We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent from Every Possible Angle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Akka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Akka to your Saves list
Riad Akka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   65, derb Lahbib Magni, | Riad Zitoune Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #116 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent from Every Possible Angle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Riad Akka is a refuge from the buzz and bustle of Marrakech. After a day of sightseeing, it was lovely to go back through the big door into the serenity and beauty of this modern incarnation of a traditional Arab house. The decoration is stunning, from the white plaster walls and red/black accents to the Arabic calligraphy around the balconies and the soaking pool. The service is impeccable, with breakfast at arising, to tea and sweets on the rooftop terrace in the afternoon. A bottle of wine and savories, plus lively conversation, one evening with the Parisian owner (Aurelie) made this the favorite hotel of our trip. The location is perfect, far enough off the main paths to be secluded, but very near the shops, the Place, and the parking area to meet up with our driver.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    13
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
74
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

I traveled with two others and stayed 3 nites at Riad Akka, and we couldnt be happier about our decision. Only a 5 minute walk to the medina/square. Finding any Riad through all the turns can be challenging, but Aziz at Riad Akka arranged a taxi to pick us up from the train station, which drove us close as he could, and then walked us there the rest of the way. It's quietly tucked away in the labrynthe of passageways, away from any noise. Aziz greeted us at the door and made us feel welcomed and at home. Gave us a map, directed us to all the sites and even made dinner reservations for us elsewhere. He also arranged taxis when we needed them. The riad's decor was contemporary moroccan and tasteful and beautiful! There is a calming, peaceful ambiance here. The lobby/atrium pool was serene and the shared dining room area were we had a home cooked dinner by the fireplace was relaxing and felt like home. The staff are all very accomodating and flexible. The room was spacious with an open bathroom layout (no doors). Beautiful rainfall shower, great shower pressure! No TV or phones in room, but there is a TV in the shared living room area. Free wifi is in the lobby/living/dining room areas only - FYI. We also had a private hammam in their steam room, which was clean and relaxing. I think for 300 durhams it was comparable to other private spa facilities, but well worth it. Had mint tea and dessert on the terrace which was nice. The food here is truly home-cooked and amazing. We even met the cook and thanked her personally for wonderful meals. All and all, I would highly recommend this Riad for its extremely high level of service, warm hospitality and location in proximity to the medina for your stay in Marrakesh!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Wonderful staff, beautiful rooms (they all have a great touch: the owner , Aurelie, was kind enough to show us all the rooms so we had the privilege to pick our fav' room with a huge bath tub), the best location because very central but also very quite (next to the Bahia Palace). They have a wonderful terrace where you can chill out whenever you wish (we were lucky to have beautiful sunny and warm days in early November!), a pool which is larger than other Riads', and the best and cleanest Hammam (steam room). Last but not least: the food is amazing and all freshly baked and prepared with love. you basically feel at home, and everyone takes care of you and gives you best advice for places to visit, and restaurants or clubs to try. Best stay ever!

Room Tip: all the rooms are great and I believe they are all quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Great place to stay, glad the taxi drive showed us where it was, but once we found our bearing the location was really handy, and away from the noisey streets.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed at Riad Akka for 3 nights in September.

After negotiating the alleyways leading up to the Riad, we were warmly welcomed by the manager into this lovely Riad. The Riad has been tastefully refurbed in a contemporary style. Our room was comfortable, clean, stylish and thankfully air conditioned!

I think what particularly made our stay here so positive was the friendly and helpful service from the staff. We chose not to dine at the Riad as we were only staying a few nights in Marrakech and wanted to get out and about, but we heard nothing from good things from those who did. Though we chose not to dine there, this was not held against us and the manager was actually really helpful in recommending places for us to eat.

The Riad only has four guest rooms but it has a real family feel about it. Thankfully it is slightly away from the hustle and bustle of the souks; we would recommend getting hold of a good map before negotiating the maze that is the medina.

Recommended to all

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
curitiba
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

The place is charming: beautiful rooms; relaxiing haman and amazing roof top garden. Breakfast was delicious.The manager, Abdel, is so helpful. He walked with us to the taxi stand and helped us buy a large lantern. He really made our stay so much easier!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

We arrived at Riad Akka in Marrakesh early in the morning after travelling on the overnight train from Tangier. Although we were much earlier than the stated check in time the staff there made us very welcome and served us a gorgeous breakfast which became one of the things we most looked forward to at Riad Akka. Its fair to say finding Riad Akka was the only difficulty we had, and winding through the narrow lanes of the medina was an eye-opener for a couple of kiwi's who'd never travelled in that part of the world. Once through the gorgeous big doors this was like a little piece of paradise. The decor was modern and tasteful, the room stunning. The little touches such as gorgeous glass bottles for shampoo's and body lotions made us feel pampered and the staff were lovely and extremely helpful. Riad Akka was on the higher side for us as far as average price went, but the rate was very good value for the standard of the accommodation and it was so worth splashing out and treating ourselves as it made our stay such a memorable one in Marrakesh. The hotel staff helped organise day tours for us, arranged taxi pick ups and booked restaurants on our behalf. The only problem that actually turned out in our favour was when there was a massive downpour of rain our room sprung a slight leak. This was rectified immediately by upgrading us to one of the more expensive rooms which was even more lovely than the original one. I cannot recommend this Riad highly enough if you are going to Marrakesh. The location is a little hard to find but once you're there its only a 10 minute walk to the square.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Akka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Akka

Address: 65, derb Lahbib Magni, | Riad Zitoune Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Akka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a small alleyway close to the Bahia Palace, only 5 minutes walk from Jamaa El Fna Square - Riad Akka keeps a warm welcome for guests in a stylish, peaceful ambiance. A showcase for all the cultural richness and diversity of Marrakesh, luxury riad in Marrakesh - Riad Akka is a unique building that has been reinterpreted in a contemporary style. It has been refurbished with all due respect to traditional architectural features and reflects the determination of the owners, to recreate the authentic Marrakshi way of life in a contemporary minimalist setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad Akka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Akka Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Akka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.