We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B I have been with a very familiar atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Honey Sarl

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Honey Sarl to your Saves list
Riad Honey Sarl
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Derb el Khalifa Boutouil 88 | Bab Ayelal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #264 of 1,066 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Dornbirn, Austria
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best B&B I have been with a very familiar atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Riad Honey is a very nice and charming place with incredible nice managers and personal. We were looking for a riad in Marrakech and Riad Honey has been recommended by friends. We knew already that it is a good place to stay and the hosts are nice, but the outstanding familiar athomsphere at Riad Honey was still surprising for me. I felt like at home with friends and I loved that. The owner, the managers and their personal are very friendly and take time to talk to you and advice you in all your matters. They also arranged some trips for us, booked another hotel in Essaouira and cooked for us very delicious dinners. We very two women and wanted to experience Marrakech in an authentic way. With the guidence and support of the Riad Honey I felt very safe and we were also able to experience everything we had on our list: Hammam, spice market, shoping and get lost in the Medina, trip to the Atlantic, learning more about Morrocan cuisine. All those have been organized by Riad Honey. I am really grateful for all of those experiences!
The Riad itself is also very nice. Small but nice rooms, authentic Morrocan interior. It is in the medina, not far from the main place. The building is quite clairaudient, but I think it is common in Marocco, it was at least the same in Essaouira. In the middle of the building there is a huge open garden, which is more or less like a living room. Here can also guests meet, children play and it gives you a feeling like you are all in the same family. There is also a huge and wonderful roof-deck, very you can have breakfast and dinner. The view is amazing and this is the best place to listen to the muezzin.
I am looking forward to go back to Riad Honey and make some other trips in Marocco.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
49
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aptos, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

If you're looking for a true Marrakesh experience, then this is it. The hotel is authentic and beautiful in a quiet location in the Medina. The food is outstanding and the hosts are local people that treat you like family. They can also set you up with any kind of excursion in and around Marrakesh with excellent local guides. One of my most memorable trips in my 30 years of traveling.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo Province, Mosambik
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Riad honey is a very special place. The owners contributed with a very personal design and it is just a wonderful experience to spent time. We were there for new year 2011, and had a lovely night with a brilliant and tasty menue. The owner s would also help with arranging trips to the atlas mountain, and one of them was a mountain guide himself for some years. The area where the honey is located is also not as touristy as places more in the centre, but still very central, and the way you walk to get there is a marrakesh you will not forget.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at Riad Honey from the 1st to the 10th of Nov. 2013.
From the first moment that we stepped inside Riad Honey it felt like home all over again. Everything was perfect and just the way we remembered it from our last visit. Lahcen, Imelda and Youssef were great hosts. They told us where to go in Marrekech and showed us the best places in town and explained us how to get there.
Lahcen organized two very nice trips for us - one to the Sahara desert and the other one to the High Atlas. Even though time was way too short (next time we'll stay longer!) we really enjoyed every second of our trips and our stay in Marrakech.
The breakfast was very delicious and had everything we'd wished for. We also had a couple of meals on the roof top terrace, which Youssef prepared for us. Eating a lovely dinner at the calm terrace after an exhausting day in the Medina was probably the best way of spending our evenings.
Thank you very much for these lovely days!
We're looking forward to our next visit!

P.S.: We read through the other comments by guests of Riad Honey, and we have to say, that we completely disagree with the comment submitted by Ludovic Q... It seems like he/ she has been to a completely different place!

Room Tip: Room Nr. 8 is very nice, because it's directly at the terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had a really great time at Riad Honey. Hospitality and service was excellent! It is a nice quiet place in the busy Medina of Marrakech and about 10-15 minutes walk from place Djemaa el Fna. Very clean rooms and good food. We would certainly recommend this Riad to others.

Greetings Victor & Flora from Holland

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The people and service at Riad Honey were outstanding. We stayed for two nights and Yosef not only came to find us when we would not find the correct gate (we were one gate off) but he also led us out of town on our way out. We ate dinner there both nights and both the food for dinner and breakfast was OK. I believe we were room 3 which was small but adequate. We did have an issue with the bathroom in that it was really really narrow and I felt the tiles around the sink and shower could have been a bit cleaner. The sink was tile and I felt the grout could have been scrubbed a bit more. Also, although the courtyard and terrace are both lovely it would have been nice if it was kept it a bit more. In other Riads we have stayed in the the falling flowers and bird droppings here and there were being cleaned up constantly. Lastly, the mosque appears to be right beside the Riad. Be prepared to be woken up for 15 min or so around 5 AM.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

From the introduction to the charming, old Marrakesh Medina, being led to the Riad Honey by the hotel mamager through the narrow streets, to the first view of the towering hotel interior with candles and lanterns everywhere, this small hotel was a romantic destination and a experience worth remembering for a long time. The city of Marrakesh is lost in ancient time, busy at night, and full of charm. It is worth the trip to Morocco all by itself. The stay at Riad Honey made it all come together in a safe, friendly environment with great meals, comfortable accommodations and plenty of photo opportunities. It is designed with artistic flair, leaving you with great memories of a comfortable world, enclosed within walls, yet open to all visitors with a friendly and helpful style.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Honey Sarl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Honey Sarl

Address: Derb el Khalifa Boutouil 88 | Bab Ayelal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 1,066 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Honey Sarl 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house is completely renovated and partly rebuilt. We opened the riad in April 2007. The atmosphere is unique, oriental tradition is in combination with a simple and modern architecture. The riad is situated in the Medina of Marrakesh, a 15 minute walk from D'Jemaa el Fna. Each room has a modern air conditioning system and bathroom with shower and toilet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Riad Honey Sarl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Honey Sarl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.