We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Jazira

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Jazira to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Al Jazira
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   7, Derb Mayara | Sidi Ben Sliman, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #365 of 1,037 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpfull, the rooms are beautiful and the breakfast good. It's a place of tranquility, with relaxing and feel-good vibes and we felt really comfortable during our one week stay. Especially Khalid is an angel, always helpful and trying to enrichen your stay with tips and recommendations.
It may be the only hotel we know in Marrakech but we do not have any reason to look for a different one.
Highly recommended.

HINT: As every other hotel in the narrow, twistet alleyways around the souks it's almost impossible to find on your own. Just call ahead and the staff of the hotel will be happy to pick you up.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    47
    11
    2
    9
See reviews for
20
79
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have traveled Morocco for couple of weeks and this place has definitely exceeded all our expectations! The architecture of this Riad is amazing, clean, quiet and spacious. The best part of it is the staff, you will not find more helpful, kind staff anywhere! At the arrival we were welcomed with big smiles and hot tea...the next morning with morning hugs, we fell in love Hanane who made sure to make our stay truly the best ever. The meals were beautifully prepared and served by the pool, heaven :) Hanane walked us through the streets to taxi and the market so we don't get lost. The whole place is immaculate and everything functions well, beds are great. We were taken for a tour of all the rooms and they are all so amazing. We loved this place and will stay again when we visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Guest Relations Manager at Riad Al Jazira, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
so gratifying to read your fantastic review! it' was a plaisir taking care of you. hope to see you in the futur, best greetings from hannan and her staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I recently had the good fortune to revisit Morocco – this time Marrakech (last time Essaouira). On the recommendation of a friend I chose to stay in a riad in the Northern part of the medina, managed by a Moroccan company called Marrakech Riads (www.marrakech-riads.com);

Wending my way down narrow alleys with cobbled stone and low-hung beamed arches, I finally arrived at the door of “Al Jazira,” to be welcomed by a smiling young man who then led me into the first of three courtyards in this beautifully elegant yet pure and simple riad.
Before retiring to my equally elegant and tranquil room I benefitted from the table d’hôte service and to my surprise was served dinner for two (I was not alone!) in the principal and largest courtyard, which I can only describe as akin to Greco-Roman splendour.

This courtyard is of palatial proportions with a raised dais overlooking the inviting aquamarine water of the plunge pool below, the perimeter walls furnished the entire length with sofas and cushions for true Pasha lounging.

It was upon this dais at a candlelit and rose-petalled table that my partner and I sat with wine glass in hand, feeling not like the King and Queen of some quotidien earthly country but rather Emperor & Empress of the universe!, so “grand” was the feeling of this simple yet voluminous and noble space; with the night-sky casting its benevolent and balmy warmth above us.
Yes folks, we were in heaven and continued to feel so for the remainder of our stay.

Hardly surprising that we decided to sample two other offerings of this company; Dar Cherifa – Café Littéraire/Gallery and lunch-time restaurant in the heart of the Medina; and for evening dinner “Dar Zellij” restaurant, a stone’s throw from the riad and continuing the simple yet epicurean taste in both décor and cuisine.

Dar cherifa is one of the oldest residences in the medina, dating back to the 16th century, with an unsurpassable ambiance of luminous peace and serenity. We ate a delightful lunch of delicately spiced Moroccan salads followed by an absolutely “scrumptious” desert of fruit-filled briouates (crispy filo-like pastry) with the proverbial but refreshing mint tea.

We then whiled away an undisturbed hour on the sun-kissed roof-top terrace with our current “read” before heading off to the turbulence of the souk. To assuage the inevitable effects of an afternoon of baiting, bartering and bantering we showered off back at the riad, dipped in the plunge pool, dressed to the nines and headed for dinner at Dar Zellij - within rolling distance should we have had one glass too many of champagne!

I will cut to the quick here and unequivocally state that we passed a thoroughly memorable evening; with flawless service and cuisine amidst a refined yet unpretentious and relaxed ambience in yet another splendid and lovingly restored example of Marrakech’s fine architectural heritage!

Mabrouk (congratulations in Arabic) to the Patron “Abdellatif Aît Ben Abdallah” for both the vision and commitment to seeing his dream through!
I have to confess to having eaten here a second time with a French friend of mine who turned to me half-way through dinner to say “pinch me, I need to check I’m not dreaming!”
What more can I say?

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Guest Relations Manager at Riad Al Jazira, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
What a lovely review, so gratifying to read your fantastic review, you don't forget anything, thank you very much. Abdelatif is very happy about this, the dinner with you in Dar Zellij was a plaisir for him, we hope that you had a wonderful time in Essaouira. we will be happy to see you again in the futur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I could not have asked for more as this peaceful luxury riad sits like a hidden gem deep in the Medina madness, and so offers each guest the perfect base to relax and enjoy everything the city has to offer while gifting you a sanctuary to unwind in, just moments away from the crowds. The staff went out of their at every turn to accomodate whatever we wanted including looking after some clothes I left behind and taking such great care of them. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone. Great food, wonderful staff, and fabulous rooftop to spend time relaxing on and all hidden away in peace next to the colourful rat race of the Medina.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This riad was recommended by a friend and we were not disappointed. Don't be fooled by the long, dark alleyway that leads to this riad. Once you open the ominous door, there is a delightful, authentic riad. The staff are very attentive and the food is outstanding! Try the soups and vegetable dishes. Hamid, the manager, was very helpful and resourceful at all times. He recommended two superb tour guides who showed us all around the medina, giving us great historical information. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pistoia, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

After a difficult start (in fact we had a reservation for another riad) we gathered at the dar al Jazeera ... we were hesitant but given the discomfort made ​​us choose the room we preferred ... as most of the riad is hidden but once you learn the way becomes easy ... the riad is beautiful and fragrant, clean rooms and all morning waiting for us a 'good breakfast ... unfortunately the weather did not allow us to take advantage of the terrace and the pool .. . were blown away ...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were treated like the most favorite relations of Hamid, who literally did everything for us. He always had a welcoming smile, was patient with our thousand questions and waited on us hand and foot. We felt so peaceful and relaxed that we decided not to leave for dinner and had our evening meals every night in the beautiful courtyard of the riad. The food was amazing and so was the hammam and massage! They also arranged our airport transfer and tour guide and driver. Complete service with a smile. I highly recommend this riad!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Al Jazira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Jazira

Address: 7, Derb Mayara | Sidi Ben Sliman, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #365 of 1,037 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Jazira 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 spotless, blisteringly white guestrooms are hidden behind heavy wooden doors and layers of linen drapes. Airy central covered courtyards have comfy seating areas: red rugs on golden brick floors, leafy palms over wooden chaises and – spectacularly – a colonnaded swimming pool in a setting reminiscent of great Carthage. Colourful accents are provided by red or purple cushions and kilims, and artfully arranged rose petals. We like this riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Al Jazira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Jazira Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Jazira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.