We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing honey moon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Zahia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Dar Zahia to your Saves list
Riad Dar Zahia
60 derb El Hammam, Mouassine | Marrakech medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #42 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Montreal, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing honey moon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My wife and I visited Morocco in October for a 2.5 week honey moon holiday. To set the stage, for the first week of our honeymoon we stayed at the Four Seasons hotel in Marrakech, so our expectations were exceptionally high. Unfortunately our booking changed many times at the last minute, however Poalo and Emmanuella were always there willing and ready to help accommodate me as best they could.

One thing to mention; the service. It was simply exquisite. While the service at the Four Seasons the week before was nothing short of first class, the personal service Emmanuela and Poalo gave my wife and I was second to none. Them and their amazing staff prepared home made meals for us that rivaled the best cooking we had on our trip. In addition, their knowledge of the medina and eateries was critical in finding our way around the seemly endless maze that was the old city. You could tell that they genuinely cared.

As for the rooms and the building, the facilities were very clean and well kept with beautiful traditional decorations. It really gave you the true authentic Moroccan experience.

If I were to return to Morocco, the first email I would send would be to book a visit at one of the Riad’s owned by Emmanuella and Poalo. Hands down, one of the most amazing experiences and beautiful places my wife and I have ever visited.

Room Tip: It's a MUST to get one of the rooms on the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    28
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
29
187
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Very welcoming..and nothing was too much trouble! Don't hesitate to book. The owner and staff here will take great care of you from the booking process, airport arrivals, hospitality, days out and transfers back to the airport.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Honestly, just book it now!! My boyfriend and I stayed for a few days and it was absolutely beautiful. It's a short walk in to the Medina from the edge. A completely unexpected paradise just off a main street, very close to all the sites of the Medina! The staff were just so so lovely, so friendly, kind and accommodating, telling you all the good things to do and see and continuously plying you with mint tea (with loads of sugar!!). Breakfast was delicious and vast!! The rooms were excellent and covered in rose petals on arrival, which was just so beautiful. There are plenty of excellent places to eat near by and the main square is only a 10 minute walk away. We would thoroughly recommend and couldn't have had a nicer stay. Thank you for your hospitality!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

It's been a really pleasant trip from the start! Good communication prior to arrival and everything that followed was well taken care of by Emanuela & Paolo & their staff. The raid is within walking distance to the souks and it's relatively easy to get to with good amenities nearby.

Jardin Anjar is unpretentiously beautiful - every piece of furniture and the small details. Waking up to the relaxing music played in the riad was one of the greatest things! They want you to feel at home and you just do as soon as you step into the riad. Love this place!

Breakfast was yummy - both food and drinks. The new year's eve feast prepared by the amazing Lina and the ladies at the riad - every dish was VERY YUMMY to say the least!! Emanuela & Paolo are great hosts, everyone had fun and it was a great night!

Many Thanks to Emanuela & Paolo... All their staff are very personable and welcoming, I wish them all the best... They're really nice people doing such a great job Mashallah :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

If you are looking at this Riad or Riad Anjar, just book! Everything that was said before is true. Wonderful building and staff for a holiday like a fairy tale from 1001 nights. Emanuela and Paolo and their staff have the philosophy this wonderful Riad should feel like your home and do everything to make you enjoy your holiday. Nice breakfast with variety, and every day fresh fruit and yoghurt. We ate in one evening and got a wonderful Tangia (not a tajine), something you will usually not get in the restaurants as it takes very long to prepare. Perfect location, a little north from the central square so within walking distance from all (maps on tripadvisor, booking.com and google are incorrect for the Medina) nice things to do. Walking to the Jardin Majorelle is 10-15 minutes (this is the furthest north you will go) and to the Royal gardens (furthest south) is also 10-15 minutes. Everything else within the Medina is 5 minutes away, top restaurant Maison MK even less than 1 minute. Disadvantages(Riad Anjar) as mentioned before are minor: Hard to regulate shower temperature and no insulation from noise as the doors to your room are part of a frame that is placed 5cm (2 inches) in front of the wall, leaving a wide gap. Very nice price compared to what is offered. So no need to look at the other 400 Riads!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed in this Riad last month and it was a very nice experience.
First time for us in Marrakech. The city is dazzling and with loads of tourists. We never felt unsafe.
The Riad is beautifully located in che center of the Medina. We were greeted at the airport and taken directly to the Riad, which was a delight to us.
Staff is delicious and always ready to help.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I honestly cannot recommend this Riad enough, from picking me up from the airport, through to dropping me off at the end of my trip, everything was made perfect by Emanuela and Paolo and their staff, which feel more like a family to which you are accepted with open arms.

The rooms are exactly as described below and on their website, what you do not get a sense of is just how accommodating the owners are, i honestly felt like no matter what my question or request, anyone would have gone above and beyond to meet my needs. For example, at around 12 am on my second day into a four day trip, i decided i would like a trip into the atlas mountains, this was arranged almost instantly for a price that was extremely competitive whilst still providing an amazing experience

The owners do have another Riad less that five mins walk away, which seems to be the main Riad of the two however, that does not detract from the beauty of Riad Dar Zahia or the experience of the stay.

Although the Riad is tucked away down a little maze of alleyways, once you are shown how to get in and out, its absolutely fine. it is well light at night which does take away the imposing feeling of the rather tall buildings, anyone i passed in this alleyway maze greeted me with a smile and a good morning/afternoon/evening. It is worth noting that the other Riad although still tucked away, would be easier to find if not using the transfer service, which i personally suggest either way as it makes the whole experience far easier.

I will literally never stay anywhere else if i return to Morocco, the location of the Riad means you a no more than a 2min walk away from one of the many starts of the other maze that is the souks.

Thank you both for an amazing stay and i hope that all the other readers take you up on the amazing experience you offer.

Room Tip: I had the privilege of seeing all of the rooms in this Riad, all of which would have received the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Zahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zahia

Address: 60 derb El Hammam, Mouassine | Marrakech medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Zahia enjoys an exceptional location. It is located at Mouassine, one of the most exuberant and beautiful districts in the heart of the Medina, a 2-minute walk from the vitality of the famous Jemaa el Fna, without giving up the tranquility and intimacy.Dar Zahia has been renovated with the utmost respect for the ancient art, which amazes with its magnificent architecture that reflects the talent of Moroccan craftsmen. You will find the magic of the workmanship and decoration of wood, stucco, tadelakt, zellige, admiring the rich colors of the fabrics and the wonder of antique furniture.Dar Zahia consists of an amazing open-air patio, a living room warm and welcoming with a fireplace, a private terrace surrounded by plants, three stylish suites comfortably sized, two of which have fireplaces and private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Zahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zahia Hotel Marrakech
Riad Dar Zahia Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Zahia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.