We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Marrakech Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Zahia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Dar Zahia to your Saves list
Riad Dar Zahia
60 derb El Hammam, Mouassine | Marrakech medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #42 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Marrakech Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had a perfect weekend at Dar Zahia, Emanuela & Paolo were incredibly accommodating and took great care of us, recommending and even walking us to restaurants, spas, and other activities.

The Riad itself is absolutely beautifully decorated and comfortable. The rooms were very large and comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful too, but be sure to have them prepare dinner for you, we had the best tajin of our trip in the Riad. Recommend this riad 100%!

Room Tip: I recommend email them personally to determine which room is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    27
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
29
185
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Divonne-les-Bains, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very charming Riad well located in the medina!
The room was huge, the breakfast excellent and the staff perfect!
The riad is very nice, very typical you really feel like being in an arabian fairy tale!

Special thanks to Manuela!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Unfortunately we could stay for one night only. We were warmly welcomed and our room was lovely and the breakfast delicious.
Close and very convenient to the central square and within walking distance (30 minutes)of all the museums and other attractions.
We would definitely stay at Dar Ziah again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Everything at Riad Dar Zahia was perfect!! Emanuela was wonderful and very welcoming, helpful, and charming! Our lunch and breakfast there were delicious. The riad is beautiful and exotic!! I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it highly to friends. The best!!

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Bellingen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for three nights, arriving on New Year's Eve, 2012. First of all, although it's legal for unmarried couples to share a room if they are non-moroccan, I've read that it can be a bit dicey depending on where you stay. Riad owners aren't legally inclined to put aside their Muslim beliefs just because you're a foreigner. This was NOT a problem at all in Dar Zahia. No questions asked and everyone was extremely pleasant.

My girlfriend and I had originally booked a different riad just around the corner called Riad Ilayka, but I believe they over-booked our room so upon arrival we were told we'd be staying at Dar Zahia with the same agreement—no funny business about rate changes or anything. I should note that we still had complete access to Riad Ilayka and the people over there were extremely nice. Riad Ilayka, although bigger and with a few more amenities, lacked the quaint touches and personal charm of Riad Dar Zahia. After meeting the owners of both riads, we were convinced that everything was fine. In the end I was happy with our arrangement.

Paulo and Emanuela, the owners of Dar Zahia were lovely people on all fronts. They were just getting started at this Riad but you couldn't tell based on the experience. Everything was immaculate and beautiful. They were very accommodating and a pleasure to talk to. If memory serves, Paulo is French and Emanueala is Italian. They both speak English.

Our room was terrific and the riad was clean and beautiful to look at. Wifi was available in the "lobby," which is the large open room on the first floor. Although we had a difficult time picking up the signal sometimes in our room on the second floor, if you are near the interior window it works fine.

Breakfast was delicious, featuring coffee, breads, jams and fruit as well as some kind of hot item—a Marrakechi pancake or some other regional specialty—each day. Dinner was delicious as well, although we only ate there once. You can buy a bottle of wine for a very reasonable price off of Paolo's iPad wine list! The technology was striking considering the ancient feeling of everything else in the city.

All in all it was a delightful stay. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms are more secluded, but have poor wifi connectivity. I imagine the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Stayed here with friends and we booked out the whole house.
Was a great stay, really felt like we were in Morocco with such intricate architecture everyone that the eye can see.

The beds were comfortable and the place was clean.
There is a lady that stays there the whole time to make sure we were comfortable. She doesnt speak English but we got by okay on French.

The only downsides were that toilet paper kept running out (probably coz there were six of us and I think toilet paper is seen as a pretty western thing) and that the roof terrace has high walls and no real view. The place is also a little bit hard to find through the windy alleyways, even our guide got lost at first, but it's an ancient city and that's the way it should be experienced anyway. Once you memorise the turns, it is really a great location and right in the heart of the medina close to the main square and all the action.

The breakfasts were good but the dinners were better! We should have booked more dinners at the house as we discovered that Moroccan home food is far better than anything you could get at a restaurant. And better value. The dinner has to be booked in advance but the lady who cooks for this house is a an amazing cook. Restaurant food in Marrakesh tended to be pretty same-same. Home food is where its at.

The owner is a young guy, incredibly laid back and pretty cool guy to chat with.

There is a fireplace that was pretty fun to sit around at night with some drinks (we stayed in winter).

Overall, would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malte
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Two friends and I stayed in Riad dar zahia, after a trip in the desert and before going to Casablanca.To stay at this Riad made our visit to Marocco particulary lovely.Great hospitality
and good service in a traditional house located in an old area of the city. The friendly atmosphere and the extreme helpfulness of our host Tarek was fantastic.We would recommend you dinner at the Riad , the food is really good.
David L

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Zahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zahia

Address: 60 derb El Hammam, Mouassine | Marrakech medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Zahia enjoys an exceptional location. It is located at Mouassine, one of the most exuberant and beautiful districts in the heart of the Medina, a 2-minute walk from the vitality of the famous Jemaa el Fna, without giving up the tranquility and intimacy.Dar Zahia has been renovated with the utmost respect for the ancient art, which amazes with its magnificent architecture that reflects the talent of Moroccan craftsmen. You will find the magic of the workmanship and decoration of wood, stucco, tadelakt, zellige, admiring the rich colors of the fabrics and the wonder of antique furniture.Dar Zahia consists of an amazing open-air patio, a living room warm and welcoming with a fireplace, a private terrace surrounded by plants, three stylish suites comfortably sized, two of which have fireplaces and private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Zahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zahia Hotel Marrakech
Riad Dar Zahia Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Zahia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.