We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dar Touyir March 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Touyir

Save Saved
You added Dar Touyir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Touyir
Derb Dekkak 132 | Bab Doukala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #352 of 1,037 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Dar Touyir March 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Dar Touyir is a very special hotel. Hidden away in the Medina at Marrakesh, peaceful, serving delicious food. The sunny terrace, with plenty of shade, was a joy. The staff were so kind and helpful, Fatima replied to all my emails promptly and patiently, and Robert, the owner, is a mine of information about Morocco. We visited the farm as well, and had a wonderful lunch. If we were to return to Marrakesh we would definitely stay at Dar Touyir again.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the first floor, overlooking the courtyard. Cool and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
24
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Very quaint and very quiet! Incredibly comfortable beds! Very clean. The staff was friendly and breakfast on the roof was charming. Good location in the old city, BUT do not recommend walking around late at night in this area (the same as with many Riads tucked in the small twists and turns of the old streets).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

So accommodating. . .I had a hectic travel schedule in Marrakech and this hotel was more than happy to help me. I arrived one evening and was greeted with cookies and an offering of tea. I requested bottled water instead, which was free during my entire stay. The owner gave me a map and chatted with me about the Medina and the places that I shouldn't miss on my one day whirlwind tour. The hotel was very clean, the decoration was low key, and the room had a great shower. The breakfast was served on the gorgeous and large roof terrace. The breakfast could have been more well rounded; it was tea/coffee, juice, bread, cheese, and jams. Anyway, when I was leaving for a high atlas trek, they were more than willing to hold my bag for no fee. I returned four days later, stayed one more night and left again at which time I was given yet another bottle of water, an offer of a taxi, and when I declined, specific instructions on where and how much a taxi to the train station should be. Of note, the hotel is easily found just off a main street and can be almost driven to. All the workers were extremely helpful as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

On one hand, we loved the hotel for its tasteful decor and central location, on the other hand, there're plenty of room for improvement.

To start with what we like about the Dar:
(1) Central location, (2) stylish decor, (3) Nice rooftop terrace

And what we're not so sure:
(1) No window in the room meaning that we have to keep the door open to let air in. Result: lack of privacy given that our room was on the 1st floor facing the main courtyard with reception area right downstairs. I believe the situation might be better with other rooms not facing the main courtyard.
(2) Arriving late in the evening at Marrakesh, we arranged private transportation from the station with the hotel for 100 Dirham one-way (while taxi costs about 15-30 Dirham depending on your negotiation skill) for added peace of mind. We ended up waiting outside the station at night for half an hour despite calling the hotel up a few times. Every time the answer was that the driver would arrive in a few minutes (without any apologies). When the driver arrived, he even made up excuses that he had been there before our arrival time and that he couldn't see us. But the fact is that we were there all the time and apparently he was just being late (there weren't that many people so impossible to miss especially since he's supposed to be holding our name plate). It might just be the problem of the driver BUT, advice: there're plenty of taxis right outside the station, so NO NEED to arrange transportation service with the hotel.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moultouyir, Propriétaire at Dar Touyir, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank you for posting a comment on Tripavisor. Those comments are paramount to help us to improve our services.
We are realy sorry that yours feelings are mixed afther your stay in Dar Touyir. You didn't tell us about those feelings during our several pleasant talks in Dar Touyir.
We are astonished that you declare " no windows in the room": you were accommodated in "janoubia" ( south) room during your two nights stay...and there are two windows in this room !
Most of your comments concern a Supratour bus station to Dar Touyir transfer.
Transport and taxi are realy a problem in Marrakech
In order to help trip advisor's reader in Marrakesh's taxi's jungle i will try to be as informative as possible:
A "petit taxi" ride" from Supratour, or Ctm or train station to Medina should not ,( meter using),cost more than 15 dirhams. We know that it is practicaly impossible to pay such a price, even afther hard bargaining. (most of our guest had payed from 50 to... 300 dirhams from train station to the medina)
No one pre arranged transports ( minibuses or privately hired taxis) accept such orders for less than 100 dirhams ( 150 from the airport)
In order to contour this problem and keep guest satisfied Dar Touyir offer one free transfer for each three nights stay.
In your case, we talk to you about the different solutions and prices for your transfer from Supratour bus to dar Touyir. You opted for the private point to point transport.
We ordered this transfer to our usualy reliable ( 0.2 % mishap) transport provider.
Unfortunately , for one or another reason, you where picked up with some delay...and eventualy transported safely to Dar Touyir's door.
We are deeply sorry for this inconvenience...but there is unfortunately nothing we can do about it.
We regret that your mixed feelings are builded on false informations (your room had two large windows) and complains about a third party.
Trip advisors comments have a direct impact on our bookings, on our incomes, on Dar Touyir's staff and crew future.
We hope that you'll enjoy the best in your future travels and that none will suffer anymore from such punishing and unfair comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Lovely belgian host greeted us upon arrival
Very pretty riyad with traditional features
Good breakfast - whenever you want it served
Very laidback and peaceful atmosphere
Nice to have an outdoor space and room on the top floor

Room Tip: top floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Stayed 4 nights during October to celebrate a birthday. We had 2 rooms at the riad in the second of 2 joined buildings. Both rooms were nicely decorated, good bathrooms and had a little outdoor seating area outside our rooms.

Upstairs there is a great roof terrace where a great and varied breakfast is served. We also enjoyed a great dinner there one night.

All the staff and hosts were very friendly, helpful and hospitable. They were great at answering all our questions, suggesting places to go/things to do/restaurants/organising airport pick up and drop off etc.

The Riad is located in the Bab Doukkala area, NW of the big square within the medina, but it is an easy and interesting walk to the souqs, square etc. and we much preferred to be in a quiet more residential area. The nearby food souq felt much more authentic than the tourist souqs and was an interesting morning stroll, but mind the motorbikes!
You can also walk to the new city and the Jardin Majorelle as well.

We really enjoyed our stay there and would recommend the riad and happily return too.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011 via mobile

Set in the back street tranquility yet less then a minute walk from the true hustle and bustle of Morrocan city culture. We were waited on superbly by Robert and his staff (you must go)

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Touyir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Touyir

Address: Derb Dekkak 132 | Bab Doukala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 1,037 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of freshness and peace, this little traditional house welcome you to taste the magic of his patios, the sun of his terraces and to taste this unique lifestyle that makes the charm of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Dar Touyir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Touyir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.