We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st experience of Marrakech... my experience at Riad Tibibt ensured it is the first of many.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tibibt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Tibibt to your Saves list
Riad Tibibt
Derb Lalla Azzouna 39 | Moukef Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #201 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Richmond, Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“1st experience of Marrakech... my experience at Riad Tibibt ensured it is the first of many.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We arrived in Marrakech on a warm Thursday and were met at the airport by a driver, (pre-arranged with Thierry the Riad owner), who had a board with 'Riad Tibibt' written on it which we saw immediately after leaving Departures. After a relatively short drive (about 20 minutes), to the centre of Marrakech,(old town), the driver helped us out of the car with our luggage and this was placed into a hand-cart type contraption, the driver, who had made the journey seem much shorter by his charming attempts at trying to help us learn a few arabic phrases to get by, wished us a great holiday. He would not take any money from us, as this was part of the Riad's service.
Once out of the taxi, the driver helped to put our luggage into the handcart, and a local lad, had been arranged to push this the 10 minutes or so to the Riad. This was our first taste of Marrakech and it was truly mad! The guide negotiated the very narrow streets with his carts and we were delivered to Thierry and Hussains Riad safe and sound and it was an absolute oasis!
We stayed in one of the suites on the ground floor, which looked out and had immediate access to the the courtyard with plunge-pool and orange tree. Our friends had a 1st floor suite, whose windows again looked out onto the courtyard. Despite the fact that our room was on the ground floor, the noise level from outside was non-existant and from the other guests was minimal, to the point that on a couple of evenings we left the door open, to allow a breeze and had no worry for either noise or security. Thierry met us the day we arrived and took the time to furnish us with maps and relevant information to help us with our stay, the top price to pay for items and the best areas to go to if we were looking for certain things, such as ceramics, leather etc. I could not recommend this Riad more highly and cannot do it justice in this review, without waffling on for hours. Loved, loved, loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for the 1st fl. Rooms, if 4 or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    30
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
50
178
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london,uk
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We have just come back from a delightful stay and Riad Tibibt and would happily go back tomorrow!!

The riad itself is tucked away down lots of allyways and it takes a couple of days to get a sense of direction but, having said that, I think that would be anywhere you stayed in the Medina to be honest. If you get really lost one of the annoying boys that want to take you everywhere will in fact get you to the door for 20 dirhams. Sometimes its worth it!!

The rooms are delightful and very clean. Fatima the maid is very particular. The riad has about eight room, we had to ourselves for two nights and after that there were afew more guests. Because of the nature of the riad you may or may not find yourselves making new friends there. It is very intimate. Thierry will get you anything you need at most times, you just have to ask. The food and wine is excellent and reasonable.

We ate around the corner (that sounds simple and it actually is!!) at La Foundok twice and the food was amazing. Its a beautiful building with a lovely bar area on the roof and expensive by Moroccon standards but, very cheap by ours.

I could go on and on about our mini break so, I should stop now!! we had a wonderful time and came home with some lovely memories. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

This Riad is gorgeous and I would recommend it highly. We ate at the Riad 2 nights out of the 4 we were there as the cook there is really good. You will need to let the owners know when you intend to eat at the Riad so they can instruct their cook.
We arranged a taxi to collect us which we were relieved to find was still waiting for us even though we were over an hour late due to Customs taking forever. He took us as close as he could to the Riad and then instruced someone off the street to take us to our Riad. This is normal. This second 'guide' has a wheel-barrow type contraption in order to carry luggage. We were initially quite apprehensive as he took us down winding, unlit streets where the the footpaths are more rubble than anything else but this is genuinely the route to the Riad which was a perfect sanctuary. The guide with the 'wheelbarrow' obviously wanted paying so be sure to carry some small notes; if not available at the currency exchange then they are more than willing to accept sterling.
Talking of money, we flew from Stansted where we found that you could convert up to 1000 dirhams per person. This is a restriction set by the Marrakesh officials as opposed to a guideline set by exchange office. We also converted sterling at Marrakesh airport but there was quite a queue due to everyone else on our flight doing the same. We also managed to withdraw dirhams from an ATM.
As expected, we were hassled alot my street beggers and locals selling items. Be sure to carry small change as you will come across many people who are worthy of charity.
We organised a tour which the Riad owners set up for us at our request. Saeed, the tour guide spoke very fluent English as well as Arabic, French and about 4 other languages. He recommended a place for lunch and took us around our chosen tourist sites. He was extremely knowledgeable and bartered on our behalf when required.
The Square is incredible and well worth a few visits.
We ate at La Boheme one afternoon which was extremely disappointing. The homemade casoulet was made up of tinned bean and hotdogs!! We even heard the microwave ping! This was also the most expensive place that we dined at.
We also went on a horse and carriage trip which took us to the marjorelle gardens - again, both the horse and carriage trip and the gardens are highliy recommended.
Overall, this was a great little holiday at a fantastic Riad! The Riad is very cosy and intimate. The owners and cook naturally tend to all your needs. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

I stayed here with two of my friends over the Easter break. Being used to staying in Hotels we were a little nervous about staying in a riad. This riad is exactly what it says on the tin - an authentic Moroccan house complete with the friendliness.

