We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Akabar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Akabar to your Saves list
Hotel Akabar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Rue l'Hivernage, Ave Echouhada | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #383 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
Zurich
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Excellent quality price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stay here when we have to spend one or two nights in Marrakech on the way to or from other places. This is a very clean, spotless place, where you sleep very well. Bed quality is outstanding. Ask though for rooms not on the street, as they don't have double glass and you might be disturbed by the noise on the street. The bathrooms are spotless but need some maintanance. But all and all very reasonable quality for the price you pay.

Room Tip: Room on the backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    22
    25
    17
    5
See reviews for
14
14
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I expected a decent hotel for 36Euro for one night. Dreadful dark interior and off-hand staff to say nothing of the limited choice breakfast. The room was freezing and the A/C did not work. When I asked the receptionist to organise a taxi to Ouarzazate he came back with the price - 1,000Dh (£80). I caught a petite taxi to the grande taxi rank in Marrakech and obtained a grande taxi to Ouarzazate for 600Dh!

Room Tip: Don't bother with this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in total, before and after a mountain tour. Rooms are clean and a little shabby chic. The bathroom facilities are good. There is a small pool which is surprisingly cold - very refreshing after a hot day exploring Marrakesh.The staff are friendly although they do possess a slightly manana manana attitude, that said they booked us taxis to the airport and found us a missing airconditioning remote with the minimum of fuss.

Room Tip: the rooms at the back of the hotel (away from the road, bar and pool) are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We arrived exhausted and wanted only to wash up and get some rest. The service was terrible. The room was filthy and had bugs (ants mostly because they hadn't cleaned the room properly). We learned after that other hotels nearby were far superior for the same price. We left the next morning and did just that.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FATIMA D, Responsable commercial at Hotel Akabar, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Google Translation
comme réponse à ces clients , je peut leur affirmer que les chambres sont très propre et que personne n'a signalé qu'il y avait des fourmis ou des puces, on est au centre ville comme même pas à la montagne.

je peut affirmer à tous les clients qui veulent réserver à l'hotel AKABAR, que l'hotel est très propre et il est bien situé pour passer un séjour agréable à la ville de Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Quite anodine, but clean. Poor restaurant

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

The rooms were clean and the price was right. The pound cake on the breakfast buffet was delicious! The staff were very helpful and helped us find a hotel in another city when we moved on. The hotel itself is large but impersonal in space - reminded me of a Days Inn but the price ws right. Good location.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

I no longer knew where to book especially when reading the different reviews of the 100s of hotel in Marrakech and i ended up booking the hotel Akabar at the last minute and I have absolutely no regrets.

My criterions were as follow: A clean and value for money hotel not far from the famous souks. I wanted a hotel where to sleep only and to drop my luggage as I had no intention to spend a week holidays indoor, I wanted to discover the city of Marrakech.

My room (207) was spacious enough for 1 person and could have easily accommodate a second one. The cleaning was done everyday, bed made everyday, towels changed everyday too, so in terms of cleanliness, I was pretty happy (and I am a very hard person to please when it comes to hygiene). The windows are not soundproof from the noise outside (my room was facing the street and a building on construction) but I had brought earplugs so no real issue there for me!

The TV was working perfectly and I could enjoy French and English programs (bilingual does help and not only for the TV) . For the remote control, ask at the reception. At first i thought that it was not working but there is a little trick there (Sorry, cannot remember which one!)

As for the pool, it is not a european standard pool but it can be nice if you want to refresh yorself especially during summer time!

I believe the reason I put on weight there is due to the breakfast buffet. I enjoyed every single of them even if the orange juice was not made of real oranges. There were a great choice French and Moroccan patisserie, viennoiserie that would appeal to anyone.

The Hotel is situated 10 - 15 minutes away from Jana El Fna place which is very good. To avoid the traffic when going to Jana El Fna, you can cut through the fantastic, refreshing and quiet Cyber Parc. If you feel exhausted by long walks from the souks, you can take a cab for 10 dirham or even less (a review of your negotiation skills is highly recommended in Marrakech and not only for taxis!)

From the receptionists, cleaning ladies, waiters, waitress, owner, the all team, they made my stay more than enjoyable! I would never thanks the Akabar's team for their warm welcome. I will definitely go back and I have already recommended the hotel to my family and friends and now to you who read the comments.

  • Liked — The staff, location, breakfast, very good rate, the cleanliness, everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Akabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akabar

Address: 24 Rue l'Hivernage, Ave Echouhada | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #383 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akabar 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akabar the hotel is located in a beautiful area of ​​marrakech very quiet and a 10 minute walk from the famous Jamaa El Fna and 10 minutes from the new city guéliz or you can do your shopping and have tea or coffee in the most great cafes in Marrakech, the hotel also offers well-equipped rooms with satellite TV with a separate bathroom, direct dial telephone and a safe deposit box fee. it doubles, singles and triples. an international restaurant and bar overlooking the pool. a family run hotel where you can spend a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Akabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Akabar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.