We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Khabia

Save Saved
You added Riad Khabia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Khabia
Houmate Berrima, Derb Chtoka #6, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent - stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Our stay at Riad Khabia was fantastic. To start, we had an airport transfer arranged for us which was waiting on our arrival. The Riad was extremely clean and comfortable, including having a plunge pool and air conditioning. The décor was very fresh and has clearly been recently updated. Julien and his mother, the owners, were simply outstanding. Julien took plenty of time to explain Marrakech to us, giving us a detailed map and his recommendations on where we should visit, including restaurants. He even walked us into the city so that we were able to get our bearings and not get lost. His advice on how to cross a road (slowly!) and how to use the local taxis and not overpay was indispensible. He organised our onwards travel too, making the seat reservations for us. The breakfast was local and homemade.

I cannot fault the Riad nor the owners as they made our quick stay in Marrakech simply perfect. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
68
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This Riad was fantastic,

My boyfriend and I spent a week travelling around Morocco, this was our first stop, from the moment we arrived we were picked up by the shuttle service from the airport and were taken right to the door by the driver. on arrival we were given some amazing home brewed mint tea (which we had a LOT of throughout our stay and it was complimentary) we were then taken through a custom made may by Julien, and then he took us on a very comprehensive walking tour of marrakesh- he had some great tips to get the most out of the experience and see things from a moroccons perspective- such as where to eat a delicious tagine for £2! and where to go and when to avoid crowds.

The room we had was more like a suite! our room was beautiful and decorated in traditional moroccon colours, we had an open stone shower and a seperate balcony room looking over the courtyard and pool. considering the price it was one of the best places we had stayed in and we have travelled alot.

We were given incredible recommendations and we took them up on all of them and they did not dissapoint, we felt like we knew marrakesh like the back of our hand once we left!

The Breakfasts we got were incredible! my favourites were Juliens mums homemade pancakes with strawberries!

Julien booked our travel onto Essauria and recommended villages to go to in the mountains to stay with berbers it was all very reasonably priced and he strictly makes no comission so all the recommendations we recieved were genuine.

we stayed initailly for a day and a night and enjoyed it so much we booked to stay on our return to the airport.

on our return it was like seeing old friends, we spent an evening with Julien and he got us some wine that we had tried in Agadir we then went to a restaurant which he recommended as a final treat it was absolutely amazing!

The liitle touches were far beyond what I had expected and the surroundings were perfect to compliment the hectic city of Marrakesh.

we will definately be going back and I would recommend this Riad very highly to anyone!

Room Tip: All rooms were fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Had an amazing time in Morocco. The hotel was great and Julien and his Mother looked after us really well. They organised a bus for us to Essaouira and gave some great advice on where to visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Our family had the pleasure of staying in this stunning Riad in April 2012. The hospitality by Dani and Julien was exceptional, and the location, cleanliness and morrocan charm was exactly what we were looking for in our short stay in Marrakesh. We would highly recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We were based at the Riad Khabia for our 5 nights in Morocco. Julien and his Mother were the most warm and pleasant hosts we've ever had the pleasure to meet. The Riad itself was stunning and tranquil, essential after a hot day on the streets of Marrakech. On arrival we were given a comprehensive overview of the city, along with a map complete with highlights and recommendations.
Our hosts assisted us with our travel arrangements, gave us an orientation of the city and tailored their suggestions to our personal requirements as photographers. We've never taken photos of the place we were staying before, but the Riad and in particular our suite (the Africa Suite) warranted the attention.
The added bonus of the whole trip was having mint tea and conversation with Julien. He is charming and full of useful information and is almost as interesting as Marrakech itself. Sipping mint tea with him as he informed us about the country and its rich history was a delight. He really is proud of Marrakech and its people, and the Riad Khabia truly is a great base for anybody to see the best of the city.

Room Tip: The whole riad was lovely, but we certainly enjoyed the suite which had a balcony over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently had the pleasure of staying at this Riad for 5 days, 4 nights.
I was not expecting the level of service that we received! It was amazing.
The owner and his mother welcomed us very warmly and gave us an excellent orientation tour of Marrakech with a map with their personal recommendations on it (because it is notoriously easy to get lost). They also went out of their way to help us when booking our atlas mountains tour, and they booked us (and took us to!) a traditional Morroccan restaurant (which was excellent!). This was all done out of the kindness of their hearts and not for commission, which is how a lot of places in Marrakech do business.
The room was immaculate and beautifully decorated. Large bathroom and we had lounges and a coffee table. It was also cleaned every day so when we came back from being out, everything was fresh and tidy.
The rooftop terrace was lovely to sit on while having breakfast to soak up the spring sun. It also has an excellent view across to the atlas mountains and some comfy sun lounges to relax on and enjoy the sun set.
All in all, the owners of this riad couldn't have made our stay any better. I will definitely be recommending this place to all friends and family!!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the suites but all rooms looked as good as each other. I would recommend the ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We can only agree to all the other fantastic reviews: beautiful room, absolutely clean, great location, very tasteful decorations...

But here are the things that stuck out for us:

The service that Dani and Julien offer is the best we ever experienced. No 5* hotel can keep up with this. Any question was answered and we couldn't express any wish since they were fulfilled without asking. They arranged for excursions and reservations at any time of the day. The mint tea - also any time of the day - is great, especially since we were travelling in January and the temperature dropped about 15°C when the sun was gone. That was one of our worries before travelling, that the room was too cold. But they had little heaters in the room and turned them on before we came back from our outings so that the room was very cosy and warm. And the room was so clean. Anything we had lying around was put away or arranged, so harmony was back in our room. It was like coming home, and that is what you need after the crazy - and wonderful - days in Marrakech.

One of the reasons we chose Riad Khabia was the view on the terrace. It is magnificient. The Atlas mountains seem so close and you overlook all roofs of Marrakech. On the other side you have the Koutoubia mosque, which is beatifully lit at night.

Our tips:
Eat in the Riad. Dani is the most wonderful cook and she combines maroccan cooking with here own ideas - simply delicious. We only regret of not having eaten more often "at home".
Take the cooking course that they can arrange for you. It is a wonderful experience not only for cooking but also for getting to know the berber traditions and life styles.

Thank you for making our vacation a dream.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Khabia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Khabia

Address: Houmate Berrima, Derb Chtoka #6, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Riad Khabia, Dany and her team enthusiastically welcomes you in an oasis of calm and comfort. Easily accessible, the Riad Khabia, is nestled in the protective shade of the Royal Palace's outer walls. Strategically located, a leisurely 10 minute stroll takes one to any of the historical sites or bustling souks. A small, deep and clear pool and an expansive view from the rooftop terrace are just a sampling of the Riad Khabia's 1001 charms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Khabia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Khabia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.