We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice for Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Adriana

Save Saved
You added Riad Adriana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Adriana
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   99, derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Glen Allen, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Choice for Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed at Riad Adriana with 4 other women. This is a very nice place for Marrakech. I was in Marrakech to join a group of friends and it was their choice to visit this city. Riad Adriana was my sanctuary away from the madness of this city.

Arriving: The taxis can only go so far into the old city. You are required to walk the rest of the way with your bags which is a 1/4 mile. When we exited the taxi, a boy about 12 years old signaled us to follow him. I wasn't sure at first if he was leading us to our riad but he did.

After opening 12 bolts on the door, the butler opened the door. The service was fantastic at the riad and they were very nice. The tea was really good. The rooms were nice and had fresh rose pedals all over. My blow dryer dimmed the lights in the whole place but I was able to use it.

They had a woman that spoke English very well. She did a good job of informing us of the areas to tour in the city. Consuming alcohol is against this country’s religion and it is hard to find. Riad Adriana had beer and wine. I didn't like that everyone was required to hang their door key in a common place. Apparently, according to my friends, this is normal on that side of the world.

I recommend this place if you choose to visit this awful city. This was the only Moroccan city I visited but I heard from others that there are much better cities to visit in this country.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    16
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
99
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergamo, Lombardia, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Given the raving reviews I read on this site, I booked the Riad Adriana with very high expectations. They did beat my very high expectations. The place is charming, the food is delicious and the service is 5 stars. The staff is always extremely nice and attentive to any of your needs and the two owners will literally go out of their way to accomodate your needs and act as a very professional guide to make sure you make the best of your experience. Can't reccomend this Riad enouf. Luigi

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Riad Adriana was recommended to me by a good friend who has stayed there several times. I read the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor and visited the website and decided it was ideal. The Riad offers exceptional value for money; the rooms are immaculate and the staff are polite, friendly and attentive and always smiling. The owners of the Riad, Idriss and Melanie, are really lovely and do their utmost to make you feel welcome.

We arranged transfers to and from the airport and everything went really smoothly. The taxi drops you at a nearby mosque, which is as close as you can get by car. You have a short walk to the Riad along narrow streets full of local traders and your bags are carried in a wagon. At first you wonder where you are going, then you walk through the Riad door into a beautiful oasis. The Riad has been beautifully renovated and is really well maintained with beautiful carvings and painted ceilings. Every room is exquisitely decorated and very traditional.

On our arrival at the Riad, we were proffered with mint tea and delicious cakes and Idriss spent some time with us going through places to visit on the map of Marrakech, then we were shown to our room. We stayed in the Olive room on the first floor, which was lovely.

The rooms are large, well-appointed and really quiet and peaceful. The bed was really comfortable and we slept extremely well. Each morning we were woken by the singing of birds, which was simply lovely.

We ate at the Riad on our first night as we arrived quite late and the meal was exceptionally good. The Riad has an excellent chef who clearly takes a lot of pride in their cooking and presentation. The meal was so good we decided to eat at the Riad again on our last evening. We were asked to pick the meal we would like from a cook book; it was absolutely delicious and exceptionally good value for money.

Breakfast is served on the upstairs terrace in the sunshine, which is glorious and such a lovely way to start the day. Each day we were given freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade yogurt, tea and coffee and pancakes with jam or honey.

The Riad is in a really good location in the Medina and it is only a short walk to all the main attractions.

Idriss and Melanie have worked hard to make it feel like home and to be honest it felt very much like visiting old friends. I loved it so much I have already booked another trip in October and I am very much looking forward to visiting my friends at the Riad again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelwona BC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

An excellent Riad in the heart of Marrakech's Medina. The service and hospitality of Melanie and staff were exceptional. On arrival we were served the traditional Moroccan sweet tea, and I was surprised with a special birthday cake and singing of happy birthday. Melanie helpfully identified points of interest in Marrakech and the Medina with tips about where to get the best products. She took us out into the area surrounding the Riad to familiarize us with access, which greatly increased our confidence in navigating the Medina and amazing Souk. She was there daily to look after our needs. Melanie confirmed with the booking company for us to be able to leave our belongings in the room for a night while we took an overnight trip to a desert camp. The happy and friendly staff served us coffee in our room daily along with breakfast in the superb, sunny rooftop patio - the location for us to enjoy a fine bottle of champagne to celebrate my birthday. On our return one day we were surprised with the laundry we had done dried and neatly folded on our bed! Each day we enjoyed the fresh roses and rose petals in and around the fountain in the courtyard, off which our room was directly located. Our room was beautifully decorated and well equipped. We were made to feel at home and secure by Melanie and her wonderful staff. Staying at Riad Adriana was a great and unforgettable experience which we highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our main-floor room was ideal, with direct access to the courtyard, service, and to the outside whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The french couple who own and operate Riad Adriana, Idriss and Melanie, are extremely friendly and helpful, and they really went out of their way to make sure we got the best out of our stay in Marrakesh. The rest of the staff are just as nice and we felt truly welcome. Riad Adriana is a great place, we loved our stay there and will definitely stay there again the next time in Marrakesh. The location is fun, and you pass through genuine bazaar streets and down narrow alleyways (no cars - our bags were transported in a hand cart) in the Medina to get to the hotel. This is not a designer version of an old arab market, but the real thing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Riad Adriana was a pleasant and comfortable home base which made exploring hectic Marrakech immensely more enjoyable. The transfer from the airport to the Riad was easy with no snags. (though the Riad is on a tiny street inaccessible to cars, so the last 500 meters is on foot and a boy will carry your bags in a large wagon - this is normal). We were met by the owner Idriss, who gave a very informative brief on the city, what to see, how to get around, where to eat, and advice on haggling at the soucks. He remained available for good advice throughout our stay, including finding out a fair price for a Moroccan tea set to aid our negotiations. The Riad feels like home - if I had a butler. If we asked for a water we got it, beer we got it, mint tea or coffee anytime, we got it. As everyone has said, the breakfast is great, the common area beautiful and well kept, the roof patio is an excellent venue for the breakfast and for soaking up the sun. Rooms are spacious and maid service is excellent and thorough. The location is very convenient and a short walk to the souks and main square, yet it remains quiet and peaceful at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We are so lucky to have found this beautiful riad! We stayed three nights in Marrakech and then went to the mountains for two nights. We asked the manager if we could rebook the Rose Suite on our return but it had already been booked. He offered us two rooms side-by-side for the same rate and went out of his way to accommodate our request. If we thought our welcome on first arrival was grand, when we returned we felt like long lost family! The rose petals strewn across our bathroom and bed were a beautiful touch, as were the large, white bath towels folded into matching swans! This riad is such a precious, little gem. Everywhere you look there are beautiful touches. The restoration of the riad is outstanding. Rooms were large and fitted out with every creature comfort you would need. The staff were extremely helpful, going out of their way to ensure our stay was pleasant. Breakfasts on the sun-soaked terrace was lovely and all-in-all it's difficult to fault this little piece of paradise! If anything, it is a bit of a distance to the main square in Marrakech but the wlk through the medina is an adventure in itself.

Room Tip: The Rose Suite is perfect for a family; all in together but with two adjoing rooms so plenty of spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Adriana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Adriana

Address: 99, derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Adriana 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Riad Adriana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Adriana Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Adriana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.