We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of relax in the heart of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Zahia

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Zahia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Dar Zahia
60 derb El Hammam, Mouassine | Marrakech medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Santander, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oasis of relax in the heart of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Definitely an oasis of peace in the heart of the busy and chaotic Medina. After a hot day of wandering around the narrow souks and markets of the old town, bargain and tasting the delis of Marrakesh, coming back to Dar Zahia and relax in this extra fine acommodation was a priceless experience. Paolo and rest of the staff were very nice and kind, and make the stay a trully recomforting medication for those like us, who scape from the stress of daily office work.
Don´t forget to try at least breakfast and dinner here, food was top quality and completelly traditional home made style.
Ah, and finally don´t loose your time and effort pulling your bags to/from the airport, let Paolo offer you the local way ;)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    26
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
173
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The Riad Dar Zahia is a wonderful place to stay. It retains the original ornate plasterwork and carvings which are equally as impressive. The Riad is small and cosy with lots of attention to detail. The three course dinner we ate on our first night could not be improved and compared favourably with top priced restaurants in the area. Breakfast is plentiful with lots of variety, from fresh fruit to crepes, omelette and pastries. The very spacious bedroom (suite) is extremely comfortable with a choice of chairs for relaxation as well as a terrace. There is also a beautiful roof terrace if you wish to catch some sun.
Many thanks to Paolo and staff who could not have made our stay any better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxor, Egypt
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Wow!

Riad Dar Zahia, our second Riad, was truly spectacular; 18th Century opulence was the order of the day. Although our other, first, Riad was placed higher in TA’s lists, I would say that the two are actually incomparable as they are both absolutely beautiful but in entirely different ways. Riad Dar Zahia has retained its unique 18th Century charm, as can be seen in the few photographs that I've included in this review. (Plus, the Dar Zahia is situated right in the middle of the souks!)

Paulo, the owner (an affable Italian, whose English is excellent and who is often knocking about the place) arranged for us to be served tea whenever we required, even providing an overnight tray for us with a Thermos flask etc. We appreciated this enormously, as the staff finished at 10pm and didn’t normally return until 8 the following morning. There was no additional charge.

The breakfasts were ample and very good, including bread and butter, jam, cheese, fruits and yogurts, lovely orange juice, pastries, fatirs, eggs and tea and coffee. We thoroughly enjoyed them!

Our suite, "Saida", was altogether sumptuous! The furnishings were all in keeping with the general ambience of a luxurious home. The bedding was of a high quality, and very comfortable and warm; the evenings and nights were still quite chilly in Marrakech when we visited in March.

The suites crowning glory, however, was the fabulous sunken bath/shower. It would be difficult to describe it adequately, so please have a look at my photo’s.

I’ve no hesitation in recommending this astounding place to anyone who is looking for a Riad which exemplifies the genuine Marrakchi heritage of Islamic architecture and decoration, it is truly beautiful!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We in fact stayed in the sister property Riad Anjar run by the same team. We were made to feel at home and nothing was too much trouble from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.
Placed 5 minutes walk from the nearest road and 2-3 minutes from the edge of the souks. We took an excursion to Telouet on one day and it was a great contract to the hustle of Marrakech.
All of the team there were charming and I cannot than thank them enough for making our stay really a pleasure.

Room Tip: All the rooms were similar and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We went to Marrakech for 6 days in march and we had the best time! If you are looking at this Riad get it! The italien couple who run it make your stay Perfect in any way they can, and you will get a much better time in Marrakech following there lead! We took the Cooking class they offer as well, and it was a blast. We made chicken Tajine and moroccon pancakes!
The chef and the rest of the staff are fantastic as well!
Marrakech can be "much" and coming back to the Riad after a long day with dust and mopeds it feels like haven!!!

Desiree

Room Tip: We stayed at the ground floor in the anjar part, get a room on the higher floors as it is a bit nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed for the w/end in early March - arrived around midnight on Friday and left on Sunday afternoon. Paolo the owner could not be more helpful, meeting us from the Taxi to show us through the winding streets and alleys to his Riad. Like most Riads the outside is nothing but an ordinary door, but the inside is as peaceful and relaxing place you would ever want to stay and also beautiful & clean.
Paolo could not have been more helpful, giving us directions (vital initially - although you pick it up quickly), where best to visit and eat etc.
As other reviews have mentioned - it feels like you are staying in a private house - you can come and go when you like and it is a brilliant place to get away from the chaos of the centre...
I would definitely recommend this Riad for anyone wanting a central but relaxing location.

Paul & Toni Knight
UK

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmde1, Direttore at Riad Dar Zahia, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thanks Paul thanks Toni, you have been as well perfect Guests.
Hopfully we'll meet again in the future. Inch'Allah!
Beslama!
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We have just spent 5 nights at The Riad Dar Zahia, overall ,we had a very enjoyable, relaxing time.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for us. It felt like we were staying as friends at a private home rather than a hotel.
Our room was very clean and beautifully decorated, although a little dark, the upstairs rooms seem to enjoy a little more natural light.
We would have no hesitation booking this hotel again if we re visit Marrakech
Tracey and Keith
Uk

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room for more light and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Zahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zahia

Address: 60 derb El Hammam, Mouassine | Marrakech medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Zahia enjoys an exceptional location. It is located at Mouassine, one of the most exuberant and beautiful districtsin the heart of the Medina, a 2-minute walk from the vitality of the famous Jemaa el Fna, without giving up the tranquility and intimacy.Dar Zahia has been renovated with the utmost respect for the ancient art, which amazes with its magnificent architecture that reflects the talent of Moroccan craftsmen. You will find the magic of the workmanship and decoration of wood, stucco, tadelakt, zellige, admiring the rich colors of the fabrics and the wonder of antique furniture.Dar Zahia consists of an amazing open-air patio, a living room warm and welcoming with a fireplace, a private terrace surrounded by plants, three stylish suites comfortably sized, two of which have fireplaces and private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Dar Zahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zahia Hotel Marrakech
Riad Dar Zahia Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Zahia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.