The riad is tucked away about 10 minutes from the main square. We were originally worried that we would not find our way back to the Riad as none of the streets have any names however, Hassan (the owner) drew us a map and even arranged for a chaperone for the first night so we wouldn’t get lost.

The Riad it self is clean as are the bathrooms and bedrooms however they are basic so do not expect hotel standard bathrooms or bedrooms. We stayed in Maiya which was kitted out with an extra bed for us which was great. Small, but we expected that. Maiya is on the first floor and you also get the benefit of having the sitting area outside.

Breakfast is freshly home cooked food with fresh orange juice from the trees in the riad.
We did not have dinner in the riad but you can do if you wish. There is always someone in the riad to make you lovely mint tea whenever you request it.

You need to stay on your guard when in Morocco as the locals are always on the hunt to make a few bucks out of the tourists. Common tricks are that the place you are visiting is closed and they will take you somewhere else. Also be weary of asking directions - we asked the way to the museum and were asked to pay £10 for the privilege of being walked 5 minutes up the road. However there are lots of lovely people in Morocco who are genuine and it is a shame to miss out on speaking to some of the locals when you get the opportunity. Be aware of being taken to the Tanneries unless you like the smell of rotting carcasses and pre-treated skin….

I would recommend going to the night market to eat and listening to the humorous banter of the various touts who try and get you to eat in their restaurant. The food really is much the same all over and is fresh and we did not get any stomach upsets. We followed the DK top 10 Marrakesh guide for some food places and they didn’t disappoint.

I would also recommend Les Bains Marrakesh for a hamman.

With regards to dress code for women, It is best to cover up with loose clothing. Generally best not to have your legs or cleavage visible. The local men will leave you feeling rather uncomfortable. Its best to carry a shawl with you to cover up.

One word of advice is haggle, haggle and haggle. We purchased a pastry tray for £20 however his starting price was £80!

A great sensory and cultural journey however you feel like you need a holiday after Morrocco....

Enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed in Riad Tibibt for 2 nights but wished it had been for longer. From the moment we arrived we received a very warm welcome from the owner Thierry and we were made to feel completely at home in this beautiful riad. Theirry went out of his way to show us around Marrakesh and recommend places to visit, eat and drink during our stay. The riad is situated in a residential neighbourhood away from the hustle and bustle and ensuring you have a very peaceful sleep each evening but it's only 10 minutes stroll to the main square and the souqs. The riad has been lovingly restored and has been beautifully decorated. There is an orange tree growing in the centre of the living area and the plants and flowers on the roof top terrace are sensational. The bedrooms, which are all individually designed, are very big, clean, comfortable - best night's sleep of our whole trip. We enjoyed a very delicious breakfast each morning of fresh pancakes, breads, home made jams and marmalades. The freshly squeezed orange juice was excellent! Many thanks for such a wonderful stay - we hope to come back very soon. Kate & Dan x

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I have spent a week at Riad Tibibt with my 10 year old son. If you want to be treated as a friend in a calm beautiful surrounding, I would highly recommend to go to this riad. It's hidden between small streets of Medina and you would never guess that behind the small door there is a real oasis. Thierry and Hassan shall make your stay comfortable and pleasant in a most subtle way. After a day I felt that I know them for a very long time and that they are more my friends than the owners of this little hotel. I had my birthday while staying there and was treated to a wonderfyl meal in the evening.
Two tips: ask Thierry and Hassan for a transfer to Riad, and on the first day be accompanied by one of them through the souk to find your way.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed there for 4 nights and we loved it. We had the best food for breakfast by Fatima, truly the best and the most food you will served in any Riad. Hassan, the man in charge, would do as much as he can to help you out with your trip and making it a memorable experience. We stayed in two other Riads near by, and this one was THE one. I definately plan to come back and I will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Tibibt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tibibt

Address: Derb Lalla Azzouna 39 | Moukef Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this genuine Moroccan dwelling, the lounge offers its guests cosy cushions by the fireside. The five air-conditioned bedrooms look onto the riad whose fountain ( the bou ) will cool you down on hot summer days. The sunny roof garden is the ideal place for lavish breakfasts among the colourful bougainvillaea, hibiscus and other sun-loving flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Tibibt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tibibt Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tibibt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.