We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Riad with amazing rooms and service on a quiet street right amongst the action of the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Khabia

Save Saved
You added Riad Khabia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Khabia
Houmate Berrima, Derb Chtoka #6, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stunning Riad with amazing rooms and service on a quiet street right amongst the action of the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Very pleasant stay. Both Dany and Julien made us very welcome. Julien especially has a great knowledge of the city and carefully recommended us various places to visit including bars, resteraunts and places of special interest. His advice is indispensable on everything from prices to pay to the best way of dealing with a new situation. We stayed in the schezerade suite which is stunning - the bathroom is very nice and the 7ft wide bed a real treat. The entire place is stunning and kept meticulously clean and tidy with real attention to detail paid. Our room was cleaned and tidied daily and our towels refreshed. Both Julien and Danny were very attentive and there to fulfill any needs we had almost before we realised we had them ( cushions and towels for the loungers etc ). Location wise ten minutes walk from Jma el Fna square and two mins from the small square with several resteraunts and the trendy Kosybar. We would recommend to anybody. Not only a stunning and opulent place but the safe wide and quiet street its situated on is stand out compared to some Riads that are accessed from dirtier smaller streets in the medina. First class! Rob and Emily, 30, Sheffield, England

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
68
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A work colleague recommended Riad Khabia after she stayed there a couple of years back. Having seen many on the internet and being unable to make a decision as I was paralysed by the choice I went with this particular Riad. I was not disappointed. All pre-stay correspondence was replied to promptly. They organised the transfer service (15 euros one way) to and from the airport which was fantastic. Julien and Dani were the fantastic staff at the Riad. I appreciated the personal 'orientation' tour in and around the old city - Julien was always more than obliging to answer my many questions about where to shop, how to haggle and generally about Morocco. I haven't really stayed in many hotels but I was more than impressed by how my room was furnished and cleaned daily. Highlights of the room were the air-conditioning and the private terrace at the end of room. I used the plunge pool almost daily to cool down after a day or morning wandering around the medina. The breakfasts were filling and the mint tea on demand was calming and relaxing. I thank and highly recommend Riad Khabia and the owners Dani and Julien.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

So here I sit, in London, four days before my trip to Marrakech, working hard to find a riad which I thought had been reserved and confirmed back in late February.

I booked with Riad Khabia, paid my deposit of just under 40 euros through paypal and received two very nice emails from Julien.

However, that was it.

In the last five days I have tried to contact Riad Khabia through four different email addresses - each emailed three times. I have also tried calling two numbers (the one on the website seems to be disconnected) twenty times, but again to no avail. I was initially emailing to simply confirm our arrival time and airport transfers, but the total lack of recognition let alone reply has lead me to assume my reservation has been cancelled.

This situation is especially unfortunate as the reviews for Riad Khabia are so good and I'm certain we would have had a lovely stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Well, where do I start?

Probably with Julian...he made the stay exceptional. Julian, would, did say that he did nothing special; the truth is, nothing was too much trouble for him.

The start was the guided tour of (not the rhiad) Marrakech. This saved us so much trouble and time as we were immediately orientated. Julian took the trouble to book any bus tickets and check out train times for us. His knowledge is encyclopaedic, and it is a book that is open to all that stay.

Danni, was equally wonderful and great for that early morning chat over breakfast; I loved the pancakes...and endless heavenly mint tea.

The rhiad itself was more than we could have dreamed of; we felt like we were in a little palace. As my wife said, it was not like being in a bed and breakfast, it was like being invited into Danni and Julian's home (which is what it is).

My wife and I have just had the holiday of our lives. Will we return? Absolutely.

Thank you Danni and Julian XOX

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Our stay at Riad Khabia was fantastic. To start, we had an airport transfer arranged for us which was waiting on our arrival. The Riad was extremely clean and comfortable, including having a plunge pool and air conditioning. The décor was very fresh and has clearly been recently updated. Julien and his mother, the owners, were simply outstanding. Julien took plenty of time to explain Marrakech to us, giving us a detailed map and his recommendations on where we should visit, including restaurants. He even walked us into the city so that we were able to get our bearings and not get lost. His advice on how to cross a road (slowly!) and how to use the local taxis and not overpay was indispensible. He organised our onwards travel too, making the seat reservations for us. The breakfast was local and homemade.

I cannot fault the Riad nor the owners as they made our quick stay in Marrakech simply perfect. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This Riad was fantastic,

My boyfriend and I spent a week travelling around Morocco, this was our first stop, from the moment we arrived we were picked up by the shuttle service from the airport and were taken right to the door by the driver. on arrival we were given some amazing home brewed mint tea (which we had a LOT of throughout our stay and it was complimentary) we were then taken through a custom made may by Julien, and then he took us on a very comprehensive walking tour of marrakesh- he had some great tips to get the most out of the experience and see things from a moroccons perspective- such as where to eat a delicious tagine for £2! and where to go and when to avoid crowds.

The room we had was more like a suite! our room was beautiful and decorated in traditional moroccon colours, we had an open stone shower and a seperate balcony room looking over the courtyard and pool. considering the price it was one of the best places we had stayed in and we have travelled alot.

We were given incredible recommendations and we took them up on all of them and they did not dissapoint, we felt like we knew marrakesh like the back of our hand once we left!

The Breakfasts we got were incredible! my favourites were Juliens mums homemade pancakes with strawberries!

Julien booked our travel onto Essauria and recommended villages to go to in the mountains to stay with berbers it was all very reasonably priced and he strictly makes no comission so all the recommendations we recieved were genuine.

we stayed initailly for a day and a night and enjoyed it so much we booked to stay on our return to the airport.

on our return it was like seeing old friends, we spent an evening with Julien and he got us some wine that we had tried in Agadir we then went to a restaurant which he recommended as a final treat it was absolutely amazing!

The liitle touches were far beyond what I had expected and the surroundings were perfect to compliment the hectic city of Marrakesh.

we will definately be going back and I would recommend this Riad very highly to anyone!

Room Tip: All rooms were fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Had an amazing time in Morocco. The hotel was great and Julien and his Mother looked after us really well. They organised a bus for us to Essaouira and gave some great advice on where to visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Khabia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Khabia

Address: Houmate Berrima, Derb Chtoka #6, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Riad Khabia, Dany and her team enthusiastically welcomes you in an oasis of calm and comfort. Easily accessible, the Riad Khabia, is nestled in the protective shade of the Royal Palace's outer walls. Strategically located, a leisurely 10 minute stroll takes one to any of the historical sites or bustling souks. A small, deep and clear pool and an expansive view from the rooftop terrace are just a sampling of the Riad Khabia's 1001 charms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Khabia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Khabia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.