We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding customer service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Adriana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Adriana to your Saves list
Riad Adriana
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   99, derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 1,092 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Harrogate
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding customer service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Riad Adriana was a pleasant and comfortable home base which made exploring hectic Marrakech immensely more enjoyable. The transfer from the airport to the Riad was easy with no snags. (though the Riad is on a tiny street inaccessible to cars, so the last 500 meters is on foot and a boy will carry your bags in a large wagon - this is normal). We were met by the owner Idriss, who gave a very informative brief on the city, what to see, how to get around, where to eat, and advice on haggling at the soucks. He remained available for good advice throughout our stay, including finding out a fair price for a Moroccan tea set to aid our negotiations. The Riad feels like home - if I had a butler. If we asked for a water we got it, beer we got it, mint tea or coffee anytime, we got it. As everyone has said, the breakfast is great, the common area beautiful and well kept, the roof patio is an excellent venue for the breakfast and for soaking up the sun. Rooms are spacious and maid service is excellent and thorough. The location is very convenient and a short walk to the souks and main square, yet it remains quiet and peaceful at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    18
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
124
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Margaret River, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We are so lucky to have found this beautiful riad! We stayed three nights in Marrakech and then went to the mountains for two nights. We asked the manager if we could rebook the Rose Suite on our return but it had already been booked. He offered us two rooms side-by-side for the same rate and went out of his way to accommodate our request. If we thought our welcome on first arrival was grand, when we returned we felt like long lost family! The rose petals strewn across our bathroom and bed were a beautiful touch, as were the large, white bath towels folded into matching swans! This riad is such a precious, little gem. Everywhere you look there are beautiful touches. The restoration of the riad is outstanding. Rooms were large and fitted out with every creature comfort you would need. The staff were extremely helpful, going out of their way to ensure our stay was pleasant. Breakfasts on the sun-soaked terrace was lovely and all-in-all it's difficult to fault this little piece of paradise! If anything, it is a bit of a distance to the main square in Marrakech but the wlk through the medina is an adventure in itself.

Room Tip: The Rose Suite is perfect for a family; all in together but with two adjoing rooms so plenty of spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Adriana for 4 nights in December , we enjoyed it so much we booked again when we returned from the coast .
The staff were so helpful , Idriss in particular went out of his way in organising Trips, car hire etc . We would stay here again on our next visit to the city

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Nederland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

When we arrived in Marrakech, there was a taxi waiting to bring us to the Riad. When we arrived at the riad, the manager Idriss was already waiting for our arrival, together with a bellboy, so he could show us the way to the riad and we did not have to carry our own luggage. We had 3 rooms, 2 suites and a normal room. The rooms were beautiful and there were roses on the bed, making it quite romantic. Before we could enter the room Idriss gave us a brief description of Marrakech. He told about and showed the main sights of the city and marked in in a map, what was a great help, because Marrakech is a maze with al the little streets and souks. When we unloaded our gear and changed clothes in our rooms, Tofik, the fantastic help of Idriss and Melanie, cooked us a great dinner what was served in a room with a nice and warm fireplace. Tofik was a wonderful help for us, when you needed something he would help you wild a big smile. When you decide to have dinner at the hotel, he will come with a book to let you choose the dish you like. He will not disappoint you with his delicious tajines.
The next 2 days when we needed advice, we just asked Idriss and Melanie what to do, they did everything we asked for. Do you need a reservation in a fancy restaurant? No problem, Idriss would make a call and also arrange a guide to bring you to the restaurant, sometimes places are hard to find in Marrakech. No effort was to much for them. When you want to go to a fancy restaurant, you should definitely try Maison Arabe, it's great!
Although it's a little walk to the city center, the Riad is a great place to stay. Having your breakfast at the rooftop on a sunny morning is great. It is a lovely, quiet place and even in januari the temperature was high enough to sit outside at 9 'o clock.
When you visit Marrakech I would highly recommend to stay at the Riad Adriana, it's a great place to stay and all the complete staff is very helpfull.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Could we communicate with the hotel staff, this place would have been perfect. I hate having to give them 4 instead of 5 stars. The atrium and rooftop terrace are just gorgeous, as are the rooms. The mosaics, painted and carved designs, and other details in this 200 year old Riad are fantastic. They greet you with mint tea and biscuits and are happy to make you mint tea upon request each day. They served a very good breakfast on the rooftop terrace each day, and the staff was very friendly and eager to help, even though we had communication issues.

