We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of tranquility from Marrakesh Madness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Jazira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Jazira to your Saves list
Riad Al Jazira
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   7, Derb Mayara | Sidi Ben Sliman, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #385 of 1,092 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oasis of tranquility from Marrakesh Madness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My fiancee and I spent six wonderful nights here. We arrived from a horrendous journey, ending with our first experience of the hair raising marrakech transport. Upon arrival through the hobbit-like alleyway, escorted by the excellent Hamed, we entered the Riad to an atmosphere of complete tranquility, juxtapositioned by the crazy medina side streets. Marrakech is a wonderful destination with some memorable experiences which were enhance by this calming base. We especially enjoyed the excellent service of both Khamed and Khaled (i am sure i have spelt their names wrong). They did go out of there way to make us feel at home. The only reason that i haven't given the Riad a perfect score is the door system, while beautifully authentic, is old and disturbing to anyone who is a light sleeper. That said the overall experience was very positive and i would definitely recommended this riad, especially the lamb tagine which was the best we had in Morrocco.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    53
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
21
93
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Riad Al Jazira is a great authentic Riad in the heart of the Medina. This was our first time in Morocco and I wanted to get the real feel of this city. My only recommendation is not to stay there if you have small children. I didn't feel so safe walking outside of the Riad, and would have stayed at the Four Seasons Hotel. There is a lot of haggling, and everyone wants money for helping you. Not to mention that this place is like a maze and impossible to find. We were totally lost with my girls in tow and they wanted 20 euros to walk us 5 blocks through the maze of the medina to our hotel.
The rooms are very clean, comfortable and the Riad is beautiful. Loved the mint tea- sugar is added so make sure to say no sugar if you don't like sugar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svendborg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My son and his wife both work for the UN like I did myself,and their lonely marriage down in Liberia last year needed a family follow up reunion.So we were some 80 people from all over assembled there last weekend for an awesome fiesta.The sundown rooftop cocktail party, the services as well as food and drink was overwhelming,as is the included breakfast and ordered food.
The rooms are impeccably clean and comfortable and everything works,but having the even colder winternights to come in mind,I suspect that the split type air con. units may not be able to cope(they may have added solutions of course)-especially as there are no window panes,only traditionel arab light openings-which leads me to the only complaint I could think of:
namely the very noisy staff-from very early on competing with some birds with extremely shrill voices-the latter maybe being harder to muffle.
But Marrakesh is surely worth a voyage and I can recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Take rather a room to the poolside than towards the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

This delightful small Riad is well decorated and furnished in traditional style. The bedrooms are small but comfortable and most are around one of the courtyards. Fabulous views of sunsets from the roof. Breakfasts are very good and the staff are really friendly and helpful. You need a guide to find this place as it is tucked away down one of the many alleys, but it is well worth the few minutes walk dragging your suitcase from the nearest place the taxi can stop!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I think the proviso here is that this is a clean, stylish Riad for the price. It has everything you need, and once you get your bearings, its in a good position and is a haven of tranquillity from the chaos outside. There are better, more glamorous places to stay but if you're on a budget this is the one. Our only disappointment was the dinner which was not good and expensive and in a rather soulless setting, so I would advise eating out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The riad is beautiful, with great breakfast and nice people. Very good value for money.

The service could be better, but they were all very kind and helpful. Our room was very good but in the morning a little bit noisy because of the breakfasts and the swimming water running.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
würzburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had an awesome stay in Riad Al Jazeira in November 2013.
This is a small and very nice riad located in the middle of the heart of Marrakesh.
An oasis of silence out of the hectic and fast city-life of this big and beautiful city at Marocco.
It is well located, very calm, to "la place" you have to walk about 15 min. but easy to find and it is perfect to
see and feel the real life in the streets of marrakesh.
The staff and people around there are very very friendly and at this place you can explore
the real marrocian life at its best.
And thanks to Khalid, he served the breakfast and even learned us some arabic words and was
always there for us. The man at the reception Hamid organzied a nice trip to the atlas mountain
and the women at hamam and massage they made our stay really perfect.
This nice place is also recommended at the very famous magazin GEO, this is how we heard about
this place. "...pool with filmset-quality and a very large rooftop for a whole croud of people..." - this is really true.
We really want to come back to enjoy some days again at this oriental paradise.
Thanks a lot, Felix and Fina

Room Tip: The room number 13 is surley one of the best. The sun wakes you up in the morning and the colors and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Jazira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Jazira

Address: 7, Derb Mayara | Sidi Ben Sliman, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #385 of 1,092 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Jazira 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 spotless, blisteringly white guestrooms are hidden behind heavy wooden doors and layers of linen drapes. Airy central covered courtyards have comfy seating areas: red rugs on golden brick floors, leafy palms over wooden chaises and – spectacularly – a colonnaded swimming pool in a setting reminiscent of great Carthage. Colourful accents are provided by red or purple cushions and kilims, and artfully arranged rose petals. We like this riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Al Jazira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Jazira Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Jazira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.