We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality and a gorgeous guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Khabia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Khabia to your Saves list
Riad Khabia
Houmate Berrima, Derb Chtoka #6, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitality and a gorgeous guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently had the pleasure of staying at this Riad for 5 days, 4 nights.
I was not expecting the level of service that we received! It was amazing.
The owner and his mother welcomed us very warmly and gave us an excellent orientation tour of Marrakech with a map with their personal recommendations on it (because it is notoriously easy to get lost). They also went out of their way to help us when booking our atlas mountains tour, and they booked us (and took us to!) a traditional Morroccan restaurant (which was excellent!). This was all done out of the kindness of their hearts and not for commission, which is how a lot of places in Marrakech do business.
The room was immaculate and beautifully decorated. Large bathroom and we had lounges and a coffee table. It was also cleaned every day so when we came back from being out, everything was fresh and tidy.
The rooftop terrace was lovely to sit on while having breakfast to soak up the spring sun. It also has an excellent view across to the atlas mountains and some comfy sun lounges to relax on and enjoy the sun set.
All in all, the owners of this riad couldn't have made our stay any better. I will definitely be recommending this place to all friends and family!!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the suites but all rooms looked as good as each other. I would recommend the ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
69
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We can only agree to all the other fantastic reviews: beautiful room, absolutely clean, great location, very tasteful decorations...

But here are the things that stuck out for us:

The service that Dani and Julien offer is the best we ever experienced. No 5* hotel can keep up with this. Any question was answered and we couldn't express any wish since they were fulfilled without asking. They arranged for excursions and reservations at any time of the day. The mint tea - also any time of the day - is great, especially since we were travelling in January and the temperature dropped about 15°C when the sun was gone. That was one of our worries before travelling, that the room was too cold. But they had little heaters in the room and turned them on before we came back from our outings so that the room was very cosy and warm. And the room was so clean. Anything we had lying around was put away or arranged, so harmony was back in our room. It was like coming home, and that is what you need after the crazy - and wonderful - days in Marrakech.

One of the reasons we chose Riad Khabia was the view on the terrace. It is magnificient. The Atlas mountains seem so close and you overlook all roofs of Marrakech. On the other side you have the Koutoubia mosque, which is beatifully lit at night.

Our tips:
Eat in the Riad. Dani is the most wonderful cook and she combines maroccan cooking with here own ideas - simply delicious. We only regret of not having eaten more often "at home".
Take the cooking course that they can arrange for you. It is a wonderful experience not only for cooking but also for getting to know the berber traditions and life styles.

Thank you for making our vacation a dream.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My brother and I recently returned to Riad Khabia for our second stay. Everything is clean, orderly and otherwise comfortable. Julien and his mother provide a great example of all-inclusive, professional hospitality, from comprehensive information on Marrakech and surroundings to delicious mint tea and a genuinely tranquil atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My family and I had a wonderful time when we stayed in Riad Khabia in December. As soon as we arrived Julien prepared a pot of mint tea and gave us a great overview of the city. He even walked us from the Riad to the main square, providing suggestions on where to eat and answering our numerous questions.

On our second day in Marrakech we had a scheduled cooking class and had asked Julien for directions. Much to our surprise instead of simply providing an idea of how to find this class he personally walked us all there. It was a good 20-30 minutes from the Riad and exemplifies the level of service above and beyond what we expected. We were daily amazed and appreciative of the kindness shown to our kids from finding videos they would enjoy watching to enduring endless Harry Potter trivia questions. None of us wanted to leave.

The room (Yakout Suite) was perfect for a family of 4 - very clean, nicely decorated and quiet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

By far the nicest hotel owners I've ever encountered, this was the finest place I've ever stayed in. Faultless rooms, service, and the amount of advice and information from Julien was brilliant - I would have happily stayed there permanently. You won't regret staying here for a second, it was the place I enjoyed most in all of Morocco

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I chose the Riad Khabia as an alternative to one of the larger conference hotels on the outskirts of town. This I can only recommend: While a lot of my colleagues only got to see the conference centre and the hotel complex outside town, I got to experience the "real" Marrakech with great help from Dany and Julien.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011 via mobile

Riad khabia is in a great location, has a beautiful atmosphere, and is perfectly clean. However, the best part about this riad is the exceptional service. Dany and Julien go above and beyond every day to ensure your stay is perfect. We could not have been happier with our choice of road khabia.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Khabia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Khabia

Address: Houmate Berrima, Derb Chtoka #6, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Riad Khabia, Dany and her team enthusiastically welcomes you in an oasis of calm and comfort. Easily accessible, the Riad Khabia, is nestled in the protective shade of the Royal Palace's outer walls. Strategically located, a leisurely 10 minute stroll takes one to any of the historical sites or bustling souks. A small, deep and clear pool and an expansive view from the rooftop terrace are just a sampling of the Riad Khabia's 1001 charms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Khabia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Khabia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.