We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When I say it is a hidden gem - I mean it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tibibt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Tibibt to your Saves list
Riad Tibibt
Derb Lalla Azzouna 39 | Medersa Ben Youssef, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #180 of 1,120 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Victoria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“When I say it is a hidden gem - I mean it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

As my sister and I explored the bustling, little, winding alleyways of Marrakech we were quite tired by the time we arrived at the little door that opened to the Riad. You will not expect what you see behind that little brown door. A gorgeous getaway, full of colour, vibrance and Thierry (the owner's) prized orange tree. From the tiny, charismatic Tibibts, down to the lovely rooms, the entire experience that my sister and I shared in Riad Tibibt was absolutely wonderful. Thierry was awfully kind and helped us out so much, Hassan was lovely and friendly, always asking us how we were, and the chef and Fatima were both lovely too. It was brilliant to wake up to such service and to eat breakfast on the rooftop where the sun shone in our faces. Breakfast is a MUST at the hotel, and the one time we dined in and had dinner, my sister proclaimed that the chicken tagine was the best chicken she had ever consumed. The rooms are absolutely magnificent, words cannot describe the lush colours and comfort, I felt like a princess. The Riad was not busy at all either and you can have your own privacy, unlike in large hotels. Waking up to the sounds of the chanting emitted from the mosque and the chirping of the Tibibts was a bonus. You'd be out of your mind to say no to Riad Tibibt and to miss out on such an opportunity.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    30
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
50
182
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

My sister and I have just returned from a wonderful trip to Marrakech - with a lot of thanks going to Thierry and Hassan (the owners of Riad Tibibt).

This is a wonderful Riad tucked away in the heart of the Medina...If you want a place to feel like home then look no further (trust me...a place like home is exactly what you crave for after a jam-packed and action filled day in Marrakech).

The riad is tastefully decorated and has a lot of character. The beds are comfortable and each of the rooms are decorated in unique, authentic and 'Moroccan' ways. The breakfast is simple yet delicious and is served on good days upstairs on a gorgeous sun-filled terrace. We had dinner one night and it was simply yum yum yum!

The owners, Thierry and Hassan go above and beyond what normal hotels would do when it comes to keeping their guests happy. It is a mix of service, care and friendship which makes them stand out from the rest. Thierry gave us great advice about what to do during our 4 night visit to Morocco, making sure that we were comfortable and well entertained the entire time. We went shopping, took a trip to Ourika valley, spent a few hours relaxing at a hammam and even went to a very classy restaurant - all tips given to us by Thierry.

Thierry also arranged a taxi service to pick us up and drop us off at the airport. The riad is nearly impossible to find on your first day so having a pre-organised guide is definitely worth it.

All in all, my sister and I give 4 thumbs up for this wonderful Riad. If you are reading this comment then look no further - you have found the place you have been looking for.

To Thierry and Hasan - "Merci and see you next time"

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

We stayed in Riad Tibibt for two nights at the beginning of February 2011. The owners, Thierry and Hassan were both very helpful to us from the moment we made our reservation, in particular helping us with arrival details and the location of the riad (we were arriving following an excursion out of the city).

The riad is beautifully decorated and is a relaxing retreat from the buzz of the medina streets. Although Thierry and Hassan were not there on the first night of our stay, the other member of staff was extremely helpful to us and even showed us the best route into the main square the following day.

We had a lovely dinner at the riad followed by breakfast on the sun soaked terrace the next morning (incidentially we stayed at two riads whilst in Marrakech and Tibibt had the better breakfast by far). Thierry and Hassan were very welcoming to us and were keen to ensure that we were well taken care of.

We will definately be coming back to this riad on our return to Marrakech. Go and see it for yourself!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

My boyfriend and I had a lovely stay at Riad Tibibt back in December 2009. I am sorry it took so long to write this review, it is absolutely well deserved,
This wonderful Riad is hidden in the heart of the old town and very well kept.
The rooms are splendid and they all spotless clean - an amazing good value for money, even the smaller room is huge!...and we did fall in love with the maroccan bathroom!
What a lovely breakfast we had on the terrace together with some of the cutes little tibibts I have ever seen!
Thank you Fatima for making our stay even more special, with your kindess and your polite smile.
Au revoir!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

is not like home ,i think is better....the 2 guys there was really fantastics!!!!
nice atmosfere nice quality nice hospitality of course i will go there again and again

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Riad Tibibt is the kind of place you would like to keep as your own secret, you know not tell even your closest friends so that you could visit Marrakesh whenever you wanted and know that you didn’t have to look for a place to stay but could just return to your own private place. I’ve traveled extensively, and always hear, “feel as if it’s your own home” but this is the first time that I actually felt it was my own home, which is strange since outside the riad you are thrown completely back into the 1700s. I haven’t found many people like Thierry and Hassan so incredibly easy and enjoyable to be around and I am thinking maybe that’s why our stay was so amazing. But then there is also the rooms and the amazing food (best we had in the entire country by far). My suggestion is if you are looking for a place in Marrakesh, send Thierry an email and see what comes back. I knew immediately that this is where I wanted to stay and so I asked him to help us travel deeper into the country without any tourist feel and he put together an amazing trip….but that is another story.

I will be returning to my home in Marrakesh whenever the need shall arise and look forward to spending time with my new friends there. And while I’d really like to sit on this jewel, it would be selfish and so I share with you this really great place run by really great people. No, really really great people.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Recently returned from a fantastic winter break at Riad Tibibt. The Riad is located conveniently in the heart of the Medina. The contrast between the hustle of the alleys and the tranquility of the Riad is striking. The owners Thierry and Hassan are perfect hosts. They make you feel relaxed and at home the minute you walk in through the door. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Tibibt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tibibt

Address: Derb Lalla Azzouna 39 | Medersa Ben Youssef, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 1,120 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this genuine Moroccan dwelling, the lounge offers its guests cosy cushions by the fireside. The five air-conditioned bedrooms look onto the riad whose fountain ( the bou ) will cool you down on hot summer days. The sunny roof garden is the ideal place for lavish breakfasts among the colourful bougainvillaea, hibiscus and other sun-loving flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Riad Tibibt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tibibt Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tibibt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.