morocco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places so you can book your Riad Khabia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing