We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Eliane

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Eliane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Dar Eliane
N39, Derb Maada,Azbezt | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Beautiful Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a fabulous stay at Riad Dar Eliane we loved the Riad the location was perfect for us for exploring the souks. It's a great little oasis in the middle of hectic and vibrant city of Marrakech It was peaceful and beautiful. All the staff were super polite and friendly.
I absolutely adored the fact that you can hear birds in the morning while eating your morning breakfast. Our room was super romantic. The walk to the main square was only 10min.We walked from the Riad to Majorelle Gardens also. Be aware the mosque call will wake you up super early but this will happen in any Riad as there are so many mosques in the medina. I would totally recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    27
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
163
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

If you want an authentic and peaceful oasis while experiencing the intense city of Marrakech this small and beautiful riad will exceed all expectations. Beautifully restored, well managed with a fabulous breakfast included no weary traveller could ask for a better place to stay.

Room Tip: the rooms on the 1st floor are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I write this review still as a guest at this hotel. We arrived from our stay at Essaouira on rather cold and rainy day in Marrakech so we were looking forward to getting to the hotel and unwinding.
After walking for almost 10 minutes navigating the labyrinth of motorcycles, carts, bicycles we finally arrived at our riad.
Our first reaction was mixed as our host Bouchra seemed a little unwelcoming. After the customary mint tea we were shown our room. I was looking forward to seeing the room as I was impressed with a framed article from Vogue with an editorial featuring the Riad.
Room - we had a room on the ground floor which which opened out onto the courtyard. The room is long and narrow. The doorway is very low so we had to constantly remember to keep our heads bent to avoid getting a head injury. Lights in the toilet did not turn on. The bed linens looked like they had seen a great deal of use and needed to be thrown away. The hot water from the shower stayed hot for a few minutes and gradually got colder. The courtyard had birds nesting in a tree so we went to bed and woke up with the sound of birds which became annoying.
Breakfast is basic. Coffee, breads and jams. The food at the hotel is expensive compared to other restaurants in the main square.
Location - the riad is located within about 8 mins walk from the main square. We were provided with a helpful map to direct us to the square.
The only redeeming part of this hotel is the roof terrace with views of the atlas mountain and Marrakech.
I will definitely avoid this hotel if ever I'm in Marrakech again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our stay at Riad dar Eliane was like a fairy tale. The house is beautiful, the decoration amazing and the service is very good. We had some difficulty finding the riad in the labyrinth of Marrakesh and the manager send someone to help us find a parking and the riad. The instructions to find the riad could be a lot better. The room was very nice and clean, and the breakfast was delicious. The rooftop terrace overlooking Marrakesh was a nice surprise. The only negative remark is that the dinner the offer was very expensive and they served us a starter and dessert without asking, but of course we did have to pay for it. The food was good, but you can find the same dishes for half of the price somewhere else. Especially the young boy (I forgot his name) helped us a lot and was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This riad is an oasis of calm in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. This riad is tastefully decorated in the traditional style. Bouchra and her staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Tea and coffee was available at any time. Breakfasts and the evening meal we had on the day of departure was very good. The facilities on the roof top terrace with the loungers and the availability of towels was excellent, overall a very enjoyable stay and I would highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

i recently stayed here with my boyfriend for our first holiday in Morocco. We can honestly say we have never been better looked after. The Riad is very peaceful inside away from the madness of the souks on the outside. The breakfasts were always very good and we were never left wanting for anymore. All of the staff are very welcoming and friendly. The Riad is located perfectly to capture all of the different sides to Marrakech. Locally are there great sites to visit inside the old city walls we really would recommend this Riad to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Arriving late at night and wandering down the narrow streets after our cases and the man with the wheelbarrow, we perhaps chose to reserve our judgement but once in the Riad like many other guests, we breathe a sigh of relief.

The Riad is in the heart of the medina. It took us a while to work out our route back (the first journey took 1.5 hrs instead of 10 minutes and resulted in mild souk rage (!)) but once you know where you're going, it's a pleasant 10 minute walk from the Riad to the Jemaa. You will become the souk sellers' best friend en route as they start to recognise you on your daily commute.

The rooms are very nicely decorated. We had one of the rooms on the first floor. Staff were always very accommodating asking if we wanted breakfast in the courtyard or on the roof. Breakfast was excellent.

We had dinner there our first night too in view of our late arrival.

The Riad represents good value for money. I would definitely stay again if we chose to go back to Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Eliane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Eliane

Also Known As:
Riad Dar Eliane Hotel Marrakech
Riad Dar Eliane Hotel
Dar Eliane Marrakech
Dar Eliane Hotel Marrakech
Address: N39, Derb Maada,Azbezt | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#242 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad has been lovingly restored over many years by its English owner and offers sumptuous accommodation over two floors each of the spacious five double bedrooms has reversible air conditioning with en-suite bathrooms and their chic but authentic styles are to be savoured. The inner courtyard is surrounded by tall elegant arches, refreshed by two flowing fountains and only the whisper of water and the song of the birds will come to disturb your tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Eliane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Eliane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.