We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to Stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Akabar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Akabar to your Saves list
Hotel Akabar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Rue L'hivernage, Ave Echouhada | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #392 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Place to Stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed here as part of a cycle trip a day before and a day after the trip. It's a typical modern Hotel far removed from the traditional Ryad's in the Medina.

The hotel just lacked character and interest and seemed very quiet.

The restaurant was just about OK and the only good thing to mention is that you don't need to travel far!

Rooms were comfortable but the bathroom wasn't cleaned properly especially the sin area around the taps.

We stayed in a Ryad before here and if I were returning I'd probably not return here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    17
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
10
10
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goose Green, Falkland Islands
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Akabar is a hotel that time, progress and a damn good clean has passed by.

The rooms are very tired and to be honest I wasn't sure whether the bed sheets had been changed prior to me using the room.

It is in need of a serious deep clean in the room and bathroom and I certainly wouldn't chance the open air pool.

Breakfast was a sorry affair with no sign of fresh fruit, yogurts or cereals. Bread and very heavy staples of pancakes were the fayre here. Orange juice was rationed to one glass and the coffee was hot and brown. I would recommend eating in Cafe Extrablatt on the corner about 5 minutes from the hotel rather than eating in.

The bar was definitely a dark dingy locals only affair and the barman had a serious attitude problem, not giving me change for my drinks immediately as he couldn't be bothered to go and get any.

The plus sides are that the hotel has free wifi and you can get into town fairly easily on foot (about 20 minutes). The majority of the staff seemed friendly enough, I can only assume is was the "manager" who had issues with bikes in his hotel.

Room Tip: One at the back of the hotel away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Like many others it would seem this hotel is used by those on cycling trips. Recently stay here at the start and end of a week's cycling trip.

Although addequent, this hotel has certainly seen better days and in need of some TLC and updating. The cleanlinest of the bedding was questionable and the bathrooms tatty with threadbeard towels.

Breakfast very extermely dissappointing and service in the bar very poor and more a local hangout than a welcoming place for hotel guests. As for the pool - I wouldn't want to sit poolside let alone take a swim in it.

All in all - you get what you pay for - not much but in a good location. If you must stay here make sure you ask for a room at the back as it is very noisy in the rooms on the road side.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or better still stay in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Akabar as part of a cycling holiday on the first and last days of our trip. All that I can say is that it's seen better days, the public rooms are gloomy and the bedrooms boarding on grubby. Hairs in the bed made me wonder if I was the first person to occupy it and the blankets could have done with a good wash. The bathroom fittings were worn out, towels threadbare and bathroom extractor chocked with black dust and flies. The staff that I did come across were pleasant and it wouldn't take a lot to bring the hotel up to a reasonable standard.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Booked as part of an activity package, this hotel has potential and is in a fairly good location but it has seen better days. If what you want is a fairly basic place to sleep then this is ok but don't expect anything better. The staff are generally friendly, and helpful. The rooms are basic and the bathrooms somewhat tatty. Breakfast was rather disappointing. The bar, which serves alcohol, was functional but not a great place to be.

Overall, not good, but I've stayed in worse.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Simple to find, easy parking (out front), friendly reception, simple but clean room. Worth the 400Dh we paid for a double (not more). 4th floor room was still a little noisy, and without the a/c it would be hot (staff weren't the most helpful on this). 20min walk to Jemma El Fna square. Ok for a night.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Like a previous reviewer, we stayed here 2 nights before a cycle tour, and one night after. This is a no frills basic hotel, as you would expect for the money, but it is in need of a bit of TLC. Friendly staff and clean but could do with some small (but essential) touches to lift it from just acceptable to the 'would come again' category. Talking about the need to replace thin threadbare sheets, working light bulbs in every light in the room and plumbing that drains properly...............just a bit of attention to detail required. The breakfast was adequate but again just acceptable. If we return to Marrakesh we would try somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Akabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akabar

Address: 24 Rue L'hivernage, Ave Echouhada | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #392 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akabar 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akabar the hotel is located in a beautiful area of ​​marrakech very quiet and a 10 minute walk from the famous Jamaa El Fna and 10 minutes from the new city guéliz or you can do your shopping and have tea or coffee in the most great cafes in Marrakech, the hotel also offers well-equipped rooms with satellite TV with a separate bathroom, direct dial telephone and a safe deposit box fee. it doubles, singles and triples. an international restaurant and bar overlooking the pool. a family run hotel where you can spend a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Akabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Akabar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.