We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to discover and relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alida

Save Saved
You added Riad Alida to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Alida
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   7 , Rue Dar El Bacha - Sidi Ali Tair, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #534 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Kleinmachnow, Germany
1 review
“Good place to discover and relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The riad is centrally located in the medina, but a little detached from the turbulent souks. All the sights are within walking distance, and in case you want a taxi, there is always one waiting just outside. Once inside you forget the noise and the crowd in the souks and can relax in the sun in a deckchair on the fine terrasse or in the quiet atmosphere of the inner yard. Our (superior) room was large enough with a splendid bathroom and fine decorations in the local style. The window opens to the inner yard so that the room tends to be a little on the dark side. Breakfast is served including fresh orange juice and traditional maroccan pancakes. We tried the a la carte food one night, it was very good maroccan style cooking and the salad was excellent, very recommendable. A wonderful place to spend the days in Marrakech.

Room Tip: We chose the superior room "Yasmine", which is slightly bigger and offers a splendid bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    19
    2
    7
    2
See reviews for
12
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a beautiful riad we stayed at with friends, and we all loved the building and location. It is quiet, full of charm, and the rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. The central courtyard, with its water pool and plants, is a delightful place to sit and relax or use the internet. The location is fantastic, in the medina, and it is really easy to get to the souks or the main sightseeing attractions on foot. It's also right in the tailors' district, so if you want to get a hand-made item of clothing, this is the place to try! Like other reviewers, though, we found the welcome more than a little lacking - and certainly not what we have been used to elsewhere in Morocco. The staff should really pay attention to this. Also we booked through an agency, Sahara Atlas Tours, and the price was very reasonable, but when we saw the tarifs they charge individuals, which was about 50% higher, we knew we would not book this for ourselves in future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The Riad is in a good location close to all the souks and less than 10 mins from the Dejma el Fna. It is clean and beautifully decorated it is such a shame that the one element that doesnt cost anything should be so lacking; service. When we arrived at the Riad the welcome was frosty, the woman wanted to know what agency we had booked through and what our booking reference was. I showed her my confirmation and after a while she realized we did indeed have a booking. Why the confusion I don't know, I think we were the only people staying there that night! When we asked for directions to find the square, again she was not particularly helpful, we left confused to find our own way. The wifi seemed not to be working so we asked about it, and were just told it was working! Overall not a very disappointing stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pavot double room, it was lovely. Small and a bit dimly lit, but nice and I loved t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo,Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Thank you all for a very pleasant stay in your hotel. We loved the room/suite, the beautiful patio and the terrace on the top. We are glad to have a hotel in Marrarkech that we surely will come back to. Best wishes to all from Signe and Astrid

Room Tip: It depends on what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Very nice "patio" and bedroom. Quiet and offering a good relation price/quality. Good breakfast and location, near the square and the souks!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Very friendly staff and excellent service.
Riad Alida is not a luxury riad but it is very comfortable, relaxing and a very quiet place. Good breakfast and excellent mint tea.
Riad Alida is a place I would come back to and recommend to friends.
Thank you Hafssa to make our stay so pleasant!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Lovely place, very clean, beautifull decoration, quiet, we were a couple and 2 adults.
Simple but charm. Very good atention from reception
Recomended !!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Alida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alida

Address: 7 , Rue Dar El Bacha - Sidi Ali Tair, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #534 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Alida 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Riad Alida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.