We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service otherwise OK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Honey Sarl

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Honey Sarl to your Saves list
Riad Honey Sarl
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Derb el Khalifa Boutouil 88 | Bab Ayelal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #262 of 1,070 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great Service otherwise OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The people and service at Riad Honey were outstanding. We stayed for two nights and Yosef not only came to find us when we would not find the correct gate (we were one gate off) but he also led us out of town on our way out. We ate dinner there both nights and both the food for dinner and breakfast was OK. I believe we were room 3 which was small but adequate. We did have an issue with the bathroom in that it was really really narrow and I felt the tiles around the sink and shower could have been a bit cleaner. The sink was tile and I felt the grout could have been scrubbed a bit more. Also, although the courtyard and terrace are both lovely it would have been nice if it was kept it a bit more. In other Riads we have stayed in the the falling flowers and bird droppings here and there were being cleaned up constantly. Lastly, the mosque appears to be right beside the Riad. Be prepared to be woken up for 15 min or so around 5 AM.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
49
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

From the introduction to the charming, old Marrakesh Medina, being led to the Riad Honey by the hotel mamager through the narrow streets, to the first view of the towering hotel interior with candles and lanterns everywhere, this small hotel was a romantic destination and a experience worth remembering for a long time. The city of Marrakesh is lost in ancient time, busy at night, and full of charm. It is worth the trip to Morocco all by itself. The stay at Riad Honey made it all come together in a safe, friendly environment with great meals, comfortable accommodations and plenty of photo opportunities. It is designed with artistic flair, leaving you with great memories of a comfortable world, enclosed within walls, yet open to all visitors with a friendly and helpful style.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Lovely riad managing to avoid the disney-fication of some traditional places. The staff were so warm and friendly, coming out to search for us when we met our navigational nemesis in the souk and were in danger of being alte for our flight. Lovely food and great place to chill out. Only slight downside is that it is a bit away from the main tourist haunts of the medina so a bit of a walk but it more than makes up for this in character and atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We can't say enough about the amazing staff at Riad Honey. Lachcen and Yousef are the kindest, most welcoming and helpful hosts any vistor to Marrakech could possibly hope for. The food at Riad Honey is also excellent: generous complimentary breakfasts, well-prepared dinners (wine is also available), and abundant mint tea. Our room, and the riad itself, was very peaceful, nicely kempt, and clean, with charming and tasteful touches of traditional Moroccan decor. Although the riad's location can feel a bit removed from the main souks and the Place Jemaa el-Fna, it is only a 15 minute walk away, and this distance can be a great relief from the hectic tourist bustle. Plus, the Riad is very close to a main gate, where you can easily catch a petite taxi into the new city or wherever.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Lahcen not only made us welcome but acted as our guide to the City, finding us a car to take us to the Atlas and a wonderful English-speaking tour guide for a morning exploring the Medina. The room was lovely, the breakfasts were delicious and the supper we had at the Riad was the best food we ate in Marrakech. The roof terrace acted as a rest spot - calm and quiet after the bustle of the town. Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Already a lovely simple but well designed and tasteful riad, the commitment of the staff, led by Lahcen, is exactly what every traveller looks for. We were truly taken into Lahcen's care and he made sure we had the best experience we could have in a very short vacation of 3 days/2 nights.
A gem of a building behind a simple black door on the outskirts of Marrakech medina, it was still lovely to sit on the roof terrace at the end of November to eat the lovely breakfast. Breakfast was a lovely combination of local specialities, including the most tasty yoghurt I have tasted in a long while.
Lahcen, the manager, went to great lengths to make sure we had a good time. He even took the time to go with us to the Atlas foothills, which made the half day trip so much more interesting and informative. His restaurant tips were also spot-on. I would recommend this riad to everybody. Great value and a great break in another world!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, situated on the courtyard. Really quiet, despite the hum-drum of Marrakesh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Österreich
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Had the most marvellous autumn holidays ever, love the simple charm of the Riad Honey.
With its pretty inner yard and terrace on the flat roof, where you can relax wonderfully, it is one of the most beautiful hotels I have visited.
After a fascinating day out in the city or the mountains around, entering the Riad is like coming home!
The food is delicious and the possibility of having dinner was a delight on any evening I spent there. The rooms are clean and lovely furnished, the service excellent.
As it is right in the Medina, you hardly have to walk 5 Minutes to visit the Souk, the Djemaa el Fna Square, Quessabin Mosque and other interesting places.
Highly reccomendable for anyone who'd like to spend some time in a most fascinating city!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Honey Sarl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Honey Sarl

Address: Derb el Khalifa Boutouil 88 | Bab Ayelal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Honey Sarl 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house is completely renovated and partly rebuilt. We opened the riad in April 2007. The atmosphere is unique, oriental tradition is in combination with a simple and modern architecture. The riad is situated in the Medina of Marrakesh, a 15 minute walk from D'Jemaa el Fna. Each room has a modern air conditioning system and bathroom with shower and toilet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Honey Sarl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Honey Sarl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.