We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonably priced 3* in an area of 4* and 5* hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Akabar

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Akabar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Rue L'hivernage, Ave Echouhada | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #409 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A reasonably priced 3* in an area of 4* and 5* hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have stayed at the Akabar many times and my travelling companion, who is Moroccan-born, stays here at least twice a year. So we always get a warm welcome. It is of good 3* standard with comfortable rooms and very clean. There is an attractive Moroccan style lounge, a bar and a small swimming pool. The only thing that lets it down is breakfast which is a bit meagre though there were warm Moroccan pancakes in a chafing dish which you don't find in many hotels. Neither of my heating nor TV remote controls worked so I took them to reception. The receptionist replaced the batteries with batteries from other remotes he had on his desk. When I got back to the room one of the remotes still didn't work. In the morning my Moroccan friend had a word and it was all sorted. I think the big plus for this hotel is the location. It is situated in Hivernage, a leafy and upscale area dotted with first class and luxury hotel, smart nightclubs and trendy coffee shops and the hotel is in walking distance of the old city and Jemma al Fnaa in one direction and Gueliz, the modern city in the other. Perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as the ones facing the road could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    15
    12
    10
    5
See reviews for
7
10
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent 2 nights here ,at the start and end of a cycle tour in Morocco. It is a pleasant 15 mins walk to the Medina, and although it is on a reasonably busy road we had no problems with noise. The decor is quite traditional, and there is a feel of " non - chain independence". The latter brings with it a combination of charm and eccentricity, notably at breakfast although it seems to work. Staff were helpful and friendly. Our bedroom was comfortable and quite well equipped. The Akabar is not for you if you prefer a standard multi national product. If you want to feel as if you are really in Morocco, we imagine you will probably like it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have stayed in Hotel Akabar twice and enjoyed my stay each time. Clean & basic - good value. Nice but small pool to relax by after the hustle and bustle of having been in the medina. Breakfast not great, but fine - plenty of nice places to eat in the city. There are plenty of places to stay in the city with more character, but Hotel Akabar serves it's purpose and the staff and very friendly and accommodating. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I have just arrived back from a lovely week in marrakech.my friend and i had a twin room at hotel Akabar.the hotel staff were the most welcoming people ever! we are vegetarian and they bent over backards to accomodate this as we were on the half board menu! the room and hotel was immaculatle. the facilities need updating but they are functional. fantastic location 15 min easy walk to jemaa al fna and in a nice area of marrakech! pool was freezing though!! would definatley stay again! best service ive ever had and very reasonable!!

Room Tip: road side room a little noisy but we managed to sleep as we did so much in the day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

on my last evening here I received one clean towel instead of the usual four. not a problem as it was adequate. I did not complain. The following morning when booking out at Reception the chambermaid appeared and accused me of stealing the three towels - which I had not received. My suitcase was opened and searched in the lobby in front of many guests. Nothing was found. No apology was offered. I have asked the Hotel for an explanation and received no reply. Their attitude is appalling.
lr malaga

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stay here when we have to spend one or two nights in Marrakech on the way to or from other places. This is a very clean, spotless place, where you sleep very well. Bed quality is outstanding. Ask though for rooms not on the street, as they don't have double glass and you might be disturbed by the noise on the street. The bathrooms are spotless but need some maintanance. But all and all very reasonable quality for the price you pay.

Room Tip: Room on the backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I expected a decent hotel for 36Euro for one night. Dreadful dark interior and off-hand staff to say nothing of the limited choice breakfast. The room was freezing and the A/C did not work. When I asked the receptionist to organise a taxi to Ouarzazate he came back with the price - 1,000Dh (£80). I caught a petite taxi to the grande taxi rank in Marrakech and obtained a grande taxi to Ouarzazate for 600Dh!

Room Tip: Don't bother with this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Akabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akabar

Address: 24 Rue L'hivernage, Ave Echouhada | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #409 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akabar 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akabar the hotel is located in a beautiful area of ​​marrakech very quiet and a 10 minute walk from the famous Jamaa El Fna and 10 minutes from the new city guéliz or you can do your shopping and have tea or coffee in the most great cafes in Marrakech, the hotel also offers well-equipped rooms with satellite TV with a separate bathroom, direct dial telephone and a safe deposit box fee. it doubles, singles and triples. an international restaurant and bar overlooking the pool. a family run hotel where you can spend a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Akabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Akabar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Akabar to your Saves list