We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Akabar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Akabar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Akabar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Rue L'hivernage, Ave Echouhada | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #395 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Like a previous reviewer, we stayed here 2 nights before a cycle tour, and one night after. This is a no frills basic hotel, as you would expect for the money, but it is in need of a bit of TLC. Friendly staff and clean but could do with some small (but essential) touches to lift it from just acceptable to the 'would come again' category. Talking about the need to replace thin threadbare sheets, working light bulbs in every light in the room and plumbing that drains properly...............just a bit of attention to detail required. The breakfast was adequate but again just acceptable. If we return to Marrakesh we would try somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    17
    17
    10
    5
See reviews for
10
10
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have stayed at the Akabar many times and my travelling companion, who is Moroccan-born, stays here at least twice a year. So we always get a warm welcome. It is of good 3* standard with comfortable rooms and very clean. There is an attractive Moroccan style lounge, a bar and a small swimming pool. The only thing that lets it down is breakfast which is a bit meagre though there were warm Moroccan pancakes in a chafing dish which you don't find in many hotels. Neither of my heating nor TV remote controls worked so I took them to reception. The receptionist replaced the batteries with batteries from other remotes he had on his desk. When I got back to the room one of the remotes still didn't work. In the morning my Moroccan friend had a word and it was all sorted. I think the big plus for this hotel is the location. It is situated in Hivernage, a leafy and upscale area dotted with first class and luxury hotel, smart nightclubs and trendy coffee shops and the hotel is in walking distance of the old city and Jemma al Fnaa in one direction and Gueliz, the modern city in the other. Perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as the ones facing the road could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent 2 nights here ,at the start and end of a cycle tour in Morocco. It is a pleasant 15 mins walk to the Medina, and although it is on a reasonably busy road we had no problems with noise. The decor is quite traditional, and there is a feel of " non - chain independence". The latter brings with it a combination of charm and eccentricity, notably at breakfast although it seems to work. Staff were helpful and friendly. Our bedroom was comfortable and quite well equipped. The Akabar is not for you if you prefer a standard multi national product. If you want to feel as if you are really in Morocco, we imagine you will probably like it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have stayed in Hotel Akabar twice and enjoyed my stay each time. Clean & basic - good value. Nice but small pool to relax by after the hustle and bustle of having been in the medina. Breakfast not great, but fine - plenty of nice places to eat in the city. There are plenty of places to stay in the city with more character, but Hotel Akabar serves it's purpose and the staff and very friendly and accommodating. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I have just arrived back from a lovely week in marrakech.my friend and i had a twin room at hotel Akabar.the hotel staff were the most welcoming people ever! we are vegetarian and they bent over backards to accomodate this as we were on the half board menu! the room and hotel was immaculatle. the facilities need updating but they are functional. fantastic location 15 min easy walk to jemaa al fna and in a nice area of marrakech! pool was freezing though!! would definatley stay again! best service ive ever had and very reasonable!!

Room Tip: road side room a little noisy but we managed to sleep as we did so much in the day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

on my last evening here I received one clean towel instead of the usual four. not a problem as it was adequate. I did not complain. The following morning when booking out at Reception the chambermaid appeared and accused me of stealing the three towels - which I had not received. My suitcase was opened and searched in the lobby in front of many guests. Nothing was found. No apology was offered. I have asked the Hotel for an explanation and received no reply. Their attitude is appalling.
lr malaga

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stay here when we have to spend one or two nights in Marrakech on the way to or from other places. This is a very clean, spotless place, where you sleep very well. Bed quality is outstanding. Ask though for rooms not on the street, as they don't have double glass and you might be disturbed by the noise on the street. The bathrooms are spotless but need some maintanance. But all and all very reasonable quality for the price you pay.

Room Tip: Room on the backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Akabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akabar

Address: 24 Rue L'hivernage, Ave Echouhada | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #395 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akabar 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akabar the hotel is located in a beautiful area of ​​marrakech very quiet and a 10 minute walk from the famous Jamaa El Fna and 10 minutes from the new city guéliz or you can do your shopping and have tea or coffee in the most great cafes in Marrakech, the hotel also offers well-equipped rooms with satellite TV with a separate bathroom, direct dial telephone and a safe deposit box fee. it doubles, singles and triples. an international restaurant and bar overlooking the pool. a family run hotel where you can spend a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Akabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Akabar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.