We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but no welcome” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alida

Save Saved
You added Riad Alida to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Alida
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   7 , Rue Dar El Bacha - Sidi Ali Tair, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #550 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place but no welcome”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The Riad is in a good location close to all the souks and less than 10 mins from the Dejma el Fna. It is clean and beautifully decorated it is such a shame that the one element that doesnt cost anything should be so lacking; service. When we arrived at the Riad the welcome was frosty, the woman wanted to know what agency we had booked through and what our booking reference was. I showed her my confirmation and after a while she realized we did indeed have a booking. Why the confusion I don't know, I think we were the only people staying there that night! When we asked for directions to find the square, again she was not particularly helpful, we left confused to find our own way. The wifi seemed not to be working so we asked about it, and were just told it was working! Overall not a very disappointing stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pavot double room, it was lovely. Small and a bit dimly lit, but nice and I loved t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    16
    1
    7
    2
See reviews for
12
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo,Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Thank you all for a very pleasant stay in your hotel. We loved the room/suite, the beautiful patio and the terrace on the top. We are glad to have a hotel in Marrarkech that we surely will come back to. Best wishes to all from Signe and Astrid

Room Tip: It depends on what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porto
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Very nice "patio" and bedroom. Quiet and offering a good relation price/quality. Good breakfast and location, near the square and the souks!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Very friendly staff and excellent service.
Riad Alida is not a luxury riad but it is very comfortable, relaxing and a very quiet place. Good breakfast and excellent mint tea.
Riad Alida is a place I would come back to and recommend to friends.
Thank you Hafssa to make our stay so pleasant!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Lovely place, very clean, beautifull decoration, quiet, we were a couple and 2 adults.
Simple but charm. Very good atention from reception
Recomended !!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We booked 3 rooms. We had asked for 4-star accom. One room was superb.One was OK, but no TV and lots of noise outside the door, making sleeping difficult. But the third room was a hole - very small, spartan, A/C not working, noisy - 2-star at the most.
Obviously the tiad overboked and sold a rubbish room at full price. When we complained they were impolite. We left and went elsewhere. Lost our money of course.
This highlights the need for travellers to check with their booking agency that all rooms will be up to the desired standard.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2007

We have just returned from a night at Riad Alida in Marrakesh. The First visit to the Riad, three month ago, was enchanting and out of this world. We have never experienced such an incredible ambiance before. It was so magical that I couldn’t stop taking pictures of the place. In fact I added some to my blog.

On this trip, I asked my spouse to book us the same room at the Riad for our first and last night in Marrakesh since we were going to be traveling around the rest of the time. We couldn't wait to get back to the Riad and the magical effect it left on us.
My spouse confirmed the reservation the previous day, but upon her arrival, about four thirty in the afternoon, she discovered that the room was not ready, although she was given the key. After complaining, they promised to get the room ready while she was picking me up from the airport. When we returned the room was ready. We enjoyed the evening. The following morning, their breakfast selection was not up to par with our first visit.

The biggest problem occurred on the last night. We arrived about four-thirty in the afternoon; again the room was not ready. We were asked to wait in the lobby. We were made to feel comfortable while they set up the room. We ordered dinner for two to be served at 8:30 in the evening, and we asked to have it served on the patio. The dinner was served but in the dining room. They didn’t get the patio ready. After dinner we went to our room. Within few minutes I was on my knees in the bathroom vomiting, followed by a severe case of diarrhea. Next it was my spouse’s turn with the same symptoms. The following day my spouse talked to the manager about our nightmare, only a hollowed apology was made. That’s it.
Overall I would say this Riad has lots of potential, but they must get their act in gear. They have to be more organized and follow food safety procedures.

  • Liked — Decor
  • Disliked — size
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
Charming, Pool...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Riad Ifoulki
Riad Ifoulki
#185 of 461 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Wheelchair acce...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Ryad Zahraa
Ryad Zahraa
#19 of 30 in Meknes
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
B&Bs, 5-star, I...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Medina Loft
Medina Loft
#745 of 1,040 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quiet, Pool, Mi...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Dar Justo
Dar Justo
#275 of 1,040 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Riad Opale
Riad Opale
#704 of 1,040 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Beverage Select...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Riad Sidi Mimoune
Riad Sidi Mimoune
#541 of 1,040 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Alida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alida

Address: 7 , Rue Dar El Bacha - Sidi Ali Tair, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #550 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Alida 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Riad Alida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.