We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Oasis to explore Marrakesh and beyond!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zouina

Save Saved
You added Riad Zouina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Riad Zouina
43, Rue Sidi Yamani - El Mouassine, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 1,032 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect Oasis to explore Marrakesh and beyond!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The location, staff and decor of Riad Ziouna were exceptional. Even though the hustle and bustle of the medina (and the main square Djemma el Fna) where all a few minutes away you could easily relax in the riad if you needed some downtime, and taxis to Hivernage and Ville Nouvelle (where a lot of restaurants are), can be found at the end of the street. The advice and guidance of Catherine was extremely helpful and we would recommend anyone to stay here if wanting a Riad experience in Marrakesh. We will definitely book again when coming back to Marrakesh (and will brush up on French as it will help). Thanks to Catherine and all at Riad Ziouna!

Room Tip: We did not see all rooms, but ours (Jasmine) was lovely and generally cool as on ground floor, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
72
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great riad, charming, Catherine was very helpful and nice. The wheather is very hot, so the pool is a bless.
It is very close to the market jemma el fna, we only stayed for 2 nights, wished we stayed longer. Maybe next time.
Greetings from Romania.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the tranquility of the place and the warmth of the staff, especially the owner, Catherine, who made our stay very pleasant. The staff are delightful and discrete. Breakfast on the sunny terrace is fantastic and dinner is of a very high quality. Don't forget to experience a massage!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I enjoyed the beautiful tranquility of this riad in the midst of the hustle and bustle of the Medina. It is so tastefully furnished, with numerous terraces and secluded areas to relax, affording wonderful views of the Atlas Mountains and the rest of the city. Our room was wonderful with a carved and painted ceiling. There were fresh roses, fruit and pastries on our arrival. A delicious breakfast is served on the terrace and the evening meals are amazing, with good choice and all freshly sourced and cooked ingredients. Nothing seemed too much trouble for our hosts and the staff. I very much hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was my second visit to this fantastic riad in 5 months. I cannot rate it highly enough. Catherine and Maurice are the most welcoming and informative of hosts. The staff are all delightful and so friendly. I was even shown how to make the delicious Moroccan pancakes and allowed to make my own for breakfast! Our room was amazing with the most elaborately carved and painted ceiling. Thick fluffy towels in the spotless bathroom and really hot water. Lovely fresh flowers, fruit and pastries in the room and complimentary bottled water each day. Nothing is too much trouble for our hosts. The riad is so central for the medina and easy to find. The dinners are absolutely superb and put some of the highly rated city restaurants in the shade. I hope to return in the autumn.

Room Tip: First floor gets more light than ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Many thanks to Catherine and her team for the sincere hospitality and kindness to ensure our five nights at Riad Zouina, and first visit ever to Marrakech, were so memorable. The riad has a wonderful elegant ambience, due to the beautiful, traditional artistry and carefully selected furnishings from many of the local souks. The breakfast was freshly prepared, graciously served, and enormous. Catherine was incredibly accommodating to help with all our needs, even to have invited guests for a lunch on short notice. Such a house, such a location, such a memory!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This riad is actually two riads joined together, thereby allowing space for the most magnificent roof terrace with views over the Atlas mountains. The rooms are tastefully decorated, the water in the bathroom is really hot. We were provided with bottled water each day as well as fruit and Moroccan pastries. Breakfast on the terrace was delicious - dinner in the salon even more so and very reasonably priced. The riad has its own hammam as well which means you don't have to walk around with wet hair afterwards. Madame was away in France during our visit but her husband Maurice was charming and the girls were all delightful. We can't wait to return - have already booked for March. This is a very special place.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms can't access Wifi - check first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Zouina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zouina

Address: 43, Rue Sidi Yamani - El Mouassine, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 1,032 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RYAD ZOUINA is situated in a prime location, on the main street of district “Mouassine", the most wellknown of the Medina : only seven minutes by feet from the famous Jemaa El Fna Square and three minutes from the Souks. As soon as you come through the remarkable chiselled copper door, you will be amazed at the space, quietness and spell of the site. Two authentic ancient ryads were gathered together, restored and turned into Guest House with deepest care of preserving the priceless architectural inheritance and with the full respect for Moroccan traditions. The whole RYAD ZOUINA gets now a huge surface (almost 1000 square meters) with only 10 bedrooms and 2 patios, 2 living-rooms, 1 hammam, 1 massages room, 1 swimming pool/jacuzzi, 1 terrace for breakfasts and 2 panoramic ones. Catherine, the owner, lives on site and will welcome you in her house, making your stay in Marrakesh an unforgettable experiment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Zouina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zouina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.