We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, lovely riad, central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tibibt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Tibibt to your Saves list
Riad Tibibt
Derb Lalla Azzouna 39 | Moukef Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 1,060 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hosts, lovely riad, central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011 via mobile

Thought the location of the riad was great being so close to the square and the souks. Hosts were fantastic and went out of their way to help us, The riad was lovely,clean and quiet, food was great with delicious and plentiful breakfast served on the rooftop terrace - a great start to the day before venturing out into the hustle and heat of marrakesh. As two ladies travelling together we thought the only drawback to the location some people might find was the labrynth of alleyways you had to navigate down to find the little oasis that the riad was but in the end we felt safe walking about despite initial concerns! - think this would be the case for any of the riads in marrakesh though. The riad organised the taxi from the airport for us which was a great move as we would never have found it. My only advice would be to have lots of change in the local currency on arrival as the taxi can't drive right up to the riad. A porter needs to show you the way to the riad door for 20 dirhams and we didn't have any change so had to pay him 100. If you look vaguely lost or get out your map anywhere in the souk, be prepared to have lots of children and adults offering to show you the way but they will always ask for payment at the end even if you didn't want the help in the first place and having lots of change comes in very handy!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    29
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
50
177
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
zanzibar
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011 via mobile

The staff at this beautifully restored and decorated Riad looked after us so well and nothing was too much trouble for them. Despite the fact that the English speaking owner was away and communication in my school girl French was poor, we were cared for so well. The rooms are small but comfortable and we were up graded to two rooms from the original triple I had booked, at no extra cost.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

The highlight of our stay in Marrakech was Riad Tibibt! A beautiful place (stunning rooms, centre courtyard with fruit trees and peaceful sunny terrace) and a much welcome oasis in a hectic but exciting city. Andrea and Abdou were warm excellent hosts, in the absence of Thierry, and made us feel so welcome. They both went above and beyond making our stay memorable and we both felt very comfortable.

The riad is in a bit of a maze but you quickly learn where it is. I'd recommend arranging a taxi with the riad for arrival before you get your bearings. Andrea gave us a navigation tour on our first morning and after that we were fine in getting 'home' after a day of getting lost in the souks.

As we arrived in the evening, we had arranged a meal in the Riad. It was our best dining experience. Tasty tagine in a beautiful candlelight setting, under the orange tree and banana palm. Lazy breakfasts on the warm sunny terrace (in December!) were also lovely.

Thank you Abdou and Andrea! :-)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The riad had no vacancies, so Theirry and Hassan offered a room in their private dar (few doors down from the riad) instead. During our 3-night stay, we got to spend some time in the Riad for the WiFi access. I can tell you both their Dar and Riad are beautifully decorated and comfortable. But beyond the decor, it's the hosts that really made the stay a super experience.

We rented a car during our stay in Morocco. Marrakech was our last stop and it was the most challenging to drive. We had to drive through the medina with crowds of walking people and scooters to find the parking lot. It was scary. But when we found the riad and was met with Hassan's friendly face, we felt instant calm. From then on, we were well taken care of by mostly Thierry, who was such a fabulous and funny host!

He made sure all our concerns were addressed and escorted us to places when needed. We took a day trip to Ait Ben Haddou, which meant a drive across the Atlas Mountains. We were fine, but upon our return, Thierry said he had called the parking lot attendant to see if our car had returned. He wanted to make sure we were okay. How caring!

To the reviewer, elterrill, I'm not sure what happened, but his/her scathing review is clearly out of the norm. I am not sure what s/he was expecting, but please know that if you stay in any Dar or Riad, you are, in essence, sharing a home with others. Sounds like s/he would have been more comfortable in a typical western hotel.

If you want an authentic Moroccan experience, stay at the fabulous Tibibt! If you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. You are in Muslim country, so be prepared for the daily pre-dawn call to prayer.

I miss you Thierry and Hassan and your beautiful Riad and Dar!

P.S. Just a general tip for Morocco. Do not ask random strangers or childern for directions/help--only ask the store owners. If you are driving, the parking area on Moukef is hard to get to. But once you find it, you can just park. If questioned, just tell them you're staying at Riad Tibibt. You pay the riad and they will pay the parking lot owner, so do not pay anyone when you park.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Its all been said already but this is a simply wonderful place.. an instant contrast to the chaos of the souk. Inside, the riad is calm and cool, the courtyard fragrant and the terrace sunny and warm - in November! Thierry is a marvel, knowledgeable, enthusiastic and sincerely interested in the well-being of his guests, he oriented us on the first morning and took us to town making the daunting walk the most normal thing in the world. Riad Tibibt gives an authentic experience from a small staff of friendly faces, it's clean, quiet at night and breakfast is plenty and tasty - what more could one want?

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a beautiful place to stay in Marrakesh, albeit a little hidden away. Thierry (the owner I think) was wonderful and very helpful. When we arrived we decided we could find it on our own, so we didn't call on arrival (they knew what train we were on though). The riad is hidden away and quite difficult to find if you haven't been before so we were a bit lost until someone found us - apparently they were worried about us and sent someone to look for us! The riad and our room had a beautiful feeling of faded grandeur (whilst still very functional) - we really loved the style and attention to detail. We have a 2 year old so they put us in a beautiful room on the ground floor. We arrived around 8am and although check in isn't until midday they gave us the room early and also some breakfast (on the beautiful terrace). They were extremely helpful and even held our luggage for a few days until we returned from a trip to the seaside. We had dinner one night and it was delicious and romantic - I recommend it. It is about 10-15min walk to the Djemaa el Fnaa if you know your way, considerably longer if you get lost. Overall it is a beautiful place with wonderful and accomodating service, but it is a little hidden away.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Thierry the host was wonderful. This Riad was an amazing experience for our first trip to Marrakech. We arrived in the Mediena feeling apprehensive but Riad Tebibit was an oasis of calm. Our room was perfect romantic and beautiful. Dinner was lovely. Thierry guided us through every detail of the best of making our 2 day break special. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Every room was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Tibibt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tibibt

Address: Derb Lalla Azzouna 39 | Moukef Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 1,060 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this genuine Moroccan dwelling, the lounge offers its guests cosy cushions by the fireside. The five air-conditioned bedrooms look onto the riad whose fountain ( the bou ) will cool you down on hot summer days. The sunny roof garden is the ideal place for lavish breakfasts among the colourful bougainvillaea, hibiscus and other sun-loving flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Tibibt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tibibt Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tibibt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.