We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confort feeling at home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Akka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Akka to your Saves list
Riad Akka
65, derb Lahbib Magni, | Riad Zitoune Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #106 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Confort feeling at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

After a few weeks through deep Moroccos the perfect spot to re energize in the intense and outstanding city of Marrakech. Excellent rooms, a small but really cosy smiwing pool to provide you a really refreshing experience. Staff really helpfull and attentive.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    12
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
72
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for part of our Honeymoon. The Riad staff were very friendly and only too happy to assist us. We arrived late on our first day and the owner had already booked us a romantic restaurant knowing it was our Honeymoon. Great central location but you would never know you are right in the heart of Marrakesh as its so peaceful. The splash pool was a very welcome escape from the heat and the breakfast was so lovely and fresh. The rooms are a good size complete with the essential air con and beautifully decorated. Hugely recommended for a romantic break away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This is supposed to be an upmarket Riad but don't be fooled. Only the price is upmarket.
Our room was minimalistic with hardly any cupboard/hanging space, very dark with poor entrance door. The most disappointing aspect was no door between bedroom and bathroom except for a poor quality curtain that got soaked from the shower which took ages to produce hot water.
Be Warned!!! I booked and paid a deposit in £'s. When I came to settle the final bill, I was told I could pay in cash in local currency OR if I chose to pay by credit card, the same one that I paid the deposit, then I would be charged an extra 4 percent. A bit late knowing this as you are leaving! Nowhere else in Marrackeh did I encounter this with a credit card.
To be fair, the staff were very helpful and kind and the lounge/dining room were tastefully decorated.

Room Tip: Choose another Riad or hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

An oasis in the walled city. Close to Palace ground thus terrace filled with birdsong (and nothing else).
Freshly cooked personalised breakfasts - delicious and plantiful. Utterly clean. Home from home (nice home).
They couldn't do enough for us - almost butler style service. The twin room is a bit more basic than the doubles, which are lovely.
we were 2 50 year olds and our teenage daughters. ALL of us LOVED it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Riad Akka is a refuge from the buzz and bustle of Marrakech. After a day of sightseeing, it was lovely to go back through the big door into the serenity and beauty of this modern incarnation of a traditional Arab house. The decoration is stunning, from the white plaster walls and red/black accents to the Arabic calligraphy around the balconies and the soaking pool. The service is impeccable, with breakfast at arising, to tea and sweets on the rooftop terrace in the afternoon. A bottle of wine and savories, plus lively conversation, one evening with the Parisian owner (Aurelie) made this the favorite hotel of our trip. The location is perfect, far enough off the main paths to be secluded, but very near the shops, the Place, and the parking area to meet up with our driver.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

I traveled with two others and stayed 3 nites at Riad Akka, and we couldnt be happier about our decision. Only a 5 minute walk to the medina/square. Finding any Riad through all the turns can be challenging, but Aziz at Riad Akka arranged a taxi to pick us up from the train station, which drove us close as he could, and then walked us there the rest of the way. It's quietly tucked away in the labrynthe of passageways, away from any noise. Aziz greeted us at the door and made us feel welcomed and at home. Gave us a map, directed us to all the sites and even made dinner reservations for us elsewhere. He also arranged taxis when we needed them. The riad's decor was contemporary moroccan and tasteful and beautiful! There is a calming, peaceful ambiance here. The lobby/atrium pool was serene and the shared dining room area were we had a home cooked dinner by the fireplace was relaxing and felt like home. The staff are all very accomodating and flexible. The room was spacious with an open bathroom layout (no doors). Beautiful rainfall shower, great shower pressure! No TV or phones in room, but there is a TV in the shared living room area. Free wifi is in the lobby/living/dining room areas only - FYI. We also had a private hammam in their steam room, which was clean and relaxing. I think for 300 durhams it was comparable to other private spa facilities, but well worth it. Had mint tea and dessert on the terrace which was nice. The food here is truly home-cooked and amazing. We even met the cook and thanked her personally for wonderful meals. All and all, I would highly recommend this Riad for its extremely high level of service, warm hospitality and location in proximity to the medina for your stay in Marrakesh!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Wonderful staff, beautiful rooms (they all have a great touch: the owner , Aurelie, was kind enough to show us all the rooms so we had the privilege to pick our fav' room with a huge bath tub), the best location because very central but also very quite (next to the Bahia Palace). They have a wonderful terrace where you can chill out whenever you wish (we were lucky to have beautiful sunny and warm days in early November!), a pool which is larger than other Riads', and the best and cleanest Hammam (steam room). Last but not least: the food is amazing and all freshly baked and prepared with love. you basically feel at home, and everyone takes care of you and gives you best advice for places to visit, and restaurants or clubs to try. Best stay ever!

Room Tip: all the rooms are great and I believe they are all quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Akka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Akka

Address: 65, derb Lahbib Magni, | Riad Zitoune Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a small alleyway close to the Bahia Palace, only 5 minutes walk from Jamaa El Fna Square - Riad Akka keeps a warm welcome for guests in a stylish, peaceful ambiance. A showcase for all the cultural richness and diversity of Marrakesh, luxury riad in Marrakesh - Riad Akka is a unique building that has been reinterpreted in a contemporary style. It has been refurbished with all due respect to traditional architectural features and reflects the determination of the owners, to recreate the authentic Marrakshi way of life in a contemporary minimalist setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Akka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Akka Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Akka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.