We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic but good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Akabar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Akabar to your Saves list
Hotel Akabar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Rue L'hivernage, Ave Echouhada | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #403 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“basic but good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Basic hotel but its all we needed which is breakfast a pool and somewhere to leave our bags. Everyone there was very helpful and even let me leave my bags on my last day in Morocco even though I wasnt actually staying there. The resturant was your average breakfast however I loved the fredh juice and after travelling all over realised actually Akabar had the largedt selection for breakfast. The only issue I came by was at the resturant when the resturant tried to over charge but management quickly sorted this out and apologised. Overal a good little hotel also clise to the medina.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    17
    19
    14
    5
See reviews for
10
12
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Akabar is a very very basic hotel. Rooms are average and very dated but clean enough. The bathroom is tiny and the shower heads were either broken or best used manually. The hotel lacks character and atmosphere which you expect when staying in Morocco so I would not stay here is you are seeking an authentic experience.
Wi-fi only worked in the reception area. That's ok, happened in many places around Morocco but they never put the lights on so it was very dark and gloomy and not an inviting area to sit.
The breakfast was 'hit and miss' and not very good. Having said that most breakfasts we had on our 2 week trip were not fantastic either.
We ate at the hotel the first night we arrived. Once again very very average.
The security guard (? not sure what his role was) and the night porter slept in the reception area on the couches that lined the walls. It was a bit off-putting.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuiaba, MT
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed at Akabar Hotel at Marraquesh for 6 nights on december 2013. In the begining I was enjoying. It is a simple hotel, but It was fair enough for my purpose. Than the worst happend. One young employee stole one of mine sport t-shirt. I complained with the manager and he promissed me he would send me another shirt and this never happened. I do no suggest this hotel for anybody.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed here as part of a cycle trip a day before and a day after the trip. It's a typical modern Hotel far removed from the traditional Ryad's in the Medina.

The hotel just lacked character and interest and seemed very quiet.

The restaurant was just about OK and the only good thing to mention is that you don't need to travel far!

Rooms were comfortable but the bathroom wasn't cleaned properly especially the sin area around the taps.

We stayed in a Ryad before here and if I were returning I'd probably not return here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Green, Falkland Islands
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Akabar is a hotel that time, progress and a damn good clean has passed by.

The rooms are very tired and to be honest I wasn't sure whether the bed sheets had been changed prior to me using the room.

It is in need of a serious deep clean in the room and bathroom and I certainly wouldn't chance the open air pool.

Breakfast was a sorry affair with no sign of fresh fruit, yogurts or cereals. Bread and very heavy staples of pancakes were the fayre here. Orange juice was rationed to one glass and the coffee was hot and brown. I would recommend eating in Cafe Extrablatt on the corner about 5 minutes from the hotel rather than eating in.

The bar was definitely a dark dingy locals only affair and the barman had a serious attitude problem, not giving me change for my drinks immediately as he couldn't be bothered to go and get any.

The plus sides are that the hotel has free wifi and you can get into town fairly easily on foot (about 20 minutes). The majority of the staff seemed friendly enough, I can only assume is was the "manager" who had issues with bikes in his hotel.

Room Tip: One at the back of the hotel away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Like many others it would seem this hotel is used by those on cycling trips. Recently stay here at the start and end of a week's cycling trip.

Although addequent, this hotel has certainly seen better days and in need of some TLC and updating. The cleanlinest of the bedding was questionable and the bathrooms tatty with threadbeard towels.

Breakfast very extermely dissappointing and service in the bar very poor and more a local hangout than a welcoming place for hotel guests. As for the pool - I wouldn't want to sit poolside let alone take a swim in it.

All in all - you get what you pay for - not much but in a good location. If you must stay here make sure you ask for a room at the back as it is very noisy in the rooms on the road side.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or better still stay in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Akabar as part of a cycling holiday on the first and last days of our trip. All that I can say is that it's seen better days, the public rooms are gloomy and the bedrooms boarding on grubby. Hairs in the bed made me wonder if I was the first person to occupy it and the blankets could have done with a good wash. The bathroom fittings were worn out, towels threadbare and bathroom extractor chocked with black dust and flies. The staff that I did come across were pleasant and it wouldn't take a lot to bring the hotel up to a reasonable standard.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Akabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akabar

Address: 24 Rue L'hivernage, Ave Echouhada | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #403 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akabar 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akabar the hotel is located in a beautiful area of ​​marrakech very quiet and a 10 minute walk from the famous Jamaa El Fna and 10 minutes from the new city guéliz or you can do your shopping and have tea or coffee in the most great cafes in Marrakech, the hotel also offers well-equipped rooms with satellite TV with a separate bathroom, direct dial telephone and a safe deposit box fee. it doubles, singles and triples. an international restaurant and bar overlooking the pool. a family run hotel where you can spend a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Akabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Akabar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.