We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location for the souks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Eliane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Eliane to your Saves list
Riad Dar Eliane
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   N39, Derb Maada,Azbezt | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
cupar
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good location for the souks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

we have just returned from a week long trip to marrakesh, riad dar eliane is good basic accomodation for those who want to be right in the middle of the souks, the riad is clean and comfortable enough though there was no hot water to shower,though we would recommend you book a room upstairs as they are brighter and more private than the rooms at the courtyard,we had a downstairs room and it had no privacy.To get any light in the room you had to leave the window open and other guests would be having breakfast only a few feet from your bed not ideal.Indeed we were offered a room upstairs when other guests left after two days. when we realised no other guests would be staying for the rest of our stay .we decided to stay put to save the hassle. on our arrival we were picked up by a taxi at the airport this was arranged through the riad,it wasnt until later on when we checked our itinery that we realised we had been charged double for the taxi [200drm]when it should have only been 100drm.when we questioned this we were told by bouchra, the manageress that it was not the normal driver.and we were left with the impression that we should just accept it, as she wasnt really interested.we would certainly have dealt with this situation better for our guests at the holiday cottage we let in scotland, we dont leave our guests thinking they have been done.This was not our only negative experience whilst on holiday,on our first day we wandered up to the square which we found easily enough with the map given at the riad, on the way back we paused momenterily to check our route, that was enough to be approached by a local man wanting to show us the way as he overheard us saying the name of the riad, we declined his offer as we had sussed where we were going,and know this is a regular ploy to pester you for money but he persisted to walk ahead of us as if leading the way,.we knew he was going to pester us for money,when we reached the riad door we decided to give him some coins about 10drms to get him away from us,then all hell let loose with him cursing ( in english) at us and throwing the money in our face(we obviously hadnt given him enough so beware) and all over the ground threatning us,another local came to our rescue, probably the only person we encountered who wanted to be friendly and helpful without monetary gain.we did mention this incident to staff at the riad but not much concern was shown.We ate at the riad the first night as we guessed we would be tired after travelling, the meal was prebooked before we arrived, the food was nice and tasty but we couldnt choose from the menu as the food had already been chosen for us we would have preferred to have made the choice from the menu ourselves,we had arrived in the morning so this surely could have been possible, it wasnt too big a deal but think it worth mentioning incase you want to have menu emailed to you.there are good places to eat around the square, the marrakeshi being one restraunt worth a visit, pepe nero also good 5min walk off the square and well sighnposted.In the evenings at the square many vendors set up stalls and serve street food the food is quite good and its a fun experience with all the banter and hustle and bustle. To sum up our holiday there are as many negitives as positives,it was fun but spoiled by so many people trying to rip you off which is a shame as im sure if the locals tried to be more friendly (without strings)it would benefit both holidaymakers and locals alike.we are both seasoned travellers and visit countries all over the world several times a year and we can honestly say marrakesh is a city we have no desire to explore further

Room Tip: a room upstairs theres a choice of two they are more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    31
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
169
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

After the other incredible riads we stayed in, this place was a little disappointing, though to be fair, it was cheaper. The room was perfectly nice and clean and quiet (apart from the sound of the TV that was on in the living room almost constantly during the day) and the bathroom was really lovely. The service was okay, though we were locked out one night (only for about 10 minutes) and we went without breakfast one day because we left early on a daytrip (Slimane had said, despite our protests, that he would be up anyway at 7 and would have breakfast for us at 7.30, but in the event he was nowhere to be seen. Not a big deal, but I don't think that would have happened at the other places we stayed). Good location for the Jmaa el Fna and the souks. Good for the price but next time I think I'd prefer to pay a bit extra for that something special.

Room Tip: Ask for the Jawhara room on the upper floor. The ground floor rooms don't get as much light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We were picked up at the airport by a taxi arranged by the riad, and dropped off near the riad & met by the local barrowman who set off at a fast clip with our bags in his cart. We were slightly concerned when he headed down an alley & hauled the cart over a massive mound of gravel blocking the alley - then a couple of turns & we were in the riad - & what a haven of peace & quiet after the razzamatazz of the medina.
Bouchra welcomed us & showed us our room on the first level - a day bed, a double bed with a small passage to bathroom & toilet - all beautiful lamps & screens. The late lunch (which we thought would be a sandwich) turned into a gorgeous tagine of meatballs & eggs.
The riad was a great place to stay - though in spite of maps & careful directions we kept getting lost somewhere not too far away, though once we found the vegetable market all was well.
Our room was quiet, the bed was comfortable, & everything about the riad was great. Staff very friendly & helpful - & contacted our tour guide to arrange our departure pickup.
Oh yes, by the time we went for our first walk an hour or so after we arrived, the mound of gravel had totally vanished - and the alley was far smoother!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We'd never been to Marrakech before and the Dar Eliane was a perfect place to start. it is beautiful, calm and central. The staff were endlessly friendly and helpful, and gave us lots of good advice. And when we'd had a long day exploring the city it was good to be able to sit on the roof terrace and digest our experiences. It made a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Arrived 23.2.12 for 3 nights with my wife on a belated 20th wedding anniversary. We were led by the porter and his wooden cart holding our bags through the various streets for about 10 minutes. (Tip porter 50 dirhams) My wife was very quiet expecting the worse as she had not seen the pictures/reviews of this place. Slimane was on duty and made us feel very welcome. Had a meal in the riad the 1st night which was OK. Room was very good indeed and was one of 4 I believe. No one else at the riad for the first 2 nights. Very central for going to the souks and Jamaa el Fna square. Only 10 minutes walk from the 2nd best restauarnt in Marrakesh, Pepe Nero. You must go there, great ambiance. Would certainly come back. Never saw the owner John or his wife.

Room Tip: They all look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Riad Dar Elaine for three nights in February. We were unable to find any fault and the whole experience was perfect! We had arranged a transfer from the airport through Dar Elaine which was a smooth and easy way of arrival. Unfortunately we had not yet had a chance to get Moroccan Dirhams and Bouchra kindly had no problem paying for our taxi and porter. We instantly felt welcomed and the mint tea was the best we had in Morocco. Our room was gorgeous and cosy. There was a heater and plenty of blankets. The bed was cosy and we slept extremely well. Dar Elaine provided us with maps and directions, helped us to organise our sahara expedition, arranged taxis and had no problem storing out luggage while we were elsewhere for two nights. Upon arrival John took us around the medina and to the main square ensuring that we got our bearings and would not get lost. They provided number that we could call at any time. The breakfast wa delicious each morning. The terrace was a lovely spot to read a book in the afternoon with a glass of local wine! The riad is peaceful and quiet which is a nice escape from the hectic medina streets below! The service was wonderful and I got the impression that the staff were always willing to help. For example, I washed some clothes in our sink and returned later in the day to find the items had been hung up to dry in the sun, a very thoughtful touch. The location is excellent and very close to the main square. I would highly recommend Dar Elaine to everyone visiting Marrakech as it was an all round wonderful experience which I am unable to fault. Thank you to John, Bouchra and the team for making our stay in Marrakech so memorable!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

A great place to stay. It is small and very quiet. Rooms are clean and comfortable and full of character, having been well decorated and furnished. Roof top garden is a big asset and a large selection of comfortable furniture has been provided for the use of the guests. Good, reliable and FREE wi-fi access from the central patio. Nice breakfast included in the price of the stay. On our first night we ordered a meal, and what a great idea this turned out to be. Once we'd arrived we didn't want to head off into the city and find a restaurant, and just as well we didn't because the meal we were cooked was delicious, one of the best we had on our trip - and we ate well most days. Treat yourself, it's well worth the 200dhrm (€20) per head they charge. Beer or wine is also available.

Rooms have fan heating - which we needed in January - and air conditioning.

Staff were very helpful and welcoming. We used a porter to take us from the taxi to the hotel (it would be very hard to find without one), which was convenient, but it would have been good to know how much we should have paid him because each time (4 times in all) it seemed to be a different amount and we weren't sure whether he was trying to put one over on us or not - on one trip he wanted to charge €4 for a 5 minute walk, which is a better hourly rate than many of us earn.

Room Tip: We stayed there on two occasions, both rooms were good but we preferred the ones on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Eliane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Eliane

Address: N39, Derb Maada,Azbezt | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#100 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Eliane 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad has been lovingly restored over many years by its English owner and offers sumptuous accommodation over two floors each of the spacious five double bedrooms has reversible air conditioning with en-suite bathrooms and their chic but authentic styles are to be savoured. The inner courtyard is surrounded by tall elegant arches, refreshed by two flowing fountains and only the whisper of water and the song of the birds will come to disturb your tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Eliane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Eliane Hotel Marrakech
Dar Eliane Marrakech
Dar Eliane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Eliane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.