We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Kabir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Al Kabir to your Saves list
Hotel Al Kabir
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Loubnane | Guéliz: Bd. Zerktouni, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Ranked #389 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights this month. It wasn't expensive so the hotel was exactly what I thought it would be. Double rooms are big! Unfortunately our AC didn't work but the bed was comfortable to sleep in. Hotel had a pool and very peaceful. It's in a great location, just minutes away from the main roads, mcdonalds etc. Well worth it

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    21
    4
    10
See reviews for
7
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in September with friends for birthday celebration in the city and desert.
Location: Very good. 20-30 minutes away from airport via taxi. I didn't see any local bus pass by at all, so we always got around through cabs. The high street/ town centre/shopping area or whatever they call it is a 5 minute walk. Lots of 1st class shopping boutiques, classy restaurants and cafe. But at the same time, the no-fail choice McDonalds and KFC, so yehey! There is also a few cafes right outside the hotel where we actually had most of our dinners coming back from the Big Square, few nearby spa that offer Hammam and massage, and a small convenient store.
Room: Basic. Looked tired. Advertised pictures showed carpets on the floor, not folded on the chair. 1 small overhead telly without remote. Comfortable beds, sheets and duvet, fluffy pillows. Decent toilet, but again, very tired. Shampoo, soap provided (although only 2 pieces each were provided when there were 3 of us). Daily towel changes. No hair dryer. No hot drinks making facility, not even a complimentary water bottle. AC which was very much needed especially when we checked-in at 1100 and was very humid. I personally didn't have trouble sleeping although our room was by the side of the street. Having said that, yes, we heard the horns. So if you're a light sleeper or fussy with noises, then request for a room on the other side.
Hotel and Staff: I'll start with their buffet breakfast which is served 0630-1000. Baguette, croissant which I assumed were cinnamon or apricot, they were sweet, period; chocolate croissant. Ham which came in 2 colors but tasted the same. Butter, cream cheese, cheese, jam. Olives (I think they love olives, which I do too) so yehey for me, sliced tomatoes, if you're lucky, some lettuce as well. Scrambled egg, porridge and a soup with my palate suggested was pumpkin. Then there was this muffin looking bread which was really hard to bite it felt more like a biscuit. And Morocco's very own Msemen pancakes, just the plain ones, which were fine as you can pour some honey and spread some jam over them. Yum! Coffee and tea for hot drinks, and orange juice. When we checked-in we were asked to pay for tax which weren't mentioned by the hotel booker site, and I found it annoying. I don't mind paying tax as other cities do too if I knew about it before hand. We had to pay 40 Dirham each, how it went down to that I'm not sure, maybe 10% of the room rate. The receptionist spoke good English, the rest were struggling but they were trying, bless them. Wi-fi is only on the ground floor thus a lot of sitting area for the guests in the reception and pool side. Speaking of the poolside, we took a dip on one of our nights, which was lovely. Guest weren't allowed to use room towels to dry up after swimming. Why? I don't know. So we had to air dry ourselves which got pretty cold as there was wind during the night. The next morning we saw the cleaners mopping the entire sitting area and poolside and all the dirty, muddy water were pushed towards the poolside drainage channels so naturally most of it went into the pool. So hopefully the amount of chlorine they apply is strong enough to kill whatever bacteria might be in the water. We once tried to have dinner in their restaurant but there was no menu. For that specific night the meal consisted of soup and skewers of chicken for 120 Dirham. How the food was, I have no idea as we didn't go for it. Meanwhile, my mates had couple of beers during the night, called Speciale, which could have been around 250mls per bottle at 25 Dirhams each. They said it was fine. On one night there was a performance by a duo by the poolside which was kinda nice. I think the guests, both local, and foreign enjoyed their drinks and snack more on that night. Also some other guests came out into their balconies to watch. There are 2 sets of lifts, small lifts, apparently enough for 6 people, without luggage. They have a luggage area for early check-in or late check-out. In a nut shell, I wouldn't be in a hurry to stay in this hotel again. I wouldn't mind, but if there's another hotel for the same price I'll probably try it out 1st.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Hotel Al Kabir is situated in Gueliz, the french part of Marrakech; it's a good half hour walk to the medina, or you can take the No 1 bus to the Jamaa el F'na. We stayed there for three nights...the first night our rooms were at the front, overlooking the road, and it was noisy all night. The following day we asked to be transfered to rooms overlooking the rear, and that was sorted quickly. The new rooms were on the first floor which was still rather noisy as there is a night club downstairs, and you could hear the bass beat. There was a pretty good choice for breakfast. The rooms all had baths in the bathrooms which I like, although the baths had very little glaze left on them. The service was very good and friendly from most of the members of staff on reception, but one of the receptionists was incredibly rude...we felt he shouldn't really have been in the service industry.

Room Tip: I would advise a room on the third floor (although the water pressure goes down the higher the floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

we stayed here in July 2013, sun-weds. The hotel on a whole was ok for what we needed..... Pool was lovely and cleaned every morning, although there is a shortage of sunbeds!! breakfast was again ok, contained cold meats, cheese and hot pancake type things! was ok for a start of the day. The only negative issue was the hotel is quite some way from any local shop! a long walk in the heat if you need to get water etc.

the staff were mixed in terms of offering politeness and helping you. we found a couple really helpful and several others just very moody!

all in all, ok....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

we spent one night in this hotel. Rooms are large but simple, our room was overlooking the road crossing so it was a bit noisy during the night.
The place looks a bit run down and it is really a pity since rooms are big and bright. Staff seems friendly but could speak only french.
Is situated in the new part of the city, gueliz, and plenty of restaurant and transportation are available.
It was easy to reach the city centre by a petit taxi for 20dh.
Wireless was available, but only in the lobby.

Room Tip: take a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

we arrived late on and our booking was processed quickly and easily. The room we got was £20 for a twin and was booked online for 1 night.

W found the room to be clean and large with nice comfy beds with clean sheets. We didn't hear a sound throughout the night and the sleep quality for us was high. Breakfast in the morning was a little bit of a let down as it was just a cold platter of bread and jam with a little kids pot of yoghurt. There were also pancakes somewhere but we couldn't work out where.

The pool looked quite nice however we didn't try as it was Feb.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The hotel is situated in the ville nouvelle, outside the medina with tourist attractions. Rooms are simple, extra pillows were available on request. We suffered from a noisy discotheque inside or near the hotel. Free wireless available, but only working within a few meters of the reception desk. Food is OK, but the restaurant is very noisy when a group is eating there (no carpets, no curtains).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Al Kabir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Kabir

Address: Rue Loubnane | Guéliz: Bd. Zerktouni, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #389 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Kabir 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Al Kabir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Kabir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.