We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay somewhere else...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Akabar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Akabar to your Saves list
Hotel Akabar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Rue l'Hivernage, Ave Echouhada | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #378 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would stay somewhere else...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Akabar is a very very basic hotel. Rooms are average and very dated but clean enough. The bathroom is tiny and the shower heads were either broken or best used manually. The hotel lacks character and atmosphere which you expect when staying in Morocco so I would not stay here is you are seeking an authentic experience.
Wi-fi only worked in the reception area. That's ok, happened in many places around Morocco but they never put the lights on so it was very dark and gloomy and not an inviting area to sit.
The breakfast was 'hit and miss' and not very good. Having said that most breakfasts we had on our 2 week trip were not fantastic either.
We ate at the hotel the first night we arrived. Once again very very average.
The security guard (? not sure what his role was) and the night porter slept in the reception area on the couches that lined the walls. It was a bit off-putting.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cuiaba, MT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed at Akabar Hotel at Marraquesh for 6 nights on december 2013. In the begining I was enjoying. It is a simple hotel, but It was fair enough for my purpose. Than the worst happend. One young employee stole one of mine sport t-shirt. I complained with the manager and he promissed me he would send me another shirt and this never happened. I do no suggest this hotel for anybody.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JúlioResende D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed here as part of a cycle trip a day before and a day after the trip. It's a typical modern Hotel far removed from the traditional Ryad's in the Medina.

The hotel just lacked character and interest and seemed very quiet.

The restaurant was just about OK and the only good thing to mention is that you don't need to travel far!

Rooms were comfortable but the bathroom wasn't cleaned properly especially the sin area around the taps.

We stayed in a Ryad before here and if I were returning I'd probably not return here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ferellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Green, Falkland Islands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Akabar is a hotel that time, progress and a damn good clean has passed by.

The rooms are very tired and to be honest I wasn't sure whether the bed sheets had been changed prior to me using the room.

It is in need of a serious deep clean in the room and bathroom and I certainly wouldn't chance the open air pool.

Breakfast was a sorry affair with no sign of fresh fruit, yogurts or cereals. Bread and very heavy staples of pancakes were the fayre here. Orange juice was rationed to one glass and the coffee was hot and brown. I would recommend eating in Cafe Extrablatt on the corner about 5 minutes from the hotel rather than eating in.

The bar was definitely a dark dingy locals only affair and the barman had a serious attitude problem, not giving me change for my drinks immediately as he couldn't be bothered to go and get any.

The plus sides are that the hotel has free wifi and you can get into town fairly easily on foot (about 20 minutes). The majority of the staff seemed friendly enough, I can only assume is was the "manager" who had issues with bikes in his hotel.

Room Tip: One at the back of the hotel away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Like many others it would seem this hotel is used by those on cycling trips. Recently stay here at the start and end of a week's cycling trip.

Although addequent, this hotel has certainly seen better days and in need of some TLC and updating. The cleanlinest of the bedding was questionable and the bathrooms tatty with threadbeard towels.

Breakfast very extermely dissappointing and service in the bar very poor and more a local hangout than a welcoming place for hotel guests. As for the pool - I wouldn't want to sit poolside let alone take a swim in it.

All in all - you get what you pay for - not much but in a good location. If you must stay here make sure you ask for a room at the back as it is very noisy in the rooms on the road side.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or better still stay in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Akabar as part of a cycling holiday on the first and last days of our trip. All that I can say is that it's seen better days, the public rooms are gloomy and the bedrooms boarding on grubby. Hairs in the bed made me wonder if I was the first person to occupy it and the blankets could have done with a good wash. The bathroom fittings were worn out, towels threadbare and bathroom extractor chocked with black dust and flies. The staff that I did come across were pleasant and it wouldn't take a lot to bring the hotel up to a reasonable standard.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank splashout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Booked as part of an activity package, this hotel has potential and is in a fairly good location but it has seen better days. If what you want is a fairly basic place to sleep then this is ok but don't expect anything better. The staff are generally friendly, and helpful. The rooms are basic and the bathrooms somewhat tatty. Breakfast was rather disappointing. The bar, which serves alcohol, was functional but not a great place to be.

Overall, not good, but I've stayed in worse.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RoerD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
#416 of 490 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tachfine Hotel
Tachfine Hotel
#417 of 490 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#404 of 490 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Oudaya
Hotel Oudaya
#372 of 490 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Amine
Hotel Amine
#400 of 490 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
#418 of 490 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akabar

Address: 24 Rue l'Hivernage, Ave Echouhada | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #378 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akabar 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akabar the hotel is located in a beautiful area of ​​marrakech very quiet and a 10 minute walk from the famous Jamaa El Fna and 10 minutes from the new city guéliz or you can do your shopping and have tea or coffee in the most great cafes in Marrakech, the hotel also offers well-equipped rooms with satellite TV with a separate bathroom, direct dial telephone and a safe deposit box fee. it doubles, singles and triples. an international restaurant and bar overlooking the pool. a family run hotel where you can spend a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Akabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing