We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to greet the New Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tibibt

Save Saved
You added Riad Tibibt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Tibibt
Derb Lalla Azzouna 39 | Moukef Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #173 of 1,037 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great way to greet the New Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Marrakech is a city of contrasts and history. Life within the enclosing pink hued walls of the Medina is one of daily survival for many and air is full of energy as the local population goes about a thousand trades. The street pattern remains medieval and in spite of the general limit of two and three storey buildings the residential density within most of the 'quartiers' within the Medina must be very high by UK averages. Yet step into any of the 'derb' cul-de-sac clusters of tightly packed buildings and you immediately leave behind the hustle and bustle of the criss-cross main 'rues'. Entering your destination doorway, set into one of the sheer enclosing walls of the access walkway, is to step into another world, like Alice through the looking glass! Such was our experience when we first arrived at Riad Tibibt, an oasis of quiet calm, yet a few minutes walk from many of the City's premier sites. A very warm welcome was also awaiting with the careful and attentive service of house manager Abdul supported by the quiet and efficient Fatima and the discreet yet personal oversight of the owner Erwan. We were made to feel immediately at home and no enquiry or request for assistance or advice went without solicitous response.
We have no hesitation in recommending Riad Tibibt to those travellers wanting to experience life within the Medina.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    312
    29
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
50
177
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed for 4 days at this Riad and it was a fantastic experience being in the medina and being so quiet and relaxed at the same time!
We arranged a transfer from the train station to the riad and we are very glad we did it!
The taxi dropped us off in a very busy road in the medina and Abdul was waiting for us and led the way to the riad. We walked through narrow streets in a kind of maze...to finally get to a small door and entered this riad. What a lovely setting with banana and orange trees. The check in was extremely quickly and Abdul served us mint tea and pastries!
We also had dinner (highly recommended) in our last night! The best tagine we had in Morocco! Fatima is just great as a cook! Our breakfast was well served with plenty of fresh bread and pancakes! The fresh orange juice every morning at the roof terrace was an excellent start for our day. They also have a laundry service which was very handy. We felt at home at all the times.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had an amazing experience here (for our honeymoon) - smooth airport transfer, beautiful room & bathroom with a lovely just off of our room, amazing views from the roof terrace, a cool courtyard to relax in. Adbou & Hassan were extremely welcoming and helpful, answering every question we had and looking after us every second of the way. We felt as though it was our own home & we actually stayed there 3 different times during our stay in Morocco! The food served in the evening was delicious and the breakfast included was absolutely massive and very yummy. Laundry was included and our clothes were washed and dried in the few hours we were wandering the city in the afternoon and hung in our wardrobe. Everything was very clean and there's wifi access. We would definitely come back here.

Room Tip: We had the Maiya suite which was lovely and has a terrace with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I toured Morocco for 2-1/2 weeks, with Marrakesh being our final destination. We stayed in historic Riads in just about every city. We stayed here 4 nights, and it was far below the charm and quality that we had in every other city, and we never paid more than $100 in any city. So what made it so below-average? Furnishings - many broken old things, not really "antiques" of value. For example, the "canopy bed" was just a rickety, wobbly and heavily oxidized frame. It was too short even for my wife (who is 5ft.10in.), so our legs were hanging off the end. The sofa or something in our room's sitting area smelled of mold. No bar of soap provided in the bathroom - good thing we had brought our own. There is no place in the shower (e.g. a shelf) to put down your soap, shampoo, sponge, etc. Super-low quality toilet paper - reminded me of what I had seen in Russia in 1995. The Riad is located at the end of a series of long, dark, narrow, twisting alleys - we never felt safe walking here. In the room, we were given two 333 cl bottles of water - in every other city and Riad, it was customary to provide 1.0 liter or 1.5 liter bottles. Finding it the first time was a nightmare. They did offer to meet us to bring us to the Riad if we could call them when our taxi dropped us off in the neighborhood at the closest square (quite dingy), but we did not have a cell phone with service in Morocco. So we were left to finding it with the "help" of the locals. Being escorted there by one young boy, which grew into a group of 6 older boys insisting on money, made us feel extremely unsafe, especially as they took about 20 turns to get there, maybe not the most direct route. To make that nightmare walk even worse, when we knocked at the Riad's door, no one answered until we had knocked a half dozen times, and waited over 5 minutes, trying to fend off the ever-increasing demands for money from the boys who had followed us there. The Riad bills itself as being 10 minute walk from Jeema El Fna, but it's more like 15-20 minutes through some very crowded alleyways, and you'd better have a good sense of direction. This turned out to be a big letdown to end our otherwise magnificent trip. When we asked to leave 2 days early, to maybe go someplace nice to cap off the trip, as my wife hated it here, they allowed 1 night early, but not two, even though we asked right after 1 night into out 5 night reservation (not during a busy time). In case you're wondering why we didn't ask for a "nicer" room, it's that they made a point of telling us we were in the nicest room when we checked in. We were afraid of anything even worse. Then finally, we had birds that somehow made it into our bathroom during two of the nights, which starting loud chirping right after sunrise as they were trapped and could not find a way out, thus preventing us from even getting a good night's sleep. On the very positive side, the local man and woman who work there tending to guests are extremely nice and helpful. The common areas are extremely photogenic, which is what lured us into this place, along with the surprisingly glowing reviews. The courtyard looks charming at night, but during the day far less so, as it is completely covered over by a plastic tarp that is used to collect the occasional rainwater.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

After a well-organised transfer from the airport we arrived at this lovely riad with very welcoming and friendly staff. We had mint tea on arrival and a room upgrade which meant we had our own private terrace where we could sit and listen to the birds in the courtyard, lovely! The bathroom was small but clean and there was always plenty of hot water. Hassan was very helpful, making sure we could find our way, organising taxis etc. A generous breakfast was served on the pretty roof terrace with different variations each day. It is set in a very quiet area but just a short walk (with a few twists and turns!) from a busy street full of people shopping at the little local shops, donkeys and scooters and a different smell every few steps, which led straight to the Djemma El Fna. Ideal for experiencing the real medina as well as the touristy side of things!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We had two rooms in the Riad for 4 nights in April, 2012. The rooms are charmingly decorated, the beds are comfortable, the showers work and there is plenty of hot water. Fatima created tasty breakfasts on the sunny roof. Hassan, the gracious owner, was most helpful in arranging for side trip, restaurants, transportation, etc.

Room Tip: Some rooms have double bed, some have 2 twins. Your call.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Hassan , Driss and Zahra are some of the nicest , caring and genuine people i have come across and made my experience there unforgettable. The place is beautiful, inviting and clean and the decor tansports you back into time . The rooms and bathrooms are gorgeous , I got upgraded and had the place to myself and felt i was in my own palazzo. The food was great and the breakfast on the terrace was just perfect !Hassan and Driss were very helpful with showing me around and made sure i didnt gettting conned by Taxis and unscrupulous guides. They were equally on call 24/7! I strongly recommend the Riad to anyone heading to Marrrakech and wants to experience the boutique hotel feel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Tibibt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tibibt

Address: Derb Lalla Azzouna 39 | Moukef Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 1,037 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this genuine Moroccan dwelling, the lounge offers its guests cosy cushions by the fireside. The five air-conditioned bedrooms look onto the riad whose fountain ( the bou ) will cool you down on hot summer days. The sunny roof garden is the ideal place for lavish breakfasts among the colourful bougainvillaea, hibiscus and other sun-loving flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Tibibt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tibibt Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tibibt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.