We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abyssmal Transport and High Guest Noise....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tibibt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Tibibt to your Saves list
Riad Tibibt
Derb Lalla Azzouna 39 | Medersa Ben Youssef, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #180 of 1,123 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Abyssmal Transport and High Guest Noise....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We were met at the airport late at night by a driver who did not talk at all. He called on his mobile throughout the journey and then left us in the taxi in a dark alley for half an hour. He told us nothing. Finally an unknown young man arrived and took us and our luggage to an unknown destination. Even though we are seasoned third world travellers, this was terrifying. When we finally reached the riad he demanded money and left us with luggage battered from the walk to the riad. The riad charged us 15 Euros for this "airpot transfer" as well.
They put us in a double bed room when we had booked a twin. The second bed they brought in was so small that only a tiny child could have slept there.
Although there was no street noise, guest noise was a big problem. The courtyard is covered in a platic sheet and amplifies every sound. We could hear the bodily functions of every guest on our floor. Lobby noise was amplified into our room, preventing sleep. When we complained that I was ill with a virus and needed sleep, Thierry arrogantly replied that we should get up earlier! Hot water ran out after only one of us had showered.
Entire riad was so dark that it was impossible to even see a map or book.
They gave us one free night but it was still a nightmare stay.
On a good note, Abdul and Fatima were wonderful and are what made this hotel worthy of a poor rating instead of a terrible one!
AVOID El Tibibt.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poyenne, Propriétaire at Riad Tibibt, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
this is not fair!
this is not my home......................
thierry&hassan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    30
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
50
182
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

On our first night we were met by Thierry, he is a terrific host! We had the dinner in the Riad and it was lovely,

On our first morning Thierry sat down with us and a map to orientate us - he does this with everyone and will walk into town with you on occassions. The first time you leave the Riad it is terrifying, all the raods look the same and you are warned against all the tricks, kids looking for money to take you back to your Riad, people telling you that the roads are closed etc. But once you have walked it once, it's easy and speaking Frnech definitely helps once you are out and about.

The Riad is well located and very comfortable, the breakfasts are filling and everything is beautifully presented. You can also buy alcohol there. We happened to stay with a few other young couples and had a few boozy nights on the terasse. Abdul was exceptionally helpful and continued to serve us until the wee small hours and then served us out breakfast the next day!

Thierry went over and above the call of duty by walking us to the police station one day when I lost my wallet (see 4x4 Camel - i got it back!!) and working out payment when we had difficulties witht the banks.

My only issue was that there was no air conditioning in the rooms - but actually on the second night it wasn't an issue at all and i wouldn't have turned it on anyway.

Also I can sleep through anything but others complained about the prayer calls at 4 in the morning - i don't think you can escape that in Marrakech though - it didn't disturb me at all!!

Room Tip: Look on their website - what you see is what you get - i don't think there is a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verbier, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

My husband and I spent a week at the Riad Tibibt, while attending the "PURE Life Experiences" travel trade show, at the Mansour. The interior of the Riad is gorgeous, traditional elements mixed with Thierry's own style (he was a decorator in Bordeaux in another life). The staff was extremely helpful and made us feel like we were staying with friends, breakfast served on the upper deck is sublime! After 5 days of trade shows and parties at 5 star hotels (Mansour, Sofitel and the Palais Rhoul), I really wonder why anyone would choose to spend so much on an over-rated and unauthentic 5*, when you could really experience Marrakech with all necessary luxuries, in the heart of the Medina, at Riad Tibibt.

Room Tip: the suites on the upper floors provide more privacy for not much more $
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

The bedlam for us started from the airport. A mad taxi driver who wanted to turn 2 lanes into 3 at every opportunity! He then told the "cart" boy to take us to the wrong Riad and then the cart boy demanded 10 euro, which we would not pay ! So when we did eventually arrive at Riad Tibibt our nerves were in shreds.
We were greeted by the gentle Abdul who paid off the cart boy and took us to our stunning suite. Mint tea followed soon after, as we chatted to a French couple who were eating dinner under the trees. The female guest Sophie, had helped to cook dinner that night, which we enjoyed in the relaxing calm surroundings. The owner Thierry, then came to say hello and that tomorrow he would give us a map and any help we needed. After dinner we talked to Ann and John and ended up having a second bottle of wine with them.
The next day after being served our lovley breakfast on the top terrace by the gentle Abdul with his ready smile, Sophie, her boyfriend and Thierry walked us to Jemma-el-fnd and directed us to banks and coffee.
Thierry had asked me how I sleeped and I has replied that I was too hot. So the next day he arranged for us to move to a suite with aircon. Thank you again Thierry. Both the rooms were beautifully decorated.
Throughout our 5 night stay Thierry could not do enough for us, he would look up information online, make bookings and guide us on the right price to pay for things, and you could trust him 100%.
Abdul was always on hand and Fatima worked hard in the background, they made a great team.
We loved being right in the Madina and we would not have wanted to have been in a hotel in the new town. Riad Tibibt is the perfect place to enjoy the bedlam of the souk. We felt very safe in Thierrys oasis of calm. Guests were made to feel more like friends and we all ended up talking each day about our experience and showing off our purchase and the price we had paid.
Thank you Thierry, you do a great job. I hope to come back and see you again one day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Aircon if you are not used to the heat of Morocco, 36 degrees when we were there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway Kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We have just returned from staying over half term at Riad Tibibt (with two teenagers) and it was everything that everyone has previously said. As it was our first time in Marrakech we were a little dubious, but I can honestly say that the stay with Thierry and Hassan made our trip an excellent one. If you are looking for a Riad in the Medina I cannot believe there is a better one.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarlo, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We spent 15 days in Marocco in all different kinds of Riads, hotels en B&B; this last Riad, hidden away in the medina, is certainly very friendly in all aspects, good meal (especially starter and dessert) and good breakfast too. Thierry make`s you feel at home and give good information where to eat etc. He`s certainly a good host and make`s you enjoy your stay. Well worth it`s price, and a place where you can spent some days.
Our transfer to the Airport at 7.00 Hrs. was perfectly arranged.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 7 nights in October 2011. The riad itself is beautiful and extremley well run - with the staff doing everything possible to make your stay as comfertable and wonderfull as it can be. We booked an airport transfer through the riad which i would recomend as its difficult to find your way around Marrakech initially. We had dinner at the Riad on the first night as we were arriving late and it was actually the nicest meal we had throughout our entire trip - so much so we had dinner here on our second last night also. The next day Thierry gave us a map of the city and highlighted good landmarks to visit as well as nice places to eat - to be even more helpfull he took us to the main square on the first day which really helped us find out bearnings. Our room was lovely and the Riad itself has a lovely court yard as well as a stunning terrace which is great for the delicious breakfasts which were served each day - but is also lovely to sit and have a glass of wine on at night whilst relaxing. The riad itself was a place of tranquility - which allowed us to escape the madness that is Marrakech and relax. We could not recomend this Riad highly enough - the riad itself and the staff were so lovely they made our stay in Marrakech an absolute pleasure :).
Ann & John

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Tibibt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tibibt

Address: Derb Lalla Azzouna 39 | Medersa Ben Youssef, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 1,123 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this genuine Moroccan dwelling, the lounge offers its guests cosy cushions by the fireside. The five air-conditioned bedrooms look onto the riad whose fountain ( the bou ) will cool you down on hot summer days. The sunny roof garden is the ideal place for lavish breakfasts among the colourful bougainvillaea, hibiscus and other sun-loving flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Riad Tibibt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tibibt Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tibibt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.