We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - what a hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Jazira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Jazira to your Saves list
Riad Al Jazira
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   7, Derb Mayara | Sidi Ben Sliman, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #371 of 1,123 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow - what a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

You would never find this place if you wandered around but duck down an alleyway and pop through a small wooden door and a calm oasis of style and elegance awaits you. The staff are lovely and very helpful, the place is really stylishly decorated and you are made welcome as soon as you arrive.

I can't recommend this Riad more highly and their own website doesn't do them any justice. Five stars!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    57
    11
    2
    8
See reviews for
25
98
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I was traveling to Marrakesh for a business trip and a few co-workers of mine decided to go a few days early. The Riad was very cozy and inviting. The staff was very plesant and welcoming.The rooftop has a nice view of the city and amazingly it was very quiet. A good place to relax and watch the sunset over this ancient city. A warning the Riad is really hard to find, and we finally did figure it out by the last night. There are no street signs and the Riad is down this tunnel sort of walkway (it's a little strange at first). It's far from the Jamma El Fna Square, but you can easily walk to it in about 15 minutes. I think if I go back I would stay closer to the square where there is a little more action, however if you are looking to be out of the tourist areas this is your place!

Room Tip: I would ask to stay on the second floor. The rooms face an open area and everyone can hear everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I visited Marrakesh with some friends in November. We didn't really know what to expect, having never visited Morocco. This riad was a pleasant surprise. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great and our rooms were beautiful. The whole experience was very pleasant and the person at the front desk went above and beyond to make sure our stay was enjoyable. He even helped us to book a visit to the mountains (which was our favorite part of Morocco). I definitely would recommend this riad to anyone that is visiting Marrakesh. It was good value for the money and located in a safe area, a short walk from the markets.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Returning to the Riad Al Jazira and its loveliness and quiet took me a few days to get accustomed to. Hamid Houssa was there to greet us and give us mint tea that I came home to the states and am making today. The white of the riad was soothing to the noise and the chaos of the city. The rooms are lovely and inviting. I wish I were still in Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

after a 5 min walk and a little un nerving alleyway (that we came to love) a medium sized door was opened (mind your head) and we entered paradise!

We were met by a tall, charming man called Jalid, who showed us through to the pool area and then brought us some wonderful tea.
after filling in the initial document of registration he took us to our room (he had already taken our cases there!)
He showed us around the Riad and made jokes and was very humurous! he gave us maps of the city and circled where exactly we were, the address EVERYTHING! even down to the nearest supermarket in case we wanted some other things (alcochol) ((not sold or supplied in this Riad))
We went out for a walk and found the staff were changing over for the night and yet another very cute and charming guy called Hamid was working nights. He, just like Jalid was humourous and wonderful (a cute cheeky smile too!)
Breakfast was included and was very very good, and we could order more coffee, juice etc (anytime of day or night (at a small charge)
there are a few small shops nearby, one as you walk up the street sells bags and scarves (made in the shop, they have a machine (wooded and pedal operated) at the back (very small shop) the young guys there are cheeky cute, very helpful and very funny! and after some "bartering" with smiles you can get good prices!
Marrakesh in general was amazing! and we will definitely be returning again and again!

Room Tip: room 13 or room 3 or the room next to the lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed in the Riad for 4 nights. It is a very clean and comfortable place with nice decoration in morrocan style. We stayed in a little room with a clean bathroom and air conditioning (very useful!). The room was spotless and nice. There are also patios and terrace spots were you can relax and hang out.
The staff is very friendly, the breakfast is good.
The Riad is slightly outside of the touristy centre and at first hard to find. Yet the tourist areas are all in walking distance.
It is a perfect place to get away from the busy and loud streets and places of Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

At first glance you do not believe that in the narrow, old gate in the midst of the Medina you will find this beautifull, small hotel totally renovated. We stayed there for a week and were very pleased with the entire setting, the room and in particular the service and the friendliness of the staff. We hope to return to Marrakech again and if so, we will certainly
Stay at Riad Al Jazira

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Jazira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Jazira

Address: 7, Derb Mayara | Sidi Ben Sliman, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #371 of 1,123 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Jazira 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 spotless, blisteringly white guestrooms are hidden behind heavy wooden doors and layers of linen drapes. Airy central covered courtyards have comfy seating areas: red rugs on golden brick floors, leafy palms over wooden chaises and – spectacularly – a colonnaded swimming pool in a setting reminiscent of great Carthage. Colourful accents are provided by red or purple cushions and kilims, and artfully arranged rose petals. We like this riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Riad Al Jazira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Jazira Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Jazira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.