We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional and Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Moulay Ali

Save Saved
You added Dar Moulay Ali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Moulay Ali
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   6, Derb El Ouartani | Mouassine -Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #773 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Co. Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Traditional and Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was a beautiful Riad: Interior garden / courtyard was full of tradition (Moroccan ceramics and tiles); orange trees in the centre of the courtyard with birds twittering in the morning and afternoon. We stayed in a room on the ground floor which was spacious and beautifully decorated and with the shutters open allowed us to view the garden.The shower- room / toilet could do with some updating.The staff were friendly and helpful(particularly the lady, Madame FATIMA).The location was excellent, inside the Medina (2 minute walk to the Souks).The breakfast was very good with freshly squeezed orange juice, moroccan pancakes,omelette etc. served by Hassan (?) who was very helpful.

We would highly recommend this Riad for friendliness, location and a traditional Moroccan experience. Marrakech is a wonderful City (just watch out for the traffic!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
3
18
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killin, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Can't get a taxi closer than 200m from riad.
Booked a large room and given a small one, changed room but still not given the one I booked.
Paint falling off the walls of our room onto our luggage and bathroom smelling like a Calcutta sewer.
Owner not always present but manager was and this man will try and swindle money from you any way he can. Always asking for a gift (money) coming into our room wanting alcohol, wanting 3 times the regular rate for a taxi. This man is unhelpful and not to be trusted.
Riad has no soft drinks or snacks to purchase.

Room Tip: Choosing a room does not guarantee you will get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I spent 4 nights there last january and it was a blast.
The location is perfect, 5 minutes walk to the Place; and once you're in the riad it is very very quiet, it's so peaceful. You can also relax on the roof where there are deckchairs. The fresh breakfast was heaven, cooked by Fatima when you come to sit in the patio : omelette, maroccan tea, freshly pressed orange juice, maroccan bread with marmelad, msemen and honey... All the staff (both madam and the concierge) is lovely, though you have to speak french. The room was great, huge (I was alone and had one double bed + one single bed), super clean and fresh towels were provided every day. The bathroom was great, especially when you know how it is elsewhere in the medina. Careful if you are going there in the winter, it's a riad so it is open (no roof), and therefore quite cold during the night...
I would definitely recommend the place to people who are looking for an authentic place to stay with thoughful staff, it is not a big hotel like in the palm grove with hundreds of people, a pool and buffets, disconnected with the heart of the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Absolutely gorgeous riad, beautifully decorated, spacious rooms. Close to the main roads around the outside of the Medina which makes it easier to find for the first time, but also close to the main square of the Medina, The staff are lovely; I got sick the day we arrived (not from any food provided by the riad!) and the French lady (I can't remember her name) did everything she could to make me feel better, even cleaning up after me! I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully decorated, it doesn't matter which you choose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this Riad for 3 nights in May 2012. We took a taxi from the train station and found the place easy enough, not too far from the main road where the taxis stop. Tired after our trip, we found the courtyard very soothing and relaxed for a while until we got the check-in sorted out. The staff hardly spoke any English, but we managed with the bit of French we know, and were shown to our room on the first floor.

All of the rooms are very typical for moroccan riads, and overlook the courtyard, which we enjoyed. The rooms were of decent size, with comfortable beds, good internet access and clean bathrooms. The water pressure was a bit low, but we managed just fine.

The Jemaa el Fna square is a few minutes walk from there, with some lively streets on the way, a lot of shops and always very crowded and lively. When you enter the riad however, you do not hear any of the noise and are able to relax - both if you're looking for a quick afternoon power nap or a good nights sleep.

The breakfast was fresh cooked and despite the lack of choice, we were very happy with it.

Overall, a good place to stay while you are in Marrakech - safe, clean, comfortable and close to the Jemaa el Fna square which is a tourist delight, occupying all of your senses at once!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Husband and I stayed at this riad for 6 days. The staff were wonderful though spoken english was limited but we got by. Arrangements to meet us at the airport was made as it is difficult to find. The accommodation was basic but clean and fresh towels were supplied everyday bed was a bit lumpy and I think it was not one of their better rooms. Breakfast was the same each day but wonderful and freshly made by Madam Fatima who was very nice and was always smiling. The riad is close to the souks and the 'big square' which is helpful in cutting transportation costs. Considering the closeness of the souks and square once you were inside the riad it was peaceful and quite which suited us. The only downside was that the accommodation was cold (time of year I guess0 and the heating wasn't available daytime however it was left on all night which was ok as you could go out during the day (it was warmer to do this than stay in) there was a day where we did not have electricity in our room we thought it was all over but it was just our room (it was suspect since we were the only guess in the riad that night) however it did not dampen our enjoyment hubby and I are both too old to be concerned about such trivialities. The overall experience was a good one and we would do it again...... during better weather though. Visit to the Berber village and L'Ourika Valley is a must.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Moulay Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Moulay Ali

Address: 6, Derb El Ouartani | Mouassine -Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #773 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Moulay Ali 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Dar Moulay Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Moulay Ali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.