We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, simple & very peaceful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Jazira

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Jazira to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Al Jazira
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   7, Derb Mayara | Sidi Ben Sliman, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #365 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, simple & very peaceful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed at Riad Al Jazira for 3 nights in Feb 2014, and was not disappointed. Marrakesh can be very hustle bustle, but this Riad offers you a unique peaceful getaway once you step inside.

Beautifully restored, we found it to be clean, with our room tidied everyday, and towels changed daily. Our room had a standard AC unit which helps as it can get a little chilly during winter seasons. At night it is very peaceful, with hardly any noise within the riad (mostly couples staying), and even less coming from outside. The only sound you'll hear is the dawn call to prayer around 6am, but its not too bad as the nearest mosque is a few blocks away.

The riad is slightly tucked away in the alleyways, but at no point did we feel threatened or scared for our safety. Some council estates in the UK are far more scary! Once you've ventured out a couple of times, its easy to familiarise yourself with the neighborhood.

On one occasion we did get lost walking back, on our first night out, but one of the local kids walked us back, and we gave him a £2 tip. Its always worth remembering that everything is open to negotiation. They may ask for generous tips, but slash off 80% and you're still being generous. Be firm, and polite with a smile, and you'll be ok. I always find if you can make them laugh or smile... you've won the battle, and can get away with paying on your terms, be it in the shops or anywhere else.

The main Jamaa El Fna square is roughly 15 mins walk away, or a 4-5 min cab ride and we paid no more than 50 Dhirams for a ride back to the riad.

We emailed the Riad before arriving to arrange our transfers which cost €15 each way. We were picked up in a nice clean space cruiser, and our driver Hafi was polite & non intrusive. He pointed out some landmarks along the way, and was happy to make suggestions for places to visit.

At the riad, the service from Hamid (during the day) & Umar (evenings) who both run reception, was polite & attentive. They we very helpful in suggesting restaurants, excursions & booking spa sessions outside of the hotel. Khalid who attends to the guests, was always keen to see to our needs, bringing us breakfast to our room everyday, and carrying lunch up to the roof terrace!

I'd highly recommend staying at this riad, simply because of the warm welcome from the staff, and their polite nature.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Manager at Riad Al Jazira, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
We thank you so much for your review, we are very happy that you appreciate you staying among us. As you know the medina is somehow difficult especially if it is the first time in the Medina.The difficulty of its old streets and alleyways makes it a very charm city. All the staff of the riad are happy to make your stay in Marrakech as wonderful as possible.
All the riad's staff are looking forward to welcome you again among us.
Hamid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    48
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
21
82
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We booked into this lovely riad on the back of its great reviews on trip advisor! However we checked out immediately after we had checked in. Please note that this place is beautiful and the manager in charge is lovely and has a real passion for his job, but, my girlfriend and i just felt that it was not for us for a couple of reasons! The area the riad is in (north) is not the safest of places and the facilities are limited however this is a riad and that is what you expect of riad! If a riad is your thing then go here! It is beautifully clean and the staff are lovely, it just wasn't for us! We subsequently check into a resort outside of the city and then la mamounia!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My fiancee and I spent six wonderful nights here. We arrived from a horrendous journey, ending with our first experience of the hair raising marrakech transport. Upon arrival through the hobbit-like alleyway, escorted by the excellent Hamed, we entered the Riad to an atmosphere of complete tranquility, juxtapositioned by the crazy medina side streets. Marrakech is a wonderful destination with some memorable experiences which were enhance by this calming base. We especially enjoyed the excellent service of both Khamed and Khaled (i am sure i have spelt their names wrong). They did go out of there way to make us feel at home. The only reason that i haven't given the Riad a perfect score is the door system, while beautifully authentic, is old and disturbing to anyone who is a light sleeper. That said the overall experience was very positive and i would definitely recommended this riad, especially the lamb tagine which was the best we had in Morrocco.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Riad Al Jazira is a great authentic Riad in the heart of the Medina. This was our first time in Morocco and I wanted to get the real feel of this city. My only recommendation is not to stay there if you have small children. I didn't feel so safe walking outside of the Riad, and would have stayed at the Four Seasons Hotel. There is a lot of haggling, and everyone wants money for helping you. Not to mention that this place is like a maze and impossible to find. We were totally lost with my girls in tow and they wanted 20 euros to walk us 5 blocks through the maze of the medina to our hotel.
The rooms are very clean, comfortable and the Riad is beautiful. Loved the mint tea- sugar is added so make sure to say no sugar if you don't like sugar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svendborg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My son and his wife both work for the UN like I did myself,and their lonely marriage down in Liberia last year needed a family follow up reunion.So we were some 80 people from all over assembled there last weekend for an awesome fiesta.The sundown rooftop cocktail party, the services as well as food and drink was overwhelming,as is the included breakfast and ordered food.
The rooms are impeccably clean and comfortable and everything works,but having the even colder winternights to come in mind,I suspect that the split type air con. units may not be able to cope(they may have added solutions of course)-especially as there are no window panes,only traditionel arab light openings-which leads me to the only complaint I could think of:
namely the very noisy staff-from very early on competing with some birds with extremely shrill voices-the latter maybe being harder to muffle.
But Marrakesh is surely worth a voyage and I can recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Take rather a room to the poolside than towards the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

This delightful small Riad is well decorated and furnished in traditional style. The bedrooms are small but comfortable and most are around one of the courtyards. Fabulous views of sunsets from the roof. Breakfasts are very good and the staff are really friendly and helpful. You need a guide to find this place as it is tucked away down one of the many alleys, but it is well worth the few minutes walk dragging your suitcase from the nearest place the taxi can stop!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I think the proviso here is that this is a clean, stylish Riad for the price. It has everything you need, and once you get your bearings, its in a good position and is a haven of tranquillity from the chaos outside. There are better, more glamorous places to stay but if you're on a budget this is the one. Our only disappointment was the dinner which was not good and expensive and in a rather soulless setting, so I would advise eating out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Jazira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Jazira

Address: 7, Derb Mayara | Sidi Ben Sliman, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #365 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Jazira 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 spotless, blisteringly white guestrooms are hidden behind heavy wooden doors and layers of linen drapes. Airy central covered courtyards have comfy seating areas: red rugs on golden brick floors, leafy palms over wooden chaises and – spectacularly – a colonnaded swimming pool in a setting reminiscent of great Carthage. Colourful accents are provided by red or purple cushions and kilims, and artfully arranged rose petals. We like this riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Al Jazira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Jazira Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Jazira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.