The hotel price was very affordable, especially as this was one of the more beautiful hotels we've ever stayed in. Dinner was also very good the night we had it, though a bit pricier than other places. It was worth it to have that all set for us the night we arrived, and the lamb and artichoke tagine and chicken cous cous were very well prepared. Also, the 7 Euro airport transfer was convenient and easy and affordable. It's more than you'll pay for a taxi or the bus, but the hotel is a bit hard to find the first time without them escorting you from the point beyond which cars can't travel and the door.

Here's the one problem we had: unfortunately, the lady that runs the Riad was out of town and her father who speaks almost no English was there instead. We don't speak french except for a few pleasantries. We had trouble asking questions about an excursion and making our desires understood. We wanted a driver into the Atlas mountains that spoke english, which many do, and our driver didn't speak a word of English. I don't believe it was even requested. We kept asking if we were going here or there and the guide just said "ok". We thought maybe that meant he was taking us to those places, but that was not the case. Long story short, we still saw some great stuff in the Ourika Valley, but it wasn't exactly what we wanted and just ended up being a cause of stress in an already stressful city (exciting, but stressful).

The location is a bit of a walk from the square and souks, but not too bad, and we liked being in a more "residential" feeling neighborhood. The beds are just average, but we're not too sensitive to that kind of thing. The heat/ac unit was a bit noisy, but worked fine. Also, keep in mind, as it's an old Riad, all rooms have windows into the atrium, even the bathrooms, and with the thin wood shutter like doors, everyone can hear everything else going on in the hotel.

Note: Our minor problem with communication will almost never be an issue, as the owner will usually be there. Don't let that part of our review sway you. It really was a fantastic place.

Room Tip: Since there's not too much privacy in the rooms, choose a room off the ground floor for a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Comfortable stay for first visit to Marrakesh.Very attentive and helpful hosts, they took time each day to speak personaly to their guests, nothing too much trouble.
A well -run Riad with a good hardworking staff group.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I simply cannot say enough about the perfection of this Riad.

My husband and I traveled to Marrakech from Sevilla, Spain for two nights and stayed at the Riad Adriana. Neither of us had been to Morocco and had heard both horror stories and praise of the city. Needless to say, we were on our guard and arrived nervous but excited.

We asked for the Riad to arrange a taxi for us after reading reviews suggesting to do so. It was well worth the 14 euros (7 per person). We never would have found it otherwise. It isn't far from the taxi drop but until you are comfortable with the area, it can be difficult to navigate. Be prepared to provide a small tip to the man (in our case, men - that was our mistake) who escorts you the final leg of the journey, from the taxi drop to the door of the Riad.

Once at the Riad, we were immediately provided tea and biscuits and a very warm welcome. The courtyard is beautiful and a breath of calm and fresh air after the chaos of Marrakech. Soon after arrival, Idriss, the manager, came to meet with us and gave us all the information we needed for the duration of the trip. He went through the map with us, pointing out landmarks that would help us find our way, safe ATMs, the best areas to visit and what to look for if we felt lost. He provided us with his personal cell phone number and assured us we could call at anytime if we felt we needed help in any way. He also taught us a bit about haggling at the souks and what we should be paying for certain things. The time he took to go over this information with us truly set us at ease and we followed his advice to the T and as a result, had an extremely positive experience in Morocco.

He also showed us around the Riad, including the roof deck where we ate breakfast on our final day. He went through our room with us, showed us the 'living room' (a common area where dinner is served and the tv is located) and continued to check in with us throughout our stay to ensure we were comfortable. He and his wife were truly invested in helping us enjoy our time in Marrakech.

The rooms do not lock securely, they are held only with a padlock. However, it is impossible for anyone to get into the Riad (even guests) without knocking and being personally greeted by the staff. So it is (and feels) extremely safe regardless. In fact, we left our passports, wallets and computer (also, free WIFI - bonus) in our room at all times and our things were never disturbed.

We ate dinner at the Riad our first evening and it was filling but I can't give it an accurate review because I don't eat meat and was unable to eat most of the main course. But knowing the woman who cooked it for us worked hard on the meal that day (we saw her several times in the kitchen) made the meal enjoyable regardless. Breakfast consisted of juice, coffee, tea, yogurt, pastries and crepes with jams and honey. Delish!

We had a truly wonderful experience at the Riad and my husband and I both agree it helped us fall in love with the city of Marrakech. Do not hesitate to stay at Riad Adriana!

Room Tip: A room on the ground floor may be a bit noisier (although the entire Riad is whisper-quiet) so if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Adriana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Adriana

Address: 99, derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,092 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Adriana 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Adriana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Adriana Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Adriana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.