We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“going the extra mile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zouina

Save Saved
You added Riad Zouina to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Zouina
43, Rue Sidi Yamani - El Mouassine, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 1,054 Marrakech B&B and Inns
cambridge
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“going the extra mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was my second visit to this fantastic riad in 5 months. I cannot rate it highly enough. Catherine and Maurice are the most welcoming and informative of hosts. The staff are all delightful and so friendly. I was even shown how to make the delicious Moroccan pancakes and allowed to make my own for breakfast! Our room was amazing with the most elaborately carved and painted ceiling. Thick fluffy towels in the spotless bathroom and really hot water. Lovely fresh flowers, fruit and pastries in the room and complimentary bottled water each day. Nothing is too much trouble for our hosts. The riad is so central for the medina and easy to find. The dinners are absolutely superb and put some of the highly rated city restaurants in the shade. I hope to return in the autumn.

Room Tip: First floor gets more light than ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    17
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
78
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Many thanks to Catherine and her team for the sincere hospitality and kindness to ensure our five nights at Riad Zouina, and first visit ever to Marrakech, were so memorable. The riad has a wonderful elegant ambience, due to the beautiful, traditional artistry and carefully selected furnishings from many of the local souks. The breakfast was freshly prepared, graciously served, and enormous. Catherine was incredibly accommodating to help with all our needs, even to have invited guests for a lunch on short notice. Such a house, such a location, such a memory!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This riad is actually two riads joined together, thereby allowing space for the most magnificent roof terrace with views over the Atlas mountains. The rooms are tastefully decorated, the water in the bathroom is really hot. We were provided with bottled water each day as well as fruit and Moroccan pastries. Breakfast on the terrace was delicious - dinner in the salon even more so and very reasonably priced. The riad has its own hammam as well which means you don't have to walk around with wet hair afterwards. Madame was away in France during our visit but her husband Maurice was charming and the girls were all delightful. We can't wait to return - have already booked for March. This is a very special place.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms can't access Wifi - check first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were expected in the airport and they bring us until the Riad. Then they open the front door and you directly feel the very warm athmosphere. Catherine, her husband and the staff are all friendly and make you feel comfortable.
They give you all the information you need to enjoy Marrakech.
The beautiful hamman is perfect. First you stay relaxing and after half an hour, a lady comes for massages etc.
The Riad is in the Medina, close to the souks and the main square. It is so nice, after spending a day surrounded by people in the hot weather, to come back and stay in such a relaxing house.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a relaxed, warm and comfortable Riad in the medina, in the Bab Ksour area which is very convenient for exploring the souks and reaching the square.

Catherine very much makes you feel as though the Riad is your own home, it has a very warm and family-run atmosphere. Her staff are also friendly and excellent, and breakfast is tasty and substantial. We had dinner there on the first evening and the flavours were fantastic, the produce fresh and the food was in abundance.

The courtyard and pool area provides a wonderful cool oasis on hot days, and the air conditioning and hot water systems worked perfectly. The terrace is large (Zouina is actually two Riads joined together), and a wonderful place to have breakfast or a sunset drink.

I traveled with my parents and it was their first trip to Marrakech. They absolutely loved it and enjoyed the relaxed environment Zouina provided. They both had spa treatments at Zouina and said they were fantastic.

My only negative comment would be the use of generic soaps such as Lux in the bathrooms. Morocco is known for its apothecaries and beauty products, a local soap and locally sourced body products would be a nice touch.

This is not one of Marrakech's 5 star Riads (the price reflects this, it is excellent value), but if you want a warm, welcoming, beautiful and relaxed Riad, Zouina won't disappoint.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

In our first trip to Marrakech, we did not know what to expect. Either from our choice of hotel or the surrounding area.
We were greatly surprised by both!
Riad Zouina, offered us an oasis to the hot, hectic, dizzy lifestyle that is Marrakechs' Medina.
From the very first time we entered the Riad Zouina we were welcomed with open arms. As if we were family. Our room was always clean and fresh and the room's air conditioner, which worked overtime because of the intense heat outside, never faltered. The rooms are quiet and the bedding comfortable. The service was impeccable
Now we come to the important part, the food. Marrakech is famous for it's restaurants, it is true but you must have dinner at the Riad Zouina. You will not be disappointed. The Moroccan cuisine is outstanding and having dinner on the roof of the Riad is a special moment you and your loved one, will not forget. A truly romantic experience.
When you visit Marrakech, we highly recommend you stay at the Riad Zouina.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great location (a few steps from Jamel El Fna, the souks...), great breakfasts, nice pool (not big, but sizeable enough even for the kids to enjoy), beautiful courtyards, nice views from the terrasse, Catherine is helpful whenever you have questions, good hamman, large and nicely decorated rooms, kept very clean.
Only one downside: the last few days were hot and the AC had a hard time keeping up, so the rooms were quite hot when good to bed. Would still recommend very much that place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Zouina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zouina

Address: 43, Rue Sidi Yamani - El Mouassine, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 1,054 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RYAD ZOUINA is situated in a prime location, on the main street of district “Mouassine", the most wellknown of the Medina : only seven minutes by feet from the famous Jemaa El Fna Square and three minutes from the Souks. As soon as you come through the remarkable chiselled copper door, you will be amazed at the space, quietness and spell of the site. Two authentic ancient ryads were gathered together, restored and turned into Guest House with deepest care of preserving the priceless architectural inheritance and with the full respect for Moroccan traditions. The whole RYAD ZOUINA gets now a huge surface (almost 1000 square meters) with only 10 bedrooms and 2 patios, 2 living-rooms, 1 hammam, 1 massages room, 1 swimming pool/jacuzzi, 1 terrace for breakfasts and 2 panoramic ones. Catherine, the owner, lives on site and will welcome you in her house, making your stay in Marrakesh an unforgettable experiment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Zouina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zouina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;