We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Riad off the beaten track.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Jazira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Jazira to your Saves list
Riad Al Jazira
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7, Derb Mayara | Sidi Ben Sliman, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Charming Riad off the beaten track.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

This delightful small Riad is well decorated and furnished in traditional style. The bedrooms are small but comfortable and most are around one of the courtyards. Fabulous views of sunsets from the roof. Breakfasts are very good and the staff are really friendly and helpful. You need a guide to find this place as it is tucked away down one of the many alleys, but it is well worth the few minutes walk dragging your suitcase from the nearest place the taxi can stop!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    58
    11
    2
    8
See reviews for
25
101
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I think the proviso here is that this is a clean, stylish Riad for the price. It has everything you need, and once you get your bearings, its in a good position and is a haven of tranquillity from the chaos outside. There are better, more glamorous places to stay but if you're on a budget this is the one. Our only disappointment was the dinner which was not good and expensive and in a rather soulless setting, so I would advise eating out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The riad is beautiful, with great breakfast and nice people. Very good value for money.

The service could be better, but they were all very kind and helpful. Our room was very good but in the morning a little bit noisy because of the breakfasts and the swimming water running.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
würzburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had an awesome stay in Riad Al Jazeira in November 2013.
This is a small and very nice riad located in the middle of the heart of Marrakesh.
An oasis of silence out of the hectic and fast city-life of this big and beautiful city at Marocco.
It is well located, very calm, to "la place" you have to walk about 15 min. but easy to find and it is perfect to
see and feel the real life in the streets of marrakesh.
The staff and people around there are very very friendly and at this place you can explore
the real marrocian life at its best.
And thanks to Khalid, he served the breakfast and even learned us some arabic words and was
always there for us. The man at the reception Hamid organzied a nice trip to the atlas mountain
and the women at hamam and massage they made our stay really perfect.
This nice place is also recommended at the very famous magazin GEO, this is how we heard about
this place. "...pool with filmset-quality and a very large rooftop for a whole croud of people..." - this is really true.
We really want to come back to enjoy some days again at this oriental paradise.
Thanks a lot, Felix and Fina

Room Tip: The room number 13 is surley one of the best. The sun wakes you up in the morning and the colors and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

A beautiful classic Riad in the Northern Medina. Tucked away but only about 15 minutes stroll from the main square once you've worked out how to find your way round. Very traditional, spotlessly clean. The place itself is fantastic but it's the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff that makes it so special. From a great evening meal to freshly squeezed orange juice on the roof terrace everything is possible and nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: We had a 'prestige' room on the first floor which was spacious, cool and comfortable - well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel was lovely! A Riad (converted large house into a hotel) was lovely. It had 2 main areas where you can just sit and relax. One by a pool(its freezing in the pool!) and one by a small puddle with rose petals filling it.
There is a roof terrace which was lovely, you get a great view of most of the city above ground level, you can see mosques, and local rooftops.
The only thing that let it down for me was the food service in the morning. The bloke had no idea what he was doing, was very forgetful, forgetting trays, dishes, and anything extra you asked for. On the last day i asked for coffee with breakfast, he took the flasks off another table and dumped it on ours, didnt even ask if the other table had finished with the coffee!
Oh and the other thing, dont do anything 'loud' in the rooms, everyone will hear you!

Room Tip: No TV's, but i believe all have much needed air-con!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpfull, the rooms are beautiful and the breakfast good. It's a place of tranquility, with relaxing and feel-good vibes and we felt really comfortable during our one week stay. Especially Khalid is an angel, always helpful and trying to enrichen your stay with tips and recommendations.
It may be the only hotel we know in Marrakech but we do not have any reason to look for a different one.
Highly recommended.

HINT: As every other hotel in the narrow, twistet alleyways around the souks it's almost impossible to find on your own. Just call ahead and the staff of the hotel will be happy to pick you up.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Al Jazira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Jazira

Address: 7, Derb Mayara | Sidi Ben Sliman, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#74 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Jazira 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 spotless, blisteringly white guestrooms are hidden behind heavy wooden doors and layers of linen drapes. Airy central covered courtyards have comfy seating areas: red rugs on golden brick floors, leafy palms over wooden chaises and – spectacularly – a colonnaded swimming pool in a setting reminiscent of great Carthage. Colourful accents are provided by red or purple cushions and kilims, and artfully arranged rose petals. We like this riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Al Jazira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Jazira Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Jazira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.