We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Splendid!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Zahia

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Zahia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Zahia
60 derb El Hammam, Mouassine | Marrakech medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Bergerac
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Splendid!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I chose the Riad dar Zahia because of the glowing comments of others and I was not disappointed in any way. I cannot fault the hospitality, care and attention that was lavished on us by Paolo, Emanuela and their wonderful staff. Nothing was too much trouble and we were given advice on where to eat and where to go. Paolo went with us to the foothills of the Atlas Mountains and acted as our guide which was a wonderful experience. We enjoyed a cooking lesson making a tagine and our own bread, etc. The Riad is absolutely splendid, so beautiful and comfortable where one is surrounded by beauty. The situation was perfect, being in the centre of the Medina and we were met the Airport and transported to our Riad. Paolo and Emanuela own another beautiful Riad about 5 minutes walk away where one is also welcome to come and go. We had our cooking lesson in this Riad, which has a small pool, and we also had some meals which were very good.

Room Tip: The Superior suite lives up to its name but they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    26
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
177
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I never would guess that in that dark (but very safe) alley in Marrakech there would be a hotel like this. a dream to enter. only a few rooms give you a feeling of being a vip person. they also threat you that way. The room was perfect and romantic, the atmosphere is great but above all the hoses Emanuela gives you a warm and family feeling during the stay. I will go back in the future

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I had the most amazing stay and experience in Riad Dar Zahia and Marrakech. Despite all the reading about Marrakech to prepare myself and mom, we were still shock when we arrived at the Medina.
Our stay would not have been better without Emanuel and Paolo's tips and guidance. They even go out of the way to show us the Medina and help us to get our direction right as we arrived in the evening.

The Riad were adorned with all the beautiful local accessories, brass shower head, beautiful lantern etc. The breakfast was great, a balance breakfast that is just what one needed for a great start of the day. And the employees there are just fantastic, always happy and helpful.

Lastly, I would also recommend you to take up the travel that is organized by Paolo to visit the "real" Morocco outside Marrakech. My mom and me had a wonderful time. This is easily one of our top trip and stay at a hotel and I would love to visit again in the near future.

Room Tip: When I was booking the Riad, I noted that most of the Riad does not offer king size bed but it was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugalete, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I'm afraid that this review is simply going to echo those before me. Paolo & Emanuela and the women who work for them are all simply wonderful. The riad itself is stunning. No, it doesn't have a pool, but they run another riad that does have one (which is also lovely) if that is something that you must have.

Riad Dar Zahia is extremely intimate with only three rooms. The rooms themselves are all beautifully decorated and very large. The A/C was certainly strong enough to battle the July temperatures. While the rooftop doesn't have a view, the high walls do keep that calm, intimate sense that is in the rest of the riad. It is a wonderful place to relax and do a bit of reading or sunbathing if you'd like. Breakfast, included, was nice and filling. Yogurt, fruit, bread and jam- all delicious! My husband and I are unable to eat wheat and there was no problem accommodating us during breakfast, dinner, or even during our cooking class! We actually had fresh bread- heaven!

We organized our cooking class and a lovely excursion into the mountains with Paolo. He took us to visit some Berber villages where we were invited into homes and even learned a bit at a Quran school. I was quite sick for most of our trip (pregnancy, not something I picked up in Marrakech) and Paolo & Emanuela went out of their way to make sure that I wanted for nothing.

I realize this review seems to be more for the owners than for the Riad, but there's a reason for that. Marrakech is filled with so many beautiful Riads for every budget. I believe it's the people that will make your special and Paolo & Emanuela do just that. Our second anniversary and most likely last romantic trip away alone together (for 18 years or so) was just perfect. Thank you very much everyone at Riad Dar Zahia!

Room Tip: The two rooms upstairs offer a bit more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santander, Cantabria, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Best of all is the friendly welcome and relation with Emmanuella and Paolo, owners of the establishment since the beggining of 2013 (previous opinions are not from the actual management). Is a friendly environment within the "jungle" of the medina. Very helpfull with all indications, recommendations, booking of restaurants, spa, etc,... Nice and complete breakfast. (fruit included, essential for me)
The riad itself is a little wonder, we got one of the rooms upstairs. It is located inside the maze of la medina. The only "negative" aspect, just to find one, is the absence of a little pool for the summer season; but you have the option of a spa anyway.
Tottaly recomendable. Completamente recomendable.
Gracce to both ;)

Room Tip: Si es en verano, mejor las habitaciones de la planta superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

There are too many superlatives for the Riad Dar Zahia and her owners Paolo & Emanuela it's hard to know where to start!!

Being picked up from the airport by Paolo and Maria-Ciara was great as the last thing you want to do is try and find your own way through the labyrinth of endless tunnels and passageways, it's scary!!

The light at the end of these seemingly incomprehensible snaking passages is the Riad Dar Zahia! from the understated doorway you just wouldn't know what gem lies beyond - it's an oasis of calm, packed with history, beautiful artefacts and bits and bobs and most importantly Paolo & Emanuela!

Having someone to answers our questions and show us where to go was invaluable - it really felt like coming home when we entered the doorway to the Riad from the crazy Souks and Jemaa (which are right on the doorstep)

Fantastic location, fantastic people and fantastic place, as I said earlier there are just too many superlatives for this place... go and try it for yourself to see!!

Laurence & Hope

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Raid Dar Zahia. The website is quite accurate as the detail of carved and painted wood is very special. There are only four rooms and you feel like you are visiting someone's home instead of a hotel. All of the rooms are large, well appointed and have great air conditioning if you need it.

Emanuela is from Italy and oozes warmth and charm. Her recommendations were also outstanding! She has very good taste and is really cool. She even arranged for us to go to a resort outside of town so we can lay by the pool, have a wonderful lunch and then return to the hustle and bustle of the Medina.

She will tell you how to negotiate with the taxi drivers and vendors too!

It was more like visiting a long lost friend in a magical Moroccan setting.

The breakfasts in the morning were more than enough food with fruit, yogurt, pastries, coffee, tea, orange juice and homemade local treats.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Zahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zahia

Address: 60 derb El Hammam, Mouassine | Marrakech medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Zahia enjoys an exceptional location. It is located at Mouassine, one of the most exuberant and beautiful districtsin the heart of the Medina, a 2-minute walk from the vitality of the famous Jemaa el Fna, without giving up the tranquility and intimacy.Dar Zahia has been renovated with the utmost respect for the ancient art, which amazes with its magnificent architecture that reflects the talent of Moroccan craftsmen. You will find the magic of the workmanship and decoration of wood, stucco, tadelakt, zellige, admiring the rich colors of the fabrics and the wonder of antique furniture.Dar Zahia consists of an amazing open-air patio, a living room warm and welcoming with a fireplace, a private terrace surrounded by plants, three stylish suites comfortably sized, two of which have fireplaces and private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Dar Zahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zahia Hotel Marrakech
Riad Dar Zahia Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Zahia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.