We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Egyptian Woman's Perspective” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Jazira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Jazira to your Saves list
Riad Al Jazira
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   7, Derb Mayara | Sidi Ben Sliman, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #403 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Egyptian Woman's Perspective”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the riad for four days and three nights during our brief visit to Marrakech. We opted for the second most expensive room that housed a king sized bed, sitting area and sofa (that can be used for sleeping as well) on the first floor, and bathroom and closets several steps down. As you can tell from pictures that other travelers have taken, the decorations are simple yet lovely. We were told that the building is about 400 years old, and the ultra thick walls and "tucked away" factor made it feel like a great refuge from the hectic medina.

Hamid and the other staff people were great hosts and very helpful in answering questions and in making our stay as stress-free as possible. In fact, I was so impressed by their competence on the first day of our stay that I decided to book a few different things for us to experience on-site, including dinner for two, the hammam and massage. And on the last night, Hamid went out and got us bread from the market and sliced it up for me because I was hungry and too tired to go out and attempt to find the restaurant they suggested. A really sweet touch on his part.

As vegetarians, my husband and I ordered the vegetable couscous, omelet, vegetable tagine, and salad sampler. I personally enjoyed the salads and the vegetable tagine, however the order of vegetable couscous was overkill - it was a LOT of food. Regardless, it was very fresh. In fact, you have to request to have dinner a day in advance so that they can make the preparations (i.e. the food isn't sitting there getting old until someone orders it).

Next, we tried the hammam. Admittedly, I do not have the hammam experience to relax. I go to get virtually beaten up by the hammam attendant's glove, and that is exactly what I got. A genuine, non-diluted for tourists hammam. There was nothing glamorous about it, and I wouldn't have had it any other way. We sat in the hammam on the warm floor for about five minutes, then were slathered with oil. The cheerful attendant scrubbed us down (front, back sides, and gently on the face) the right way as there were rolls of dead skin sliding off our body. Then we were rinsed and covered in ghassoul (henna mixed with herbs) which she asked us to rub into our skin for a little extra exfoliation and we sat there and let it seep in as a mask for about five minutes. Then, she washed our hair and sent us on our way in a comfy robe and slippers. She also let us keep our glove as a souvenir.

I tried the massage next, and my husband did not. Well, the masseuse wasn't exactly a masseuse. She was more of a "let-me-moisturize-your-skin-with-this-oil-as-i-do-a-few-random-massage-esque-moves." As sweet as she was, I have to be fair. Your average Joe could have done a better job. It was pretty mediocre.

Lastly, as far as people claiming that the area isn't safe, I think you may have been watching too much TV. I made many walks from Jemaa el Fna alone back to the riad during the day and at night without anything worse than what I would have encountered in the States. Perhaps it was because I dressed semi-conservatively and look Moroccan, I don't know. I do know that I felt safer down these streets than a lot of other places at night (in the US). You just have to ignore men's attempts to get your attention as funny as they may be and walk like you know where you're going. If you get lost, go into a store and ask someone with a job.

Anyway, I'd definitely come back and hope you travelers give it a shot! You may want to sleep with some earbuds in case Adhan (call to prayer) wakes you up at the butt-crack of dawn but it's actually pretty lovely.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Riad Al Jazira, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you so much Iman for your lovely review.We are really pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in the Riad.we propose for our customers to experience a set of different services either it concerns cuisine our spa or others.We are looking forward to meet you next time.Hamid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    52
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
21
91
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

At first it was a bit worrying heading up small lanes going deeper into the unknown but once done it was fine. Like many riads within the walls you have to leave the car, brave the bikers and walk. This riad is well located as it's nice and quite. No traffic noise and the nearest mosque is not so close. Easy walking to nice local restaurants. The main square is some 20 mins away. We got picked up and taken back. The room was good and we had breakfast in the sun on the roof. Very helpful staff. As a mid range sort of place budget wise worth considering.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Riad Al Jazira, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions infiniment pour votre commentaire.Nous somme très heureux que vous avez admirez notre Riad et nous espérons vous accueillir lors de votre prochaine visite a Marrakech.Hamid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My partner and I are stayed in this riad for two nights before we started our trip to the Atlas Mountains. It was warm, clean and comfortable. The staff were always helpful and were always willing to change and move things around for us.
The food was traditionally Moroccan which was great, a lovely tagine and a fresh breakfast made this a lovely stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Riad Al Jazira, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions beaucoup Mme Laura pour votre commentaire.Nous somme toujours prêt a faire déguster nous clients les bons plat marocain.dans l’attente de vous accueillir lors de votre prochain visite a MARRKECH.Hamid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Booked this hotel on the flight on the way out there!

Staff and setting were lovely. The staff were especially helpful with the local area and getting around. Hotel was very clean and a beautiful oasis in the chaos of Marrakesh! Sadly we were only there for a night but it was a really nice night.

No TV in room but we wasn't there for that.

A sure recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Manager at Riad Al Jazira, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
First of all we thank you for chosing our Riad to spend your holiday in Marrakech.we thank as well you for your review.Our staff are always at your disposal and feel happy to give a good servicve for our costomers.
We all loking forward to welcoming you among us for your next visit to Marrakech.Hamid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed at Riad Al Jazira for 3 nights in Feb 2014, and was not disappointed. Marrakesh can be very hustle bustle, but this Riad offers you a unique peaceful getaway once you step inside.

Beautifully restored, we found it to be clean, with our room tidied everyday, and towels changed daily. Our room had a standard AC unit which helps as it can get a little chilly during winter seasons. At night it is very peaceful, with hardly any noise within the riad (mostly couples staying), and even less coming from outside. The only sound you'll hear is the dawn call to prayer around 6am, but its not too bad as the nearest mosque is a few blocks away.

The riad is slightly tucked away in the alleyways, but at no point did we feel threatened or scared for our safety. Some council estates in the UK are far more scary! Once you've ventured out a couple of times, its easy to familiarise yourself with the neighborhood.

On one occasion we did get lost walking back, on our first night out, but one of the local kids walked us back, and we gave him a £2 tip. Its always worth remembering that everything is open to negotiation. They may ask for generous tips, but slash off 80% and you're still being generous. Be firm, and polite with a smile, and you'll be ok. I always find if you can make them laugh or smile... you've won the battle, and can get away with paying on your terms, be it in the shops or anywhere else.

The main Jamaa El Fna square is roughly 15 mins walk away, or a 4-5 min cab ride and we paid no more than 50 Dhirams for a ride back to the riad.

We emailed the Riad before arriving to arrange our transfers which cost €15 each way. We were picked up in a nice clean space cruiser, and our driver Hafi was polite & non intrusive. He pointed out some landmarks along the way, and was happy to make suggestions for places to visit.

At the riad, the service from Hamid (during the day) & Umar (evenings) who both run reception, was polite & attentive. They we very helpful in suggesting restaurants, excursions & booking spa sessions outside of the hotel. Khalid who attends to the guests, was always keen to see to our needs, bringing us breakfast to our room everyday, and carrying lunch up to the roof terrace!

I'd highly recommend staying at this riad, simply because of the warm welcome from the staff, and their polite nature.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Manager at Riad Al Jazira, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
We thank you so much for your review, we are very happy that you appreciate you staying among us. As you know the medina is somehow difficult especially if it is the first time in the Medina.The difficulty of its old streets and alleyways makes it a very charm city. All the staff of the riad are happy to make your stay in Marrakech as wonderful as possible.
All the riad's staff are looking forward to welcome you again among us.
Hamid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We booked into this lovely riad on the back of its great reviews on trip advisor! However we checked out immediately after we had checked in. Please note that this place is beautiful and the manager in charge is lovely and has a real passion for his job, but, my girlfriend and i just felt that it was not for us for a couple of reasons! The area the riad is in (north) is not the safest of places and the facilities are limited however this is a riad and that is what you expect of riad! If a riad is your thing then go here! It is beautifully clean and the staff are lovely, it just wasn't for us! We subsequently check into a resort outside of the city and then la mamounia!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My fiancee and I spent six wonderful nights here. We arrived from a horrendous journey, ending with our first experience of the hair raising marrakech transport. Upon arrival through the hobbit-like alleyway, escorted by the excellent Hamed, we entered the Riad to an atmosphere of complete tranquility, juxtapositioned by the crazy medina side streets. Marrakech is a wonderful destination with some memorable experiences which were enhance by this calming base. We especially enjoyed the excellent service of both Khamed and Khaled (i am sure i have spelt their names wrong). They did go out of there way to make us feel at home. The only reason that i haven't given the Riad a perfect score is the door system, while beautifully authentic, is old and disturbing to anyone who is a light sleeper. That said the overall experience was very positive and i would definitely recommended this riad, especially the lamb tagine which was the best we had in Morrocco.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Jazira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Jazira

Address: 7, Derb Mayara | Sidi Ben Sliman, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #403 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Jazira 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 spotless, blisteringly white guestrooms are hidden behind heavy wooden doors and layers of linen drapes. Airy central covered courtyards have comfy seating areas: red rugs on golden brick floors, leafy palms over wooden chaises and – spectacularly – a colonnaded swimming pool in a setting reminiscent of great Carthage. Colourful accents are provided by red or purple cushions and kilims, and artfully arranged rose petals. We like this riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Al Jazira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Jazira Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Jazira